We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh bread, great sandwiches”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sandwich Man

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sandwich Man
Ranked #6 of 27 Restaurants in Calais
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Cumberland, Maine
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fresh bread, great sandwiches”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

The sandwiches are always good, and the bread is baked several times a day. When I am in Calais, I always try to eat at the Sandwich Man because I will never be disappointed. I highly recommend the Sandwich Man.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Luvmyredmiata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    9
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eastport, Maine
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

This place....by far.......serves the best subs.....they are great! They bake their own bread daily and always have fresh toppings. The sandwiches are made to order the the service is excellent.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Andrews, Canada
Level Contributor
283 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“These are the best Sub Sandwiches in the world”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

If you want a great Sub Sandwich then go to the Sandwich Man in Calais, Me. They cook their own bread, they have fresh toppings and every sandwich is made fresh. The dagwood one is my favorite.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Stephen, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“It's been my fav for as long as I can remember”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

It has been my favorite sandwhich shop forever! Dagwood and the steak subs are my fav. The meat isn't overly processed, the bread and veggies fresh.

Helpful?
Thank Mama HM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quesnel, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fresh bread”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

The bread is made daily and makes for a delicious sandwich. This is our top choice for lunch and it is always a sad time when it is closed for a few months a year while the owners vacation.
Great sandwiches and great value!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandwich Man also viewed

Calais, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Calais, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Calais, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Calais, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Calais, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Calais, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Sandwich Man? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing