We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price”

International Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Calais
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
International Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Calais
Reviewed March 12, 2014

This is not anything fancy, but it was clean and quiet. We have our dog with us so were in one of the older rooms and it was fine. Everything seamed to be well maintained. Has good hot water and water pressure.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Perry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 106 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2013

We were quite disappointed in this motel. We stayed in the main building attached to the office, maybe the River View building out back is more up to date. When I realized our room had 2 doubles, I went back to ask if there was a queen or king option but was told their kings were all sold out - really? Our room was last updated in the 60s, I'm guessing. It was clean, no problem there, just incredibly dated, odd furniture jammed in, mini frig and microwave piled up on the desk in front to the mirror, only one usable outlet, 4' florescent bulbs above the too-soft beds but too low to sit in bed and read, your head was on the fixture. Glossy fake wood grain paneling - quite funny now that I think about it. The only other motel in town seemed to have even lower TA reviews - had to imagine. We'll be at the Graystone B&B if we ever get to Calais again, it would have been $9 more but included a full B&B breakfast - the things you learn after the fact.....

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Howie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The location in Calais is very good and you can take a pleasant walk along the foreshore into downtown Calais in around 10 minutes. We stayed in the Riverview building which has larger rooms and a good view over the river to Canada. Unfortunately the sound proofing between the rooms is very poor and our first night was greatly disturbed by the occupants of the next room.

The facilities are good and the room clean and comfortable. the reception staff were efficient but a little curt. We suggest if you do choose to stay here ensure you have a good pair of ear plugs.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed here on the way to Canada because the Riverview units were rated highly on TripAdvisor. After our stay that was certainly the case. The room was a good size and the view of the river is nice.

However, we were disappointed because of the following:

1. The bed was too firm. My wife is a side sleeper and her hips were sore. I tossed and turned because it got uncomfortable.
2. We heard every water noise (flushing toilets, showers, etc.) staring early in the morning. Our unit was #73 near the bottom of the stairs. Maybe it is only this unit that is noisy.
3. We heard every step of the people above us.

There was also no breakfast. Not that it was advertised but many places in this price range offer breakfast. We spent over $20 extra for breakfast at the place recommended by the International Hotel, and it was nothing special.

The front desk was was very abrupt when we checked in. Not rude, but certainly not friendly.

There are very few lodging choices in Calais.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 73 in the River View units because it is noisy and has an uncomfortable (firm) b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LUCKYME72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed in the older part of the motel in a pet room. No pets allowed in the Riverfront building which is not much more and looked like a great place to stay. The room was dated with a 19 in TV but very clean and a good size. Bathroom had a lavender tub which I have never seen. The fluorescent light panel over the bed should be removed as it prevents you from leaning back. We took the dogs for a walk on the riverwalking path which was a big plus. No breakfast but the room was only $81 total for 2 people, 2 beds and 2 dogs. We had a very good dinner at the restaurant next door. If you don't have pets, the Riverview rooms are a great deal.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patandjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

really, I was shocked because the information center at Bangor ME gave me a postcard with the picture and address and suggested it. well, I was there very late and nothing else seemed to be around. dated and very worn out, It seemed that they made efforts to keep it clean. I could not bear to get the black light out to check. nice people and fair price. I just thought being near the border there would have been something higher end. I believe if you drive further down across the street there was another motel which looked new... alot of road work and in the night sad to say I did not see it. There are few and far between places to eat. the canadian border was 5 minutes away and the town over the border was great, just no actual hotels some bed and breakfasts apparently. information center is just down the street on canadian side, excellent.

Room Tip: I did not see any river side rooms, missed that. the A/C did not cool and was loud. you can hear eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank las444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed one night in a second floor riverside room. Room was large and in good shape, a little dated but still very nice. Right on the river and we could sit on the belcony and enjoy the scenery, be sure to keep an eye on the tide. The riverside trail runs right by the motel and is a enjoyable walk. No breakfast but there is a very nice diner next door. The walls are thin and the place can be noisy but except for this we would stay again.

Room Tip: stay in a riverside room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbpep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calais
1 mi away
Winsome Inn
Winsome Inn
#1 of 2 in St. Stephen
94 reviews
22.9 mi away
Granite Town Hotel
Granite Town Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saint George
102 reviews
11 mi away
Rossmount Inn
Rossmount Inn
#1 of 2 in Chamcook
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12 mi away
Redclyffe Shore Motor Inn
Redclyffe Shore Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Robbinston
35 reviews
13.3 mi away
The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection
13 mi away
Picket Fence Motel
Picket Fence Motel
#2 of 7 in Saint Andrews
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Motel

Address: 276 Main St, Calais, ME 04619-1810
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Calais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Calais
Number of rooms: 61
Also Known As:
International Motel Calais, Maine
International Hotel Calais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing