We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect view of Fort Knox, the marina and Penobscot River”
Review of Harbor View Grille

Harbor View Grille
Ranked #5 of 15 Restaurants in Bucksport
Cuisines: American
Description: phone 207-942-4500
Restaurant details
Description: phone 207-942-4500
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect view of Fort Knox, the marina and Penobscot River”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We saw outside on the deck both times and it was ideal. Good service. Yummy food and lots of local ingredients such as lobster and blue berries! Would have loved to have eaten there more times but our visit was not long enough.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dwencita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    32
    20
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jamestown, RI
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great porch with water view, fabulous service”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We came upon this place just when we were starving. We needed lunch and had no expectations. At our request, we were seated on the porch. Although the view was gorgeous, it was a very windy day and we were really cold. We requested an inside table and our waitress could not have been more understanding and found us a booth in a jiffy. She was happy to adapt our order to my rather picky tastes and the food was tasty.
We would certainly return any time we're in the neighborhood at lunch time.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank magl193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orrington, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dinner and a movie spot”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Our favorite movie theater is just down the street so we combine the two. Working our way thru the menu and never had anything we didn't enjoy. Friendly staff

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mckmaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orrington, Maine, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible Service”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Our family has visited this restaurant three times. We will not be visiting again. The service is not worth the great view or the good food.
The waitresses are rude and do not care to even try to think about service. Our orders have always been wrong, missing food, or no service between bringing food and the bill.
Those in the industry need to keep on eye on this restaurant because it will be run into the ground over bad service. Reopen, keep the kitchen staff, ditch the wait staff and you can run a great restaurant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Becky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tolland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Slow service, OK food”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We have stopped in for breakfast and lunch several times in the past year and the place doesn't seem to improve any with time. The food is just average but as mentioned, the view is great! Unfortunately, the service doesn't seem to get any better. The waitresses are great and sociable, but the place is unbelievably slow and we aren't even there during tourist season. On our last visit, one of the kitchen help came through and the waitress snapped at him very rudely, which surprised me that she would do that in front of customers. I guess they need more help and less stress! If we have alot of time to spare, we don't mind eating there, but don't go if you are on a schedule.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Janie61351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harbor View Grille also viewed

Bucksport, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bucksport, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Bucksport, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bucksport, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Harbor View Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing