We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lobster roll daydream” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carrier's Mainely Lobster

Carrier's Mainely Lobster
Ranked #2 of 14 Restaurants in Bucksport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We are seasonal closed for the season, see you in 2017! Carriers Mainely Lobster is a a family owned business specializing in seafood, burgers, sandwiches, fresh fish, and ice cream (hard serve and soft serve). We are a casual take-out or eat-in restaurant, renowned for Fresh seafood and excellent service! After 16 years in the fishing industry, BJ Carrier decided to start his own restaurant with his wife, Tory. Renowned for Fresh seafood and excellent service! Carrier's Mainely Restaurant was rewarded with the Bucksport Chamber of Commerce's "New Business of the Year!" We must be doing something right!
Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Lobster roll daydream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed in Belfast in early June 2013, and we're returning in mid-June this year. What will my first food stop be? Mainely Lobster!!! I've only had the lobster roll thus far, but after reading the other reviews, I see a two lobster meal in my future! The roll was wonderful, overflowing with sweet lobster with just the right amount of mayo to keep it moist. I'm sure the sides were good too, but when I am eating lobster, I don't usually notice anything else. Yummmmmmmmm.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank moodyhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BJ C, Owner at Carrier's Mainely Lobster, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
We love your description “Lobster roll daydream” and plan to share it on Facebook, thanks for sharing with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    22
    6
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“The Best food in Bucksport”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

The food is all tasty and the Owner BJ and his entire wait staff are all courteous and provide smiles and the Best food in town.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeffry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bj C, Owner at Carrier's Mainely Lobster, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
We work hard to be freshest friendliest seafood around. So we are delighted you notice and say something. Thanks to you and our other foodies, TripAdvisor selected us for a Certificate for 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucksport, Maine
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not fancy... But so good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

The food is really good and the prices are affordable and the staff is great! What more can you ask for?

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MCD54_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucksport, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The ultimate lunch stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Me and my husband live in Bucksport and love Carrier's for a few reasons, first of all they hire and support local highschool students, and teach them the value of working and having a good experience doing so. Second the food is fresh, you are not getting fish that comes on a sysco truck from who knows ware, and the prices are great for fresh fish and seafood. Thirdly, they know who you are once you go there a few times, they are always polite and courteous, will even bring your to go order to your car if they are not to busy. The other reason we love this place is the lunch specials, you can not get a better lunch within 20 miles, always hot cooked well and super cheap prices. D.J. and his crew deserve a round of applause and to be recognized by more than just the town, I have lived all over the eastern and mid-Atlantic states, and I have never had such a wonderful experience as I have here. So way to go Carrier's!!! :D

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wolfytwigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bj C, Owner at Carrier's Mainely Lobster, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thanks so much love to hear we are making you happy in every way. I love what I do teaching our youth work ethics and respect, it is the high light of my job. Also fresh is all I can do because I want it right every time. Thanks so much can't wait to see you in the spring, and love seeing everyone everyday . I miss it already. Thank you so much from the bottom of my heart for your support and lovely words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona Island, Maine
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Bucksport's Most Popular Take Out or Eat In”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

They always have competitive prices on lobster and will cook your entire order for very small fee. They also pack them in containers that will keep them hot to take on a picnic or to the lake camp. They also have an eat in area that's always very clean and neat. It's a very popular place for the high school kids as well as their parents and grandparents.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank OliverChatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bj C, Owner at Carrier's Mainely Lobster, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thanks so much great to hear from you , see you in the spring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carrier's Mainely Lobster also viewed

Bucksport, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bucksport, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Bucksport, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bucksport, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Carrier's Mainely Lobster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing