We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overcharging leaves a bad taste”
Review of The Gelato Fiasco

The Gelato Fiasco
Ranked #1 of 5 Dessert in Brunswick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Description: Discover 40 flavors of gelato and sorbetto made fresh daily from a growing collection of more than 1,500 at Gelato Fiasco's Flagship Store. Try as many flavors as you wish and squeeze as many as you want into any dish. House-made waffle cones, take home freezer pints, pour-over coffee, espresso, and tea. Open 11 a.M. To 11 p.M. Every day.
Halifax, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
354 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“Overcharging leaves a bad taste”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We've been big fans of Gelato Fiasco for some time now, and visited regularly, but after our experience today we'll be looking elsewhere.
I asked the young lady to put a very small amount of vanilla ice cream in a separate bowl for my dog then put a reduced portion into a bowl for me, which she did. I then went to the register and she explained what she had done to the gentleman (Wayne?) who said that he would charge me for one and a half bowls but the final bill for one treat size ice cream shared across two bowls plus a (very average) cookie was almost $10!!! and no matter how we try to add things up we were overcharged by at least $1......

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 4states
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bobbygelato, Manager at The Gelato Fiasco, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hello, I'm sorry about our staff's confusion at the cash register that resulted in a larger-than-expected check total. Please email us at delicious@gelatofiasco.com. We'd like to discuss what went wrong. Thank you, Bobby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    431
    59
    9
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loudon, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
“My rating”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Loved the Gelato and the varieties of them. Friendly & helpful staff. Would definitely recommend this restaurant for anyone visiting Brunswick, ME

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank prestonlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

You have to try it! So many unique and delicious flavors! Get there before the "fall in bourbon county" runs out!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lyndsey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbia SC
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Try the dark chocolate ... it's unlike anything we've had, and we've sampled ice cream and gelato all over.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maryjudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Worth a detour. Treat yourself and friends.”
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

First introduced to Gelato Fiasco on a cold below freezing night in February 2013 by a friend treating us after dinner. I knew this place was particularly hip when I learned checking out that if the temp. is below a certain temperature (I can't remember whether it is exactly 32F or some other call of coldness), your Gelato purchase is discounted about 10%! Well then okay yes thank you! Returned to introduce family members in July and again a wonderful experience. Always different flavors and the staff are wonderfully friendly. Tasting options before you choose your order is great. Coffee and macchiato are delicious and perfect accompaniments. Atmosphere is fun and relaxed. A worthy detour any time of the year if you're heading up or down Midcoast Maine.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank integraltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gelato Fiasco also viewed

Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
 
Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
Harpswell, Mid Coast Maine
 
Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to The Gelato Fiasco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing