We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserves its 4 diamond rating”
Review of The Daniel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Daniel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Brunswick
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Deserves its 4 diamond rating”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed one night in the off season, so the hotel was nearly empty, but that didn't seem to dampen the staff's enthusiasm. Everyone was friendly and helpful. The room was nicely furnished, but several of the furniture pieces were chipped or scratched, which I blame more on careless guests than the hotel. I'm not a coffee drinker, but if I were ... a Keurig in the room - nice touch (ditto for the plush towels and robes, glassware, mugs). Everything and everyone was just a little nicer and a little better than a typical chain hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank advok8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    100
    15
    3
    7
See reviews for
89
195
15
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We received a weekend getaway here as a Christmas gift and used it this past weekend. While following our GPS directions, when I first saw the location, I was not impressed. It sits in the middle of nowhere in Brunswick, ME. Upon entering the lobby, I was brought back in time. The gorgeous staircase was winding with a beautiful chandelier hanging from the ceiling. The receptionist was so happy to see us and welcomed us with information about the Inn, bar, and restaurant. The first evening we had dinner in the bar as we listened to a lovely singing by guitar player...reminded me of Judy Collins. I think the bartender's name was Mary. She was so friendly and she introduced to to a yummy new drink. We had brick stone pizza and chicken wings, which were amazing. Reservations can be made for personal use of the hot tub and sauna. We did this and it was so relaxing and quiet. Apparently in the near future, a spa will be added for even more enjoyment as well. I could not have asked for a more perfect weekend getaway, nothing was missing! I would highly recommend The Captain Daniel Stone Inn to anyone looking for a relaxing weekend, with a fantastic staff that truly wanted you to be there.

Room Tip: Don't judge a book by it's cover - go inside to paradise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donnafitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunk, Maine
Level Contributor
124 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed here for one night and only wish we could have made it a longer stay. This hotel is luxurious with beautiful rooms, fluffy robes, very comfy bed, lovely linens, private use of the hot tub and sauna, delicious food, and great staff. Brianna, working at the front desk is delightful and was very helpful. We enjoyed getting tips and directions from her. She went out of her way to help us.
The dining room and pub are really nice. There was live music (Saturday night) and great food selections. The food was beautifully presented and very delicious. The breakfast was great, too.
Also, there is a fitness room. The hotel has very easy access to Brunswick's cute downtown. It is a short walk from the hotel. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luv2travel1627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, NY
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

My sister-in-law and I stayed for a girls weekend. We had a wonderful time! The staff was wonderful and very friendly. We especially enjoyed speaking with Amanda, Allyson and Henry (the general manager). The folks at the front desk were very helpful as well but unfortunately we did not get their names. The continental breakfast that is included wih the room was much more than we expected. There were waffles, quiche, fresh fruit, hard boiled eggs as well as the normal bagels, toast and cereal. The dining room is very welcoming and spacious. We had between 8 & 10 inches of snow while there and there was not a single hiccup in service! We were able to watch the golf by the fireplace in the lounge for the afternoon. The bar didn't open until 4p but there was no issue of us using the area while it was closed. The hotel has several amenities that can't all be put on the website. They had a small Keurig coffee maker in the rooms with some breakfast blend coffee but next to the seating area and business area there were 2 larger Keurig machines wih many more choices available. The seating area there with a large TV was very comfortable and bright since there were windows 2 stories high. Although it was cloudy while we were there the area seemed to be very bright and welcoming. It was nice to sit and watch the snow fall. The room itself was spacious, comfortable and very clean! Loved the colors since they were very welcoming as well. This hotel was not far from the main highway and only 15 minutes from Freeport. The restaurant on site, although open only evenings was very good as well with a very friendly waitstaff. Reservations are needed on Friday and Saturday nights because folks from the area come in droves for the good food! We had a wonderful experience and would love to plan a trip back there. We really can't say enough about it. :)

Room Tip: Loved the idea that if the room got too warm, the windows actually open!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCISFan2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Town,Maine
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed one night at this beautifully restored inn. Our room was meticulous and the bed with it's luxurious linens was lovely and relaxing. The included continental breakfast in the tavern was excellent. The staff were friendly and helpful. The location is convenient to downtown Brunswick and Bowdoin College. Our daughter just bought a house in Brunswick, so we will definitely be visiting the inn again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VSB5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitalitymanager, Guest Relations Manager at The Daniel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
We appreciate your review of the inn. It is pleasing to hear that your stay was relaxing. We will share your review with our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Thank you,
Mandi Cote
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I recently stayed at the Captain Daniel Stone Inn and was very excited for my stay because it is an Ascend Collection Hotel. I work in the Hospitality Industry and therefore I love to travel and check out different hotels. The actual hotel was beautiful and the front desk girl was amazing. She was super helpful and friendly. The rooms were impeccably clean and the atmosphere of the hotel was homey and chic. The only qualms I have is that the bar tender who works at their onsite restaurant was incredibly rude to me. I made a simple request to her on how to use the coupons the front desk girl gave me to use at the restaurant and she scolded me like I was a child. I am in my late 20s but I’m still a paying customer and expect to be treated with equal respect as all the other patrons. I felt that she did not treat me as well as her older, seemingly more wealthy patrons because she thought I was not important. I understand that bar tenders are very busy and have stressful jobs. However, I don’t understand the logic that she can’t take my order because she is too “busy” but yet can chit-chat and schmooze with all of her other patrons in the room. Overall, this hotel is very nice but some of the employees need to change their attitudes towards the guests.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anonymous7779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I have stayed in some great hotels, but the Captain Daniel Stone Inn in Brunswick, Maine really surpassed all expectations. From check-in to check-out, the staff was courteous and helpful, the food at the restaurant was excellent, and they have a great gym. But this was no ordinary stay -- while here, the northeast was hit with a blizzard that covered the bucolic scenery with two feet of snow. The roads were closed and my flight out of Portland was cancelled. I was happily marooned at the Inn for three days longer than planned. I was so impressed at how the manager and his staff stayed at the hotel to look after the ten remaining guests. They even cooked me a perfect cheeseburger and sweet potato fries when I was famished one afternoon even though the restaurant was closed. I am truly grateful to their hospitality and would recommend their establishment to any and all, good weather or blizzard! The room was warm and spacious, the bed and pillows comfortable, the bathrooms new and clean (and endless hot water!) and there was always complimentary tea, coffee, and fruit available and a comfortable lounge to read and relax, as well as a fireplace to sit beside and watch the blizzard descend upon us. Hats off to the friendly manager and his team, who changed the way I think about the hospitality industry forever!! This is the place to stay in Maine!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joe s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brunswick
0.5 mi away
The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern
23.6 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
23.3 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath
1.1 mi away
Travelers Inn
Travelers Inn
#3 of 11 in Brunswick
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Daniel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Daniel

Property: The Daniel
Address: 10 Water St, Brunswick, ME 04011-1518 (Formerly Captain Daniel Stone Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Brunswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Brunswick
#1 Romantic Hotel in Brunswick
#4 Business Hotel in Brunswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Daniel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located steps from Maine Street and the stunning Bowdoin College campus in Brunswick, Maine, The Daniel is a historic building that was erected in 1819. Formerly known as The Captain Daniel Stone Inn, the hotel has been renovated and reimagined as Maine's newest curated lifestyle luxury hotel. Our guests are always treated to a stylish, luxurious home away from home. The hotel's Coast Bar + Bistro provides great food, drink and entertainment in a relaxed but engaging atmosphere. Come join us on your next trip to Maine! Happy hour offered every day and live music on Thursday and Fridays. Brunswick is a historic town located in mid-coast Maine just 10 minutes from Freeport and 25 minutes from Portland and the Jetport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your The Daniel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Daniel Stone Hotel Brunswick
Captain Daniel Stone Brunswick
The Daniel Brunswick, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing