We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW! Real gelato, huge selection of flavors, awesome staff!”
Review of The Gelato Fiasco

The Gelato Fiasco
Ranked #1 of 5 Dessert in Brunswick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Description: Discover 40 flavors of gelato and sorbetto made fresh daily from a growing collection of more than 1,500 at Gelato Fiasco's Flagship Store. Try as many flavors as you wish and squeeze as many as you want into any dish. House-made waffle cones, take home freezer pints, pour-over coffee, espresso, and tea. Open 11 a.M. To 11 p.M. Every day.
New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“WOW! Real gelato, huge selection of flavors, awesome staff!”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

When you walk in the door you are greeted by friendly, smiling staff offering to let you taste any flavor you want, as many as you would like. We each tried a few before choosing, and I don't think you could go wrong with any of the flavors. This is real gelato, smooth and creamy and delicious! It's a bit expensive, but well worth it.

The one and only complaint I would possibly have is that all of the flavors we tried were so good it was hard to choose! Everything we tried was outstanding.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian_in_NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    431
    59
    9
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Gelato specialty. Fabulous like Italy. Comfy ambiance. Just Gelato.”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We've enjoyed Gelato Fiasco's offerings more times than I can count. Gelato as good as I remember from Italy. in fact, the owners travel regularly to Italy to add to their skills. It's a whole great story about the two young guys who started GF and how their gelato is now sold widely in stores across the region.

Many great flavors, with new ones appearing often. Very comfy place. Family friendly. Wifi. They serve coffee as well, though I hardly every see anyone buying anything but gelato.

They'll put one or more different flavors in your purchase. Just ask.

My fave: Caramel Sea Salt. Wow!

Here's a tip. Several sizes are available. A "treat" is smaller than a "small" and the "treat" is usually just the right serving size.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mango_kayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Mmmm!”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

So rich and delicious! We wish we lived closer. Very busy but the line moved quickly. I loved that there are board games for people to play while they sit and eat!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JoannaB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bath, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Soooo good!”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I always stop here when I'm in the area which is often as I live in Maine. The gelato here is amazing and the flavor selection can't be beat! The staff is very friendly and you can try before you buy! A must stop for locals and out of staters, don't miss out!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Silverwolf_505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fiasco? Fantastic!”
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

A great find here in Brunswick. Fresh and inventive flabors, great fresh coffee, free wifi, what else could you ask for? The Resurgum flavor is worth having for sure.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Drzengo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gelato Fiasco also viewed

Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
 
Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
Harpswell, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to The Gelato Fiasco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing