We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the clean rooms and great staff!!!”

International Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Calais
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
International Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Calais
Maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved the clean rooms and great staff!!!”
Reviewed July 29, 2011

If you are like me and want a clean room this is definetly the place to stay!!! Lots of choices when it comes to rooms. The staff is wonderful at the front desk and everyone is willing to go above and beyond to make your stay perfect. Great location to town, nice lawn area, walking path, wifi, what else could you ask for? Best place to stay in Calais by far.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank as506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    34
    32
    10
    14
See reviews for
22
43
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calais, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2011

Stayed in river view lower unit. Room was good value for money (basic, clean, nice location) except for annoying noise from above and adjacent rooms - people moving about, conversation, TV, and running water were well beyond acceptable levels. For this reason, I Would not stay again and would not recommend to a friend.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Jacktar8136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Calais hotels

Hunter River, PEI
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

The location was very good and easy to find. The young girl at the desk was very pleasant and helpful. There was a very large shower in the room which was very very nice after along day of travelling.

The room it slef was not very clean. There was alot of hair on the floor in the bathroom and on the mattress. I did check the mattress for bed bugs and did not see any. The room was very dated,and their was no venterlation. The locked thermometer in the room was set to 70 degrees. It was pretty warm the day we stayed, and there was no air conditioner. The windows had no screens, and were painted shut. The beds were of acceptable comfort. The pillows were as thin as the towels. The coffee pot left a lot to be desired where you fill the water was dirty, but the nice young lady at the desk brought a brand new one to the room when shown how dirty it was. She was very, very nice and brought extra towels also when requested. We felt the room was very expensive for what it offred. Would have felt better if we paid around $50 instead of the $80 we were charged.
We understand it was a pet friendly room, but our small dog is very clean, well behaved and hypo allergenic. We have stayed at other Motels in Maine that are pet friendly and they were much, nicer, cleaner, and less expensive. Was supposed to be the #1 motel out of 4 pet friendly motels in the area, scarey.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SherryCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mass
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2010

We stayed there enroute to Nova Scotia. Great location, close to the border. We checked in on Thurs night and met a very friendly person at the front desk who helped us find a store and restaurant. We stayed in the Riverview rooms which were clean and had a scenic view

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank podymass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2010

Reading the past few reviews before I post this I noticed each one specifically comments on the "Riverview" section of the hotel. We stayed here because of the location immediately across the US border. From the moment we stepped in the "lobby" (which looked like a 70's horror movie hotel lobby) we should have walked away. We did not stay in the Riverview section, and our room stank like mold, the toilet clogged on the first flush, the towels were as thin as the toilet paper, and the whole place just felt old and disgusting. I've been in similar places before, but typically the rate is $49 and even then the place usually has a draw like a small pool or hot tub in the hotel/motel. This motel charged $80, which you'd think would get you at least cleanliness. This is the kind of place that I felt just as dirty after my shower as I did before it. If you're coming from Canada, drive on to Bangor even if you're tired/hungry. If you're driving up from Maine, continue into St. Stephen - there must be something better than this.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MapleLeafPassport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yadkinville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2010

This was my first stay at the International and I found it to be very accomodating, especially for our small dog. We stayed on the first floor conveniently located next to a spacious grassed lawn near the river - the dog had a great walk. We arrived around 8:30 p.m. and found a nice restaurant next door (still open) that provided a great meal. It wasn't a classy room but was clean and provided a bath/shower & a good night's rest. Price was ok too.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drmost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2010

We stayed in the Riverview section of this hotel on the first floor. Very clean, well appointed room with a nice view of the river. There is a walkway along the river which is nice as well. Great value too! Freee Wi-fi was a plus for us. Host was very informative about area restaurants. Nice place to stay before you head over the Canadian Border which is 3 minutes away.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dhlabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calais
0.9 mi away
Winsome Inn
Winsome Inn
#1 of 2 in St. Stephen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
10.8 mi away
Rossmount Inn
Rossmount Inn
#1 of 2 in Chamcook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
22.7 mi away
Granite Town Hotel
Granite Town Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saint George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Blair House Heritage Breakfast Inn
0.7 mi away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#4 of 7 in St. Stephen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
13.1 mi away
The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to International Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about International Motel

Property: International Motel
Address: 276 Main St, Calais, ME 04619-1810
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Calais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Calais
Number of rooms: 61
Also Known As:
International Motel Calais, Maine
International Hotel Calais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing