We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot for sightseeing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bucksport Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bucksport
Certificate of Excellence
GGa
1 review
“Perfect spot for sightseeing”
Reviewed October 13, 2009

Val and Eddie were perfect hosts very friendly and helpful. room was clean with all the facilities one would require. Despite being on the main road it was far enough back that no traffic noise was heard. would recommend this small motel for overnight stays

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    41
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
35
59
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Woodbine, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2009

Knowing nothing about this area, we wanted some place within a short distance of Castine, ME. We chose this Inn after a 3 hour internet search of B & B's, hotels and motels for various reasons: price, quaintness and the fact that it's a small privately owned venture. It's a short distance off the road, therefore no noticable noise from the street traffic, yet an easy walk to the center of town, and the start of the river walk just a block down the street. The owners were very friendly, and most helpful with accomodating an early arrival and restaurant suggestions. The room was notably clean, the beds were VERY comfortable, and it's easy to see the progress made in modernizing an older motel. We will definitely stay here again when coming up in the future.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaisyTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, AL
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2008

Very clean facility. Rooms included a microwave and refrigerator. Older style inn, but in very good condition. Proprietress was very friendly.

Grocery & doughnut store within walking distance. Close to a view of Fort Knox & Penobscot Narrows Bridge. Several restaurants close by.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — no internet access
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneinAlabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mequon, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2008

Traditional family run road side motel where you park right outside your door. Our room had been completely remodeled - new furniture, flat screen TV, new sink, toilet and faucets in the tub, all new flooring, even new patio chairs and table outside the door. Well kept grounds with flower boxes. Right on Rte. 1 near the Penobscot Narrows Bridge with a long driveway that separates you from the highway noise. The room had a firm king size bed, microwave, coffee maker and small refrigerator. With a couple of items from the grocery a block away, we did our own continental breakfast in the room. Some of the small things are a nice change from the big-box chain motels - real ceramic tile on the walls in the bath and real wood crown molding in room and bath. A minor inconvenience was the one outlet that our cell phone charger wouldn't stay plugged into. Friendly folks and great value.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, location, quiet
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ProfMercator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2008

We (family with one 8-year old) stayed there one night on the way to visit friends. A simple place, but friendly and clean, and convenient for the road.

Ask them about Duffys (sp?), a great diner up the road for breakfast.

  • Liked — Simple, friendly
  • Disliked — Very simple
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inner_city_resident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2007

I am writing a review on this inn because I depend on others opinions to make reservations etc.
I made the reservation based on the review of another TripAdvisor member and I was very pleased.
I have allergies and cannot tolerate strong smells or must/mildew etc. or pet dander. All rooms were non-smoking. (They have a few rooms set aside for those with pets.)
I knew the hotel was older but we booked it anyway and gave it a try. We were thrilled with the accommodations. The room(s) were clean (extremely so), the area pretty quiet and only 20 minutes from Bangor. The owners were pleasant and we had no problems whatsoever.
Yes the decor is 50's style - but the beds/bedding better than most motels I have stayed in for comfort and cleanliness. I usually do not sleep the first night away from home - but no problems at all sleeping through the night soundly.
You won't be disappointed with your accommodations and when we go back to the area, we will definitely stay in the same place.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — there really wasn't anything
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woolb2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2007

I needed a place to stay one night while on the way to Prince Edward Island and I chose the Bucksport Motor Inn after seeing their website. I paid 56 dollars after my AAA discount and with all taxes included. The room was clean, comfortable, and spacious. The motel itself is conveniently located-a supermarket and several fastfood places are in easy walking distance, and the center of town and other businesses are a reasonable walk as well. In the evening, I took a walk down the main street and got something to eat at the local pizza place, then came back along a nice riverfront walkway that looks out on a very impressive new bridge that spans the Penobscot River. I bought a pint of ice cream at the supermarket and when I got to my room I realized I didn't have a spoon. I went down to the office and the husband(it's a family-owned motel)was happy to lend me a spoon. Both he and his wife were friendly and helpful. I would not hesitate to recommend this motel to anyone looking for reasonably-priced accomodations in that area.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank cp64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bucksport
18.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Ellsworth - Bar Harbor
13.4 mi away
Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village
13.7 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.5 mi away
Ramada Ellsworth
Ramada Ellsworth
#2 of 10 in Ellsworth
655 reviews
14.1 mi away
Belfast Harbor Inn
Belfast Harbor Inn
#3 of 8 in Belfast
214 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fort Knox Inn
Fort Knox Inn
#2 of 2 in Bucksport
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bucksport Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bucksport Motor Inn

Property: Bucksport Motor Inn
Address: 70 US Route 1, Bucksport, ME 04416-4120
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bucksport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bucksport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bucksport Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Dog Friendly in Select Rooms (please notify us first) and a Kid friendly Maine Motel, so come and stay with us and explore the beauty of Midcoast Maine. We also offer internet service for the business traveler. The Bucksport Area is the perfect place for experiencing a fun filled family vacation. We have historic places to visit, children's amusements a short drive away, maritime fun, outdoor activites galore and the natural beauty that is Maine. Across the river is the new Penobscot Narrows Bridge and Observatory. The new bridge's Observation Tower is the first such innovation of its kind in the United States and only the third in the world. The motel is conveniently located near restaurants, churches, antique shops, flea markets, the new bay side walkway, fishing areas and Fort Knox State Park. Many guests staying with us enjoy Bucksport and day trips to Acadia National Park, Bar Harbor, Camden, Castine, Blue Hill, Bangor and other Maine Areas. So please stop by our Inn and let us make your stay in Maine comfortable and affordable. Make sure to ask us about our discounts for certain groups and organizations. · All Rooms are Non-Smoking, · Parking at your Front Door. · All rooms have remote controlled TVs/Cable, high speed internet, refrigerators and microwaves, irons and ironing boards, · Direct Dial telephones, · In-room coffee makers, · Table and Chairs in Each Room, · Tub/Shower Combination, · Air Conditioning, · amex, mc, visa and discover ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Bucksport Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bucksport Motor Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing