We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant, clean, and friendly”
Review of The Daniel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Daniel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Brunswick
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pleasant, clean, and friendly”
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We stayed here to attend a friends wedding. Upon arrival we were treated to "change your life" cookies. We got a suite, which was very nice, enough room, and very clean. The restaurant was very good, with live music. The bathroom was also notable with shower and free standing footed tub. It was an easy walk into town, and very convenient. We were very pleased with our visit.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rmw87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    98
    15
    3
    7
See reviews for
88
192
14
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We had a great stay this July at the Captain Daniel Stone Inn. The rooms and inn are a nice blend of modern amenities with an historic charm feel. A full breakfast is served in the dining room. The inn is very easy to get to on foot from Brunswick's downtown.
The front desk staff went out of their way to accommodate our room request upon booking and when we arrived, they were extremely helpful in all regards. Deborah runs a great front desk and Holly, Andi and others were extremely helpful and friendly.
We understand the owners are renovating and restoring the historic part of the Inn - something we look forward to in the future. While they have a nice front lobby where one can sit, the only suggestion I would make is that they consider a small lounge or common room where someone might go to read or relax beyond their rooms.
A definite find and high recommendation for anyone staying in the mid-coast region of Maine!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelkate56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Fl
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

I will never not stay at this Inn when I am in Brunswick. Beautiful, classy, timeless. Front staff wonderful and friendly. Room was beautiful and comfy. They have turn down service. Breakfast was wonderful......

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OrlandoMomlovesbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Great resort and would stay there again. Every rooms gets turn down and are nicely appointed. Did not really encounter any staff nor was are check in amazing when it came to a service aspect. Regardless the hotel was on point.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MotleyRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine, USA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We stayed one night at this very good inn. We arrived just after check-in time and our room was ready. We had a nicely decorated room, although the dresser was a little banged up and the bathroom not as nicely appointed as the rest of the room. The bathtub/shower was small. The room has a pretty large fridge and a flat screen TV.

It is a great location, about a 5 minute walk from downtown Brunswick where there is plenty of dining and some shopping.

The Inn has a nice hot tub and sauna room that requires reservations, but once you have it reserved, it's all yours.

The Inn is near a busy road (US 1) but we heard no highway noise from our room.

The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. The room staff will do a night turndown if you want one.

There is a continental breakfast plus eggs and waffles made to order that is pretty good.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank USAMaineTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
124 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

This is a very nice inn with modern amenities, updated rooms and comfortable beds. Make sure to request a room away from the highway as it runs on one side of the hotel although the sound proofing was good. The best rooms face away from the highway. The continental breakfast included two delicious quiches as well as the usual other carbs. We would return if we get back to Brunswick.

Room Tip: Reserve a room on the street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuddyPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, CT.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

My husband and I just stayed at The Captain Daniel Stone Inn for an anniversary weekend celebration and much-needed getaway. We had a wonderful weekend and wished we could have stayed a little longer to enjoy the extremely comfortable room, fantastic food, and outstanding service. The hotel has recently undergone a major transformation and the high quality of construction and attention to detail can be seen throughout, providing the guest with many thoughtful amenities. We had Sunday Brunch at 10 Water Street, the hotel restaurant, and it was the best brunch we have ever been to. Our server, Katey (I hope I got that right) was so enthusiastic, attentive, and sweet and the dining room is a really elegant space. Since we did not have our two-year old with us over the weekend, we were able to linger for over an hour, and we thoroughly enjoyed the meal. The complimentary continental breakfast the next morning was also excellent. We would have tried the restaurant for dinner, too, but it was closed on Sunday night. The front desk staff were incredibly helpful, too, and the very kind and welcomg woman that checked us in (Holly, I think), gave us the perfect recommendation for dinner the following night and wanted to hear all about it when we got back. We hope to return one day soon!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julieafair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brunswick
0.5 mi away
The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath
23.6 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
23.3 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 11 in Brunswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Daniel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Daniel

Property: The Daniel
Address: 10 Water St, Brunswick, ME 04011-1518 (Formerly Captain Daniel Stone Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Brunswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Brunswick
#1 Family Hotel in Brunswick
#4 Business Hotel in Brunswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Daniel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located steps from Maine Street and the stunning Bowdoin College campus in Brunswick, Maine, The Daniel is a historic building that was erected in 1819. Formerly known as The Captain Daniel Stone Inn, the hotel has been renovated and reimagined as Maine's newest curated lifestyle luxury hotel. Our guests are always treated to a stylish, luxurious home away from home. The hotel's Coast Bar + Bistro provides great food, drink and entertainment in a relaxed but engaging atmosphere. Come join us on your next trip to Maine! Happy hour offered every day and live music on Thursday and Fridays. Brunswick is a historic town located in mid-coast Maine just 10 minutes from Freeport and 25 minutes from Portland and the Jetport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your The Daniel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain Daniel Stone Hotel Brunswick
Captain Daniel Stone Brunswick
The Daniel Brunswick, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing