We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple and fair”
Review of Fort Knox Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fort Knox Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bucksport
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Simple and fair”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This hotel had very nicely priced rooms but they dont have things like microwaves or fridges which is fine with us. the room was immaculate more importantly. The bed very comfortable, the staff friendly and their recommendations for restaurants were real not just funneling us to linked up business. Our room on the water side had a fabulous view- we really couldnt have asked for better

Room Tip: get a room with a water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Earl1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    39
    15
    3
    0
See reviews for
33
35
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I would highly recommend staying here. The staff is wonderful with exceptionally clean rooms. The waterside rooms have an amazing view. If you r traveling to bucksport this is the place to stay !! We will definitely be back next year.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaymm24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millinocket, Maine
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I stayed here and I was pleased with the room and I enjoyed the water veiw. I also enjoyed my walk the changing of the season is beautiful, I really enjoyed my stay and I will encourage my freinds and family to stay here. With reasonable rates and great service and a fabulous view, I will be returning soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Texoma
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Would definitely stay again, but depending on the tides when you're there on how great the view is. Room was clean and beds were comfortable. Love having the windows open and getting the cool night air. Water side has beautiful views of the bridge, fort and harbor, but it is only windows, no balconys.
Breakfast is very continental. I didn't know it had oj because it was in a coffee carafe, as was the milk for the small boxed cereal. But this is a very small town in Maine and so do not expect the same amenities in a larger town.
You walk in on the third floor, but don't be afraid to take the 1st floor. The parking lot does down the hill and so you don't have stairs or problems with luggage. And besides there is an elevator.
Front desk was very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Gail U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed here while visiting Maine Maritme Academy. The price was better than any other hotels in the area. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and the staff was very friendly and helpful.
Our room had a beautiful view of the Fort and the Bridge. The walking path was a nice extra for our after dinner walk. Will book here again when we return to castine.

Room Tip: choose a waterside room the view is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beth m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend, It was well worth the money. The prices were better then most places we looked at. It was clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We saved even more money by requesting a street view instead of the a beautiful view of the bridge and fort. There's a wonderful public walking path behind the hotel, it was a nice night so we enjoyed the view that way.

The fort and observatory were great and worth seeing. As another note, It was about an hours drive to Acadia but worth the hotel savings to us. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Japedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed here one night on my way driving up through Maine for the weekend. It is a small and quaint hotel, nothing to blow you away with; just the essentials you need to sleep through the night.

Good:
-The price beat out a lot of the area lodges
-I was able to reserve a room at a cheaper rate by calling them instead of booking through Priceline
-The front desk was able to accommodate me with a riverside room
-Penobscot River is gorgeous to wake up to and right behind the inn
-It is quiet, peaceful and serene. Go for walks on the path behind the inn early when the fog rolls in
-Free breakfast (coffee, cereal cups, juice etc.) and Wi-fi
-Perfect getaway for a scenic break from the rat race

Bad:
-If you're not into disconnecting from technology this may not be the place for you as the WiFi can be spotty
-Have an itinerary ready to go, aside from Fort Knox, antique stores, and local eats, there isn't too much action in town

Room Tip: Ask for a riverside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jazzedup1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bucksport
18.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Ellsworth - Bar Harbor
13.1 mi away
Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village
13.4 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Seascape Motel and Cottages
19.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Ellsworth / Bar Harbor
0.5 mi away
Bucksport Motor Inn
Bucksport Motor Inn
#1 of 2 in Bucksport
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Knox Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Knox Inn

Property: Fort Knox Inn
Address: 64 Main St, Bucksport, ME 04416-4026
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bucksport
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bucksport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Fort Knox Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fort Knox Inn is right in beautiful downtown Bucksport, close to the Maine Maritime Academy, Fort Knox State Park, Penobscot Narrows Observatory & Bridge, and Verso Paper Company. A marina is located directly in front of the property, with a waterside walkway 1/2 mile; and near the Bar Harbour and Acadia National Park. The hotel offers free parking, free high speed internet access, FREE breakfast, snack and soda machines, Colonial-style cherry furnishings, air conditioning, hair dryer and coffee maker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fort Knox Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fort Knox Hotel Bucksport
Best Western Bucksport
Bucksport Best Western
Fort Knox Inn Bucksport, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing