We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the place to go for a Maine lobster roll”

Carrier's Mainely Lobster
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Bucksport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Description: Carriers Mainely Lobster is a a family owned business specializing in seafood, burgers, sandwiches, fresh fish, and ice cream (hard serve and soft serve). We are a casual take-out or eat-in restaurant, renowned for Fresh seafood and excellent service! After 16 years in the fishing industry, BJ Carrier decided to start his own restaurant with his wife, Tory. Renowned for Fresh seafood and excellent service! Carrier's Mainely Restaurant was rewarded with the Bucksport Chamber of Commerce's "New Business of the Year!" We must be doing something right!
Restaurant details
Description: Carriers Mainely Lobster is a a family owned business specializing in seafood, burgers, sandwiches, fresh fish, and ice cream (hard serve and soft serve). We are a casual take-out or eat-in restaurant, renowned for Fresh seafood and excellent service! After 16 years in the fishing industry, BJ Carrier decided to start his own restaurant with his wife, Tory. Renowned for Fresh seafood and excellent service! Carrier's Mainely Restaurant was rewarded with the Bucksport Chamber of Commerce's "New Business of the Year!" We must be doing something right!
Brewer, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not the place to go for a Maine lobster roll”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I usually don't complain "out loud", but I was so disappointed with this lobster roll, I felt the need to warn others. For the price (Ka-ching!) this little hot dog roll miserly filled with lobster meat was NOT what we've come to expect as locals and Maine natives (Go to the Eagle's Nest Restaurant in Brewer if you want a Real (ie HUGE and Delicious) Lobstah Roll!!)
The prices were too high for the food portions, the service was slow (not even a busy day at this drive-in), and the food was, frankly, not that great ... even the onion rings were cold and mushy.
Save your money, folks. Drive the extra half an hour to Brewer - the Eagles Nest is a little hole in the wall, but don't let that fool ya! It has Carrier's beat hands down - and the prices are better for what's on order...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bj C, Owner at Carrier's Mainely Lobster, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
So sorry you experience at carriers was not what expected. We have served over 40,000# of lobster meat this season, with not one issue with our quality. I am so very upset that you were not happy,hopefully we will have a chance to earn your business again. If you are in the area i would be more then glad to give you a full refund. Quality and freshness is what we are about here at carriers and i will expect you to get nothing but that. Sorry again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    25
    6
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norridgewock, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Mixed results depending on selected item”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Four of us ate here. The person having a whole lobster was delighted. The people having lobster roll were satisfied but not thrilled. There was plenty of lobster on the roll, but no dressing so it was a bit dry, and the rolls were nothing special (just regular hot dog buns). The person having hamburger was quite happy. It was nice to be able to get beer with the food. The atmosphere was functional, not a place to linger.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Granitegneiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bj C, Owner at Carrier's Mainely Lobster, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
So happy you enjoyed your meal.We have a dryer than usual lobster because of the quality of the meat and the freshness and many of our customers love it like that. When you come back just ask us for extra mayo and we will be glad to add it for you or give it to you. Thanks for dining with us and will see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranford, nj
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Comfortable, easy stop”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Carriers is newer to Bucksport but has made quite a splash. The lobster roll is packed with tasty lobster, accompanied by cole slaw, on a large roll. A nice place to eat with friendly staff. Ice cream too! Indoor seating as well as outside. A great local crowd and comfortable place to grab a meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Azucar100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bj C, Owner at Carrier's Mainely Lobster, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
loved seeing you all thanks for stopping.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas City
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“BLR - Best Lobster Roll!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Yes, you can eat lobster rolls almost anywhere in Maine. At this place you can eat indoors or out unencumbered by crowds or confusion. The setting is bright, spacious & ordering is simple & direct. We sat at a picnic table with our lobster rolls & enjoyed the day. It was very quiet. The lobster roll itself tasted fresh & the bun was toasted. The owner was gracious & happy we listened to the advice of the ticket vendor at Vinal Haven to come here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Howard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bj C, Owner at Carrier's Mainely Lobster, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
thanks for the good words, and glad you enjoyed your stay. The girls are great over there we love them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watertown, CT
Level 6 Contributor
401 reviews
320 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Perfect roadstop”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Forget about atmosphere and service; that is not what these guys are about. Go here for the best lobster and crab rolls you'll find anywhere. They are huge, overflowing with meat and not wet or loaded with fillers. Just meat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aaronds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bj C, Owner at Carrier's Mainely Lobster, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
cant wait to see you again, thanks for the great words....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carrier's Mainely Lobster also viewed

Bucksport, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bucksport, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Bucksport, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bucksport, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Belfast, Mid Coast Maine
Bucksport, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Carrier's Mainely Lobster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing