We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - mixed service.”
Review of The Daniel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Daniel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Brunswick
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice hotel - mixed service.”
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

This is a nice hotel. Add a pool and it will be a really nice hotel.

We really liked all the housekeeping staff and the breakfast attendants. The reception staff - however - left a lot to be desired. They were either not at the desk or rude (with exception of the lady who checked us in). My advice? Switch the staff around and have the reception people clean toilets and have the housekeepers greeting people.

Will we come back? Sure - especially if the add a pool!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ADLeeXXIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    97
    15
    3
    7
See reviews for
88
191
14
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Upbeat, very courteous staff and charming large, clean rooms and comfy beds Everyone went out of their way to be helpful, especially Jason at the front desk. Very warm atmosphere with a thoughtful, healthy complimentary breakfast and killer oatmeal raisin cookies on offer in the evening.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baconpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, MIchigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed her for two nights during a trip through New England. We had exceptional service throughout our entire stay.

Prior to our stay I had to make adjustments to our itinerary. I wasn't able to receive the same rate online after changing the dates, so I called the hotel and the manager called me back right away to get things squared away for us.

Our room was beautiful and the bed was extremely comfortable. Everything was exceptionally clean. The breakfast in the morning was nice and provided enough choices to satisfy our appetite. All of the staff we encountered were extremely friendly from the front desk clerks to the breakfast wait staff.

Make sure to reserve time for the hot tub. Guests can reserve private time to use the hot tub which located downstairs near the gym. It was nice not to have to share the time with strangers. I also used the business center to print off some tickets we had purchased online.

We really enjoyed the small size of the hotel. It was conveniently located just a short drive from Portland. We were also able to explore areas further north without the heading of having to travel all the way back to Portland. It really had the feel of a bed and breakfast with added amenities.

An added bonus was that as Choice Rewards members we were able to receive points on our stay too! I highly recommend the hotel!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vcf81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Worst hotel experience of my life!
My husband and I along with my in-laws had planned a week long trip to Maine that included two night stay at this hotel. We booked our room 3 mts in advance through a third party but made a  change directly with the hotel a week in advance to arrive a day later and were assured there would be no problem.  When it came time to check in we were told they had no record of the change and since they failed to change the arrival date we were charged for the room and told it was booked to someone else. The hotel was sold out due to it being one of the busiest weekends. Holly, at the front desk said since there was no record there was nothing they could do. They pretty much put us out on the curb and sent us to the Hampton Inn in the town of Bath. I asked to speak to a supervisor about a refund I was told no one was available because the booking manager was out camping and  the GM was unavailable. Holly said someone can call me in five days. I was disappointed and we were inconveniencing our family because we only had one car rental for the week. My husband demanded to have the issue resolved and finally about an hour later Holly spoke to the clerk that changed our reservation in error back to the original date after I had made the change and was assured it would be no problem.  Since they verified it was their error they did pay for our stay at the Hampton Inn. We specifically planned Daniel Stone because it was unique to the area and unfortunately, that experience was taken from us. I will say that the Hampton Inn was wonderful and located on the river in the quaint town of Bath not far away. It was spotless and the service was wonderful. I would not recommend Daniel Stone, they seem to be very unorganized and lacking in customer service. They ruined what would have been a perfect trip. Had they researched the error from the beginning instead of Implying that I never called it would have saved a lot of heartache and stress.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank JenTorres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitalitymanager, General Manager at The Daniel, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write to us about your experience at the Captain Daniel Stone Inn. You stated “We specifically planned Daniel Stone because it was unique to the area,” and you are very true! I was shocked to hear that your experience was less than 100%. As you can see from our other reviews, we have very high remarks from our guests. I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you and your family encountered with your reservation. We are truly sorry that there was confusion with your date of arrival. We always encourage our guests to book directly with us, not through a third party website. That way, if there are changes needed to be made to a reservation, they can easily be done by just calling us. We have used your situation as a learning experience for our staff to keep this circumstance from happening again.

Again, we regret that we did not provide you with the same superior service that we strive to give all our guests. I would invite you to call my office directly at (207) 862-8008 x 120, so that I can personally listen to your comments and review your concerns.

Sincerely,
Brock Bradford, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millburn, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

My family actually stayed here in June 2010 but the dates on trip advisor didn't go back that far. We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. It was very clean. The breakfast was fantastic. Highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitalitymanager, Guest Relations Manager at The Daniel, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Thank you for thinking of us while on TripAdvisor! We appreciate that even after so long you still regard your stay with us so highly. We hope to see you again in the future!

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Pierce, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We just stayed here one night at the beginning of our travels through Maine. This is a beautiful old building with charming rooms. It has the feel of a B & B. We didn't eat dinner in the restaurant, but we did go down to the bar for a drink. The staff were all very cheery and eager to help with any of our needs. The breakfast was presented in a very elegant way and everything was fresh and tasty. Each room has a Keurig coffee maker. I would stay here again and I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitalitymanager, Guest Relations Manager at The Daniel, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments! Our staff does strive to make each guest experience memorable and are eager to help. Our breakfast pastries and quiche are made on a daily basis, we are glad you enjoyed our breakfast. We hope to see on your next visit to Maine!
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

The Hotel is in a covienent location and within walking distance to downtown. My room was very comfortable with nice linens, comfortable decorations, and even a terry cloth robe! I enjoyed the access to a Keurig in my room and the hotel had a very friendly and helpful staff. My bed was a little noisy, and I felt like the mattress may have been a little aged. Also the air conditioner made some unusual sounds, but I rarely used it since I was able to open my windows and enjoy the cool night air. The restaurant was really good, with lovely staff, a great breakfast, good bar, and delicious pizza. Overall, I felt like this was one of the best lodging options in Brunswick!

Room Tip: Avoid being near highway 1. Apparently you can hear all the sounds from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HannaS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hospitalitymanager, Guest Relations Manager at The Daniel, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our inn. We agree that the location is very “convenient” being within walking distance to Maine Street and downtown. We are so pleased that you enjoyed some of the special in room amenities as well as the food and service in the restaurant. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brunswick
0.5 mi away
The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath
23.6 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
23.3 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,303 reviews
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 11 in Brunswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Daniel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Daniel

Property: The Daniel
Address: 10 Water St, Brunswick, ME 04011-1518 (Formerly Captain Daniel Stone Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Brunswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Brunswick
#1 Family Hotel in Brunswick
#4 Business Hotel in Brunswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Daniel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located steps from Maine Street and the stunning Bowdoin College campus in Brunswick, Maine, The Daniel is a historic building that was erected in 1819. Formerly known as The Captain Daniel Stone Inn, the hotel has been renovated and reimagined as Maine's newest curated lifestyle luxury hotel. Our guests are always treated to a stylish, luxurious home away from home. The hotel's Coast Bar + Bistro provides great food, drink and entertainment in a relaxed but engaging atmosphere. Come join us on your next trip to Maine! Happy hour offered every day and live music on Thursday and Fridays. Brunswick is a historic town located in mid-coast Maine just 10 minutes from Freeport and 25 minutes from Portland and the Jetport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your The Daniel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Daniel Stone Hotel Brunswick
Captain Daniel Stone Brunswick
The Daniel Brunswick, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing