We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Brunswick
Certificate of Excellence
m
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We were passing through to go to the Maine coast. We stayed at the Comfort Inn in Brunswick and was happy with everything. We were passing back through and decided to stay again at this hotel and would do it again. Clean, Nice Breakfast and comfy beds. They recommended good places to eat in town. Was happy with both places.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twinsdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
me025, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear twinsdesign,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at our Comfort Inn. We are happy that you chose to stay with us twice while traveling in Maine. Our front desk staff has a bit of experience with recommending places for dinner and we are very glad that you enjoyed our suggestions. We hope that if you return to Maine you will stay with us again, we would love to be a stopping point during your vacation. Enjoy the rest of your summer!

Jessie Allan
Manager of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    115
    44
    11
    7
See reviews for
90
111
13
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

You know its the little things that make a special stay, chocolates in the room, sounds like a nice breakfast..Cute and well kept Comfort Inn. Quite the nice surprise compared to the cookie cutter Comfort Inns..Stay here the staff is very friendly and its a beautiful Comfort Inn. I definitely will be back

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pearlchloedale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
me025, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Pearlchloedale,

Thank you for your kind words and taking the time to write a review of your stay. We are so happy that we offer the little things that made your stay special and enjoyable. The chocolates were our way of showing our appreciation for your membership in Choice Privileges. We pride ourselves on our “bed and breakfast” feel and try to offer guests a more unique and personal experience than generic hotels. Our staff enjoys conversing with guests and offering helpful hints for driving directions as well as recommendations for lunch and dinner. We again are very happy that you enjoyed your stay so thoroughly and we can't wait to see you when you return to Brunswick!

Jessie Allan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No. VA
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here two nights while visiting family. Not many choices here in Brunswick. Rooms are clean but tired. Small exercise room on site was nice to have. Breakfast sufficient, coffee weak. No complaints, no surprises. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tntcyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
me025, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear tntcyclist,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and while you seemed to be content with your visit, it is unfortunate that your stay was only adequate. We hope that all the staff that you encountered were courteous and professional. We are glad that you enjoyed the exercise room and found breakfast to be reasonable. We would like you to know that we are currently remodeling our rooms. We have 10 finished so far and more are being worked on every day. I think that if you were to stay again in one of the “new” rooms you would be impressed with the difference. Hopefully you will stay with us again when visiting family in Brunswick, we would love to make you next experience more memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkinton, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I traveled here in what must be the off-season and got a very good price. Normally when prices get as low as I paid (in the $80 range or lower) I start to get worried about the quality, but that's not the case here. The rooms I've stayed in are quite new, probably recently remodeled. I'll echo what other reviewers have said - I've stayed here twice and have had problems with the wifi, but that's my only complaint. Its close to a lot of things and off the highway, so its a great place to stay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank ohmaykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
me025, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear ohmaykay,

Thank you for your repeat business! We are very happy to hear that you were able to stay in one of newly remodeled rooms. Our maintenance staff has been working tirelessly on the renovations. We are sorry to hear that you had trouble with the wifi, but we are currently having our system evaluated to find the trouble spots and hopefully this will be resolved in a timely manner. You chose a great time of year to come, as you correctly mentioned are rates are lower in the off-season (November- May). We hope that the next time you are in the Brunswick area you will choose to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Great hassle-free experience; rooms were clean & quiet; Jessie went above and beyond to immediately correct a minor Wi-Fi access issue. Friendliest staff we've encountered in quite some time. Location is just off I295 and was convenient for our several trips to Bailey Island; some excellent restaurants on nearby Maine Street (Joshua's, Sea Dog).

Room Tip: Room 230 is an end unit facing the rear and was totally quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
me025, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Jim R,

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at our Comfort Inn. It is very nice to hear that the staff was so friendly and helpful. I will definitely tell all the staff about your review and encourage them to keep up the good work! We apologize for the internet issue, but are very happy that it was resolved in a timely manner. It seems that you are somewhat familiar with the area and we hope that it means you will stay with us again. We look forward to being your home base the next time you are in Brunswick, hopefully we can get you in the same room as you stayed in this time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gonic, NH
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The room in the location looked neat and clean and possibly recently redone. The bedding was clean and firm and I got a good night sleep.

There was a train track behind the building in the woods someplace. The only train that sounded it's whistle was about 8:20 PM. There was noise most of the night, which was unexpected. The earlier noise was children racing around the halls and up and down the stairs. They were quiet by 9 PM and that was not a big deal. The other noise was the constant rumble of traffic on Route 1. I had a room that faced the rear and side of the property facing the tree line above the brook. The sound must echo off the trees. I have been 200 feet from a major interstate with less noise. Possibly when the leaves are back on the trees the sound would be more muffled.

The other issues were with the technology and the bathroom. The wi-fi worked great when I first checked in, but once other guests were in their rooms the service was on and off and I had to switch to my air card to get work done. The two bathroom items were discovered when I went to brush my teeth and saw dried toothpaste and/or soap scum from a prior guest in the sink. The second item was a couple pieces of long dark hair on the shower faucet and tub edge.

The breakfast was standard fare. The coffee was tolerable. The juice was fine. The attendant was only putting 2-3 eggs and sausage patties in the pan at a time, and only after it was emptied by a prior guest. So there was no waste, but if a guest emptied the serving tray, then the next guest had to wait.

I would probably stay here again, because I can sleep through most noise and I have my own wireless services for places like this. It was the lowest priced room in it's category and this area can get very pricey for a hotel room from Memorial Day to Columbus Day.

Room Tip: There are only two floors and there is an elevator. Normally the rear of the building would be quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelinNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
me025, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Dear MichaelinNH,

We are sorry to hear that you were not pleased with all aspects of your stay, but we are glad that you were so detailed in your review. This is very helpful to us as we can try to make improvements based on your critique. While it is unfortunate that the noise from Route 1 was so noticeable from your room, I think your explanation regarding the lack of foliage was spot on. When you stay with us again we will try to place you in a room that is facing the parking lot and hopefully this will cut down on the noise.
The wi-fi can be very frustrating when not operating properly and we apologize that it was intermittent when you were here. We are very glad that you had an air card that allowed you to access the internet. We are currently working on that to resolve any issues from our upgrade.
We are very disappointed that the cleanliness of your room was not up to our usual standards. We have addressed the issue with housekeeping and they are going to be even more diligent in their cleaning process. Again thank you for being specific about the issue.
As far as your observations regarding breakfast, one possible explanation could be if you were in the breakfast room towards the end of operating hours when there were very few guests, then the attendant might have been trying to cut down on waste. However there is no excuse for making guests wait and we are currently looking into ways to avoid that scenario in the future
In short, thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our Comfort Inn, and for being very open and honest in your review. We thank you for feedback and hope that when you do stay with us again you will notice some resolution involving the issues you mentioned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberia, Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Just recently stayed here with my family, The lobby is great very inviting and the room was clean. The beds seemed short and my feet dangled off the end. The floor and walls seemed weak and made alot of noise as my son bounded around against our wishes. The Bed frames were bolted to the wall which seemed weird. The breakfast was typical of a small hotel, microwave eggs and bacon, The waffle maker was a plus but the coffee machine made perhaps the worst cup I have ever tasted. The staff were great though. If your looking for a place to sleep this is a great place.Shore up the flooring bring a more modern feel to the bathroom and maybe some nice wood bedframes would make it much better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puravidasteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
me025, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear puravidasteve,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, we appreciate your input. We are currently in the process of remodeling our rooms from the bathroom to the bed frames to the bedspreads and linens so your critique is quite timely. We hope that these renovations will exceed our guest's expectations. We hope that if you are in the area again we can show off our updated rooms to you and your family. Thank you for appreciating our breakfast, however if it unfortunate that you disliked the coffee so much. We switched to the automatic machine in order to provide super hot coffee all the time ( since it was very difficult to maintain hot coffee 24 hours per day in the carafes that we used to employ). Overall we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and our staff and look forward to hosting you again.

Thank you for your thoughts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brunswick
4.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath
0.6 mi away
Travelers Inn
Travelers Inn
#2 of 11 in Brunswick
238 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Brunswick Freeport
1.6 mi away
The Daniel
The Daniel
#1 of 11 in Brunswick
391 reviews
8.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#9 of 11 in Freeport
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 199 Pleasant St, Brunswick, ME 04011-2212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Brunswick
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Brunswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Comfort Inn, Brunswick we constantly strive to improve your "home-away-from-home" experience. In our opinion a hotel should be clean, it should be comfortable, and you should feel welcome. Your experience begins the moment you turn into our driveway and see a beautifully landscaped property. Walk into our newly renovated lobby and be greeted by a staff that prides itself on welcoming guests. When you are ready, make your way to your room where you will find a very cozy bed, and all of the amenities to make you feel at home. Trust that your room has not only been cleaned, but that it has passed our inspection process. Visit the front desk for recommendations not only for places to eat, but to visit as well. In the morning, after you have slept comfortably please enjoy our brand new hot breakfast. We are proud to serve you hot eggs and breakfast meats, make-your-own waffles, fresh fruit and other goodies! Remember, at the Comfort Inn, Brunswick comfort begins the moment you walk in our doors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Brunswick
Comfort Inn Brunswick, Maine
Brunswick Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing