We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh well”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Brunswick Bath Area
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Brunswick
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Oh well”
Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

When we travel, we always stay in budget hotels and we've had really nice experiences at Days Inn but this one wasn't very good. I try not to write really bad reviews for budget hotels because you definitely get what you pay for, but $85 a night (the discounted price!) was a bit steep for this one. That shower curtain couldn't have been cleaned anytime in the past year, at least! It was covered in mold, so much that I had to shower with the curtain outside the tub. We could hear the people in the rooms above us through the vents. The room was also a little musty. But, the staff was really friendly and accommodating which was nice. They helped us to get our room for the discounted price 2 nights in a row instead of having to pay the second night full price. I just wish they'd cleaned the shower curtain.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    120
    87
    34
    24
See reviews for
125
105
43
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, Delaware
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I guess it's like the old saying, "You get what you pay for?" We needed to be in Brunswick for several days and since it was relatively short notice, not much was available. Days Inn was.

It's not like it was dirty or smelly, but it is pretty run down...and the beds look kind of ancient...as do the pillows (which I don't use anyway).
We ran next door to Walmart to pick up sodas, etc., popped them in the refrig. and discovered that everything we put into the fridge was frozen solid in the morning. Microwave did not work.

Breakfast was a huge disappointment. Tiny room+ many people+ very little food to begin with=had to go out to breakfast each morning. And if you are used to Starbucks coffee? You won't get anything close here. But, there is a Starbucks nearby. :)

We had ONE of our two beds made ONCE in three nights, and had to go to the front desk to get towels and shampoo each evening.

We found the internet to be slow but tolerable.

On the plus side? The hotel is near downtown Brunswick...about 5-10mins. away. And all the employees we dealt with were very nice, and helpful. And, by the way, we have stayed in several other Brunswick hotels that compare in price so this is a legitimate comparison....and I would have to say the Days Inn does not measure up to the others.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beahmdkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Brunswick hotels

New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Lodging in this area of Maine can be quite pricey, and when we saw that this hotel had a vacancy, we were interested in the affordable rate but wary that this hotel would be a nightmare. We were pleasantly surprised and would recommend this hotel to others. The location is right off of Route 1, making access to beaches, Bowdoin College and other Maine attractions easy. There is a Wal-Mart next door which may come in handy if you need to run out for necessities (and inexpensive souvenirs!). The decor of the hotel is worn and dated, but our room and the common areas of the hotel were very clean and nothing appeared to be broken. The hotel offers a spartan (but free) breakfast, but I would advise you to arrive early before the food disappears. The front desk staff were polite and helpful and answered all of our requests to our satisfaction. Even though our room was on the ground floor, we heard no noise from outside of other areas of the hotel.Our room and the hotel had free Wi-Fi and once you figured out how to connect, my speeds were a respectable 7.98 Mbps/down and 2.27 Mbps/up. If you're traveling in Maine on a budget, I recommend this Days Inn.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a non-smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celer.aqua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

The Days Inn Brunswick may have the look of the Bates Motel, but it has decent quality rooms, free parking, wi-fi and a breakfast buffet.

We were in town for a wedding and had a very busy schedule. The cost and convenience of the Days Inn was therefore very useful for my wife and I. We didn't spend much time there and used it as a place to sleep after a couple of long days. It worked well for our itinerary.

Downsides: check-in is strictly after 3.00 and there is no place to store a bag. The cleanliness of the rooms was of minimum standard as were the amenities and water pressure of the bathroom. Again, however, these were inconveniences rather than problems and the price and other perks of the hotel more than made up for this.

Overall it is a decent hotel that is suitable for the overnight visitor. If you are expecting a Boutique Hotel you'll be disappointed, but not by the price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ElToffeeChico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Springs
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I stayed at this propery about 3 years ago and it was a 2 out of 5 stars. When we arrived, there was still 14 " of snow all the way up to the front door, and the attention to detail didn't improve once inside. This visit, 7-29-12 to 8-2-12, was a total surprise. The carpets in rooms and hall ways looked very new, the sheets and blanket smelled like freshly laundered fabric softener, the staff was friendly, professional, and ready to help in any way to make you feel "looked after". The continental breakfast was perfect for the price..cereal, waffles, pastries, juice, bagels and LOTS of very good coffee. Internet access in the lobby made researching local attractions with directions a breeze...King size bed with 5 pillows, fridge/micro, great shower and good size tub...brand new LG flat screen TV's. Super Walmart right next door, walk don't drive, for all forgotten items or late night munchies needs. What's not to love? Pet friendly and provides tread mills to work off all those lobster rolls. I booked through Jet Blue and it was worth EVERY penny of $79.00 a night. I highly recomend this property, it's not the Ritz Carlton, but I think it's the best of it's class in the area.. I'm so glad I gave it a second chance.

Room Tip: I'm from Florida, so in July/August I LOVED having the window open at night...request a second f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UlleSilverSprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

I am right now here in the hotel after trying to connect the internet for 2 days and several phone calls to their IT support they fixed it tonight(after 48hours).There is a computer in the lobby and you can get good signal if using your laptop there,but in the bedrooms(I tried 3 different bedroom) didn't work at all the internet, but they fixed after 48 hours. Clean hotel.AC fine. No pool. Super walmart is in the back of the hotel(sell alcohol) no need car to get there,on the side of the hotel there is an wendys(no car to get there either).There is just fast food chain around the hotel, not restaurants.It's 7min from Freeport( nothing to do in Freeport, it sucks), 20 miles from Portland(nice city) and 20 miles from Boot bay(cute city, you must visit, not a place for kids).

Room Tip: The room I am staying (room 135) there is a king size bed, 1 couch,seating chair and desk, mimi frid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandralui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We planned a last minute trip to Freeport ME but just about everything was booked in the area. Found this Days Inn in Brunswick. Somewhat far away from the outlets. OK to stay one night but not more. You got what you pay for... Clean, a strong cleaning product odor, can easily hear noise coming from other room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danz54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brunswick
4.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 11 in Brunswick
285 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath
3.6 mi away
Travelers Inn
Travelers Inn
#3 of 11 in Brunswick
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern
0.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#10 of 11 in Brunswick
56 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Bath Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Brunswick Bath Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Brunswick Bath Area

Property: Days Inn Brunswick Bath Area
Address: 224 Bath Road Cooks Corner, Brunswick, ME 04011 (Formerly Super 8)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Brunswick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Brunswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Brunswick Bath Area 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Days Inn Brunswick Bath Area hotel is a refreshing place to stay for your Maine vacation. We are located off Highway 295 and Route 1, near Thomas Point Beach. Our hotel is situated in one of the most environmentally diverse areas of New England. Our location provides quick access to nearby Bowdoin College. Start your day with a free Daybreak continental breakfast, featuring waffles. Use our free WiFi to stay connected from your hotel room. Park your car or oversized vehicle for free in our ample lot. We offer 24-hour front desk service and free, round-the-clock coffee and tea. Non-smoking rooms are available. Find fun in the sun at nearby Thomas Point Beach, with miles of sandy shore and grassy picnic areas. You can visit the Naval Air Station or attend one of the frequent special events held regularly in the area. Pick up some outdoor gear at the original L.L. Bean store. Head to the Desert of Maine, the only true desert on the East Coast, for a guided tour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Brunswick Bath Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Brunswick Bath Area Maine
Brunswick Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing