We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value pet friendly motel”

International Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Calais
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
International Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Calais
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed in the older part of the motel in a pet room. No pets allowed in the Riverfront building which is not much more and looked like a great place to stay. The room was dated with a 19 in TV but very clean and a good size. Bathroom had a lavender tub which I have never seen. The fluorescent light panel over the bed should be removed as it prevents you from leaning back. We took the dogs for a walk on the riverwalking path which was a big plus. No breakfast but the room was only $81 total for 2 people, 2 beds and 2 dogs. We had a very good dinner at the restaurant next door. If you don't have pets, the Riverview rooms are a great deal.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patandjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 106 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2013

really, I was shocked because the information center at Bangor ME gave me a postcard with the picture and address and suggested it. well, I was there very late and nothing else seemed to be around. dated and very worn out, It seemed that they made efforts to keep it clean. I could not bear to get the black light out to check. nice people and fair price. I just thought being near the border there would have been something higher end. I believe if you drive further down across the street there was another motel which looked new... alot of road work and in the night sad to say I did not see it. There are few and far between places to eat. the canadian border was 5 minutes away and the town over the border was great, just no actual hotels some bed and breakfasts apparently. information center is just down the street on canadian side, excellent.

Room Tip: I did not see any river side rooms, missed that. the A/C did not cool and was loud. you can hear eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank las444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed one night in a second floor riverside room. Room was large and in good shape, a little dated but still very nice. Right on the river and we could sit on the belcony and enjoy the scenery, be sure to keep an eye on the tide. The riverside trail runs right by the motel and is a enjoyable walk. No breakfast but there is a very nice diner next door. The walls are thin and the place can be noisy but except for this we would stay again.

Room Tip: stay in a riverside room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbpep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Pulled in because there were alot of antique cars in the parking lot and thought that looks like fun. We weren't disappointed in our riverfront view. King total charge was $85. Clean grounds. Great people running the place and so were the guests. The TA recommendations must bring in a really good crowd. Was packed on a Sunday night after Labor Day. Would stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Gail U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I've stayed at this motel several times in the past. This trip we stayed in the Riverside Suite both on the way in to Canada and on our return. The rooms in the rest of the motel have proven to be basic but clean and comfortable...I'd rate the motel at 3 or 4 based on them. I haven't stayed in any of the riverside rooms other than the suite, the ones on the top floor have double beds, the ones on the first floor queen beds...but I'd expect the overall quality to be high. We opted to splurge for the suite (about double the cost of the basic non-riverside units, but put in perspective about the same price as Hampton Inn and much nicer) for convenience (on the top floor you can just roll your suitcases to the front door) and to have at least a queen size bed, in fact the bed was a king. The bed was the most comfortable one we've ever slept in, and in fact we untucked the sheeting to write down the brand and model. This room was luxurious and modern, included a basic kitchenette, a sleeping area and a (not separated) sitting area including a couch and table. It had a two room bathroom. You enter through the first room which has a sink and large dressing area, then through a separate door to the toilet, shower with a glass door, and jacuzzi tub. In the main room, two picture windows overlook the back porch with views of a river and Canada. We started referring to it as the "honeymoon suite." We were concerned about when we would arrive on the trip back as the afternoon ferry arrives in Saint John around 7:00 pm, then there's the drive down and it's hard to predict the time waiting for and in customs, and the staff was very accomodating in being willing to make arrangements for a possible late arrival. All in all, we found the staff very helpful and friendly on both of these visits about two weeks apart. A real bonus is the Wickachee Restaurant which is right next door, and where we had two nice dinners and breakfasts.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brian_va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Biker friendly. Very reasonable with clean rooms and a friendly staff. Located right on the river that separates the US and Canada. Within walking distance of restaurants, taverns, and entertainment. Safe and well lighted location to park the Harley overnight. Plan on staying there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rolland C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed here on the way to Canada. The service was excellent, rates were reasonable, (even gave me a special discount because it was my birthday). Rooms were very clean. I plan to stay here on my next trip in September.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cassey111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calais
1 mi away
Winsome Inn
Winsome Inn
#1 of 2 in St. Stephen
94 reviews
22.9 mi away
Granite Town Hotel
Granite Town Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saint George
102 reviews
13.3 mi away
The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12 mi away
Redclyffe Shore Motor Inn
Redclyffe Shore Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Robbinston
35 reviews
Show Prices

Been to International Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Motel

Address: 276 Main St, Calais, ME 04619-1810
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Calais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Calais
Number of rooms: 61
Also Known As:
International Motel Calais, Maine
International Hotel Calais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing