We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean room but felt unwelcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bucksport Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bucksport
Certificate of Excellence
Mojave, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clean room but felt unwelcome”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I was in the area on business for a few weeks and chose this motel for location and price. I travel with my business partner and my dog so it is important that i get a pet friendly motel. From day one we felt as though we were being parented with the female owner going so far as to make us either close the window or turn the fan off. We were accused of leaving the dog in the room alone on the very first day, because we had the Do Not Disturb sign on the door. When we informed them that the dog was with us the entire day, they apologized and said they had "assumed" that is why we put the sign up, rather than asking or not assuming. Things stayed tense until we finally asked them to let us know if they wanted us to leave, but if they didn't then they needed to lighten up. Eddie apologized, but Val seemed very unwelcoming. If you don't have a pet, the experience may be a very different one than we had. The rooms were very nice... though I would have loved to return my towels in the afternoon and run the fan with the window open... but I guess that's not part of the hospitality offered. Also, there was a lot of "activity" going on in the area where the owner and his family all lived. The kids ran back and forth late and played basketball early, which is fine, but if you have to be to work early, get an end room so you can sleep.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TMP244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    38
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
34
53
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I rang ahead to check availability, and they did not have a problem with my late check-in (after 22:00) The Inn itself is set well back and above the road, tidy appearance and there are some fast food outlets nearby.
The room was recently refurbished, very clean and comfortable, with Wi-Fi, coffee machine, fridge and TV. I was only here for one night after my last day in Acadia, but would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndonville, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 23, 2011

I am a business man and travel with my wife and a small dog. I look for quiet, location, and a welcoming warm feeling. This family operation is all of the above and more. Bucksport is a small seacoast town on the Penobscot River in Maine. It is a half hour from Bucksport, University of Maine, and just a bit more to Acadia National Park. It is open all year and for those who know Maine, it is at the edge of the "real" northern Maine forest. Fisherman, paper mills, woodsman, canoe builders (Old Town), and something for everyone. Its hidden away downtown, near Verona Island and the spectacular Vernona Bridge, a relative to the beautiful Bridge which welcomes you to Boston. Fort Knox sits in the bay across from the town and large boats navigate the river as far as Bangor. At the end of the driveway there is Dunkin donuts, a few fast few offerings, and downtown has a great book store, a nice clothing store, a small theatre, and a great walk along the river. The motel is clean with a variety of accomodatins, some with microwave, refrigerators, and an ambiance back to the 50;s. Some solar panels fit into the constant upgrading. No pretense, but a wonderful family operation.Hard working people, accomodating and kind staff the motel. I am a repeat guest so they recognize my family and welcome us when we call. Not fancy, but convenient, a place for a good nights sleep, quiet guests and on a good size chunk of property where you can walk around and relax. If you need a nice get away, not fancy, but very adequate, than visit this gem on the coast of Northern Maine. Think Lobster Dinners, Fried Clams, all very fresh, sometimes off the boat. Think rest and time out while being in the middle of a wonderland of quaintold Maine without the glitz of fast lane urban life Meet some great people along your way and enjoy going to Liberty Tools for old tools, or antique stores all along route 1. The Bucksport Motor Inn is my choice when I get a chance. bob kantar, SCC

Room Tip: Front of motel is good/ back is more isolated and more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rkantar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We showed up here at four o'clock in the afternoon looking for a place for the night. Because of some business, my husband had to have Wi-Fi and 2) it was the first night of the World Series so Fox Sports was a must. This place had both and was neat and clean to boot! Great value for the money!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duxbury, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We spent a week here while in Bucksport this summer. I had expected a run-down "motor inn," but was taken by surprise by the comfort and cleanliness of the rooms and the grounds. An added bonus: the owners were extremely helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

The last time we traveled to Bangor we stopped here and our experience was that it was clean and suitable. We went back on a shopping trip to Bangor and booked there again. It is about 1/2 hour drive from Bangor but when I went to make reservations the hotels left available in Bangor were approximately $150 - $170 per night. If you are out all day I don't see the need to pay double simply to sleep.
The check in was seamless, owners friendly, room clean, beds comfortable, fridge and microwave in the room. We got a room at the back which I found noisy (someone above had friends in at 1:00 am for an hour???) and you could hear people plainly talking. Thankfully I had brought an iPod and earphones with me. So I would ask for a room at the front if staying again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wool B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coldwater, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We were on a cross country trip from Michigan to Maine and had picked this inn for a 3-day resting spot. We are so glad we did. The rooms were clean and comfortable. It is located in a quiet little town with a beautiful walkway along the water and some decent restaurants. The inn had a Dunkin Donuts just a stones throw away and a grocery store a short walk away. The room had a microwave and a refrigerator so we were able to get some healthy food to keep in the room rather than always eating out which was a nice option. We took side trips to Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park but it was really nice to come back to the relative peace and quiet of the Inn every night. We also visited the Fort Knox and Observatory Tower on the bridge that leads into Bucksport. There was a laundromat on the other end of town which was great for us since you can't store a lot of clothes on the motorcycle. The owners were very nice and accommodating. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melhoutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bucksport
13.7 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
19.0 mi away
Eagle's Lodge Motel
Eagle's Lodge Motel
#5 of 10 in Ellsworth
152 reviews
14.7 mi away
Vacationland Inn
Vacationland Inn
#1 of 5 in Brewer
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Ellsworth - Bar Harbor
13.4 mi away
Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village
0.5 mi away
Fort Knox Inn
Fort Knox Inn
#2 of 2 in Bucksport
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bucksport Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bucksport Motor Inn

Property: Bucksport Motor Inn
Address: 70 US Route 1, Bucksport, ME 04416-4120
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bucksport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bucksport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bucksport Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are Dog Friendly in Select Rooms (please notify us first) and a Kid friendly Maine Motel, so come and stay with us and explore the beauty of Midcoast Maine. We also offer internet service for the business traveler. The Bucksport Area is the perfect place for experiencing a fun filled family vacation. We have historic places to visit, children's amusements a short drive away, maritime fun, outdoor activites galore and the natural beauty that is Maine. Across the river is the new Penobscot Narrows Bridge and Observatory. The new bridge's Observation Tower is the first such innovation of its kind in the United States and only the third in the world. The motel is conveniently located near restaurants, churches, antique shops, flea markets, the new bay side walkway, fishing areas and Fort Knox State Park. Many guests staying with us enjoy Bucksport and day trips to Acadia National Park, Bar Harbor, Camden, Castine, Blue Hill, Bangor and other Maine Areas. So please stop by our Inn and let us make your stay in Maine comfortable and affordable. Make sure to ask us about our discounts for certain groups and organizations. · All Rooms are Non-Smoking, · Parking at your Front Door. · All rooms have remote controlled TVs/Cable, high speed internet, refrigerators and microwaves, irons and ironing boards, · Direct Dial telephones, · In-room coffee makers, · Table and Chairs in Each Room, · Tub/Shower Combination, · Air Conditioning, · amex, mc, visa and discover ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Bucksport Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bucksport Motor Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing