We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Well-Run Fairfield Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Brunswick Freeport
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Brunswick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2014

When attending sporting events at nearby Bowdoin College, we stay here twice a year and we were recently here again in March of 2014. The hotel is well managed, clean, convenient to the highway, town, and college. The breakfast is on time and well stocked and at least as good as, if not better, than most breakfasts at Fairfield Inns. If you're looking for a place that is within walking distance to the town of Brunswick and the college, this isn't it. If you want a quiet nights sleep when in the area, this is a good rest stop or place to stay when visiting Bowdoin. Not all Fairfield Inns are the same and this one ranks at the top of the chain. We'll be staying here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaineTravel50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meghan R, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Brunswick Freeport, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a FIVE BUBBLE REVIEW here on Tripadvisor! It’s so nice to hear that you consider us your hotel of choice when you are in the Brunswick area. We work very hard at providing our guests with the kind of experience that makes them come back time & time again, and it seems that we have succeeded with you! We appreciate you sharing your experience with the Tripadvisor community and we look forward to continuing to be your home away from home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
There are newer reviews for Fairfield Inn & Suites Brunswick Freeport
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 218 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2014

Had a great stay here for 4 nights during a college sports weekend. The staff were wonderful and helpful and the room we had was extremely comfortable. We had a suite with a jacuzzi bath. Plenty of space to move, unpack and a small refrigerator for perishables. Well cleaned and cleaning staff were very friendly. Something for everyone at breakfast. Only downside was the gym which despite cardio machines had very little space to yoga stretch and work with weights.

If you are driving there at night from the town drive slowly so as not to miss the turn crossing to the other side of the road.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andbrody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meghan R, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Brunswick Freeport, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind remarks and 5 BUBBLE REVIEW! It is always a pleasure to hear from our guests and how much they enjoyed our facilities! I’m sorry our work out room did not have enough space for you to do yoga- perhaps we can look into rearranging things to make the space more useful for all types of fitness activities. Again, thank you so much for your review, and we look forward to hosting you during your next visit to Brunswick!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

This hotel is located off of Interstate 95 midpoint between Brunswick and Freeport. The staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are a little small, but clean and well appointed. There is a nice swimming pool work out area. There is a good complimentary breakfast. Local newspapers are available, there are computers to use in the lobby, and a small shop for snacks and sundries.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craigking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meghan R, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Brunswick Freeport, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thank you for reviewing us here on Tripadvisor! I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay, and all of our amenities! We are looking forward to your next stay with us, and in the meantime, take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel for two nights on a recent trip to visit Bowdoin College. The hotel is tucked away a bit, but the location is surprisingly convenient. It is literally right off the highway. End of the ramp, take a right and you are there. If you take a left out of the parking lot you are headed straight towards downtown Brunswick and Bowdoin College. If you make a right turn out of the parking lot and drive 6-miles you run right into the premium outlet shops in Freeport (LL Bean, Abercrombie, J.Crew, etc.). Like every Fairfield Inn breakfast is included, but unlike most this hotel prepared real scrambled eggs (not powdered) in the morning. Our room had some minor issues (sink wouldn't drain, bedside lamp didn't work), but those issues were corrected very quickly. Overall the rooms were clean and well maintained. The front desk staff was efficient and provided assistance when needed, but could definitely work on their people skills. As a Marriott platinum member I used points for our stay, so I really cannot comment on the value for the price paid. However, I would stay again based on the convenient location.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank solidfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meghan R, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Brunswick Freeport, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thank you so much for putting a little time aside to leave us a review on TripAdvisor! It is great to hear that you had a good time and enjoyed what we offer our guests here at Fairfield Inn & Suites Brunswick/ Freeport. I apologize that the staff didn’t represent our brand the way that a Platinum Marriott Rewards Member expects. I will take this information and present it to them as an area we can improve. Thank you for pointing this out to me, as we take guest suggestions very seriously! Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed here recently for 5 nights and returned that same week for an extra night while travelling in Maine. This hotel offered an excellent staff that was so helpful in every aspect. Tho everyone was super ,we need to thank Crystal who was exceptional in attending to any of our needs from suggesting restaurants, printing directions to area spots and always in a professional and friendly manner. Our room was the standard size with a spacious bath. Jeff did a great job keeping it clean . The breakfast staff kept everything organized and well stocked.We would return whenever in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redfishFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meghan R, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Brunswick Freeport, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thank you for the FIVE BUBBLE review! I am so glad to hear that you will be returning due to the staff here! I have passed along your comments to Krystle & Jeff and they are so excited that you recognized them personally for their commitment to serve our guests! Thank you so much for taking the time to review the hotel & our staff & we look forward to your next visit with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I recently spent one night at the Fairfield Inn in Brunswick, Maine en-route to a shopping trip to Freeport. The Inn is rather hidden away and difficult to spot at night due to poor lighting. When we mentioned this to the front desk, they said they were working on lighting. A spotlight should be directed at the entrance sign BEFORE one drives by it. The parking lot was extremely dark as well and if I was alone, I would not have ventured out by myself in the evening. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room was welcoming and clean. The pool was nice to have, but it could have been a bit better heated. The hot tub was great, since the pool was too cold. The breakfast was delightful with many offerings. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling through Brunswick "if" and "when" they improve the night-time lighting.

Room Tip: Do not miss out on Libby's Deli when in this area.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donnafitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meghan R, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Brunswick Freeport, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us here on Tripadvisor! As you stated, we had some lights that were not functioning in our parking lot during your stay. I am pleased to let you know that the lights that were out have been replaced and our parking lot is fully lit again! I’m sorry that this made you feel uncomfortable while you were here. I would also like to thank you for mentioning how you enjoyed the room, hot tub & breakfast! We work very hard to delight all of our guests, so it is quite lovely when we receive kind comments such as yours! Thank you again & hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Dates of Stay: Sunday, September 15th - Monday, September 16th, 2013

Location: The Fairfield Inn & Suites Brunswick Freeport is approximately 28 miles NE of the Portland airport. It is conveniently located off I-295 and Hwy 1. However, it is easy to miss your turn onto Old Portland Road, and once you do, you will think you are in the wrong spot.

Value: As Marriott rewards members, we used one of our free night certificates, earned from Marriott's recent promo. Otherwise, our room would have been $179.00. What I love about Fairfield Inn's is that they offer complimentary parking, WiFi, and breakfast. All small expenses, that can really add up, especially for a long stay.

Room: We stayed in room 315, which had a partial wall dividing the sitting area & bed. The room featured two TVs and a Sony sound system compatible with iPhone & iPod. I especially liked the long bathroom counter, with ample room for two people to get ready at the same time. The shower had a Waterpik showerhead with plenty of water pressure. There was also plenty of light in the bathroom for putting on makeup, which is generally not the case in a most hotel rooms. However, the king size bed was centered in the sleeping area, which left very little walking room between the bed & the AC unit. This can be an issue, if you have to get up in the middle of the night.

Housekeeping: Upon arrival, the room was clean and in order. Since we were only there one night, I cannot attest to the daily housekeeping service.

Front Desk: We checked in around 8:45 pm on a Sunday evening. Check-in was quick & efficient. However, we were given a room directly across from the elevator, even though the hotel was no where near capacity. This is the second time this has happened on a free night certificate, and since it happened in two different states, I'm wondering if this is policy for free rewards nights.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OUTCRUISIN2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meghan R, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Brunswick Freeport, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thank you for taking time out of your day to give such a detailed review of us here in Tripadvisor! I am glad that we were able to provide you with what you needed in a hotel to make your stay a great one! I would like to let you know that it is not our policy to put our rewards members staying on points anywhere in particular within the hotel. It is only a coincidence that this happened to you at two separate locations. We only have a certain number of suites in the hotel, and even if we aren’t busy, the suites are usually the first rooms to sell out. So even though we weren’t full, that may have been the only suite available on your date of arrival. I would suggest making a note in your Marriott Rewards Profile that you prefer rooms away from the elevator, or ice machines etc. This will provide each Marriott hotel with the proper tools to help you get the perfect room for you, every time! Thank you again for staying with us & we look forward to your next visit to Maine!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brunswick
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 11 in Brunswick
293 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern
4.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Daniel
The Daniel
#1 of 11 in Brunswick
414 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelers Inn
Travelers Inn
#3 of 11 in Brunswick
250 reviews
8.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Freeport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Brunswick Freeport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Brunswick Freeport

Address: 36 Old Portland Rd, Brunswick, ME 04011-7201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Brunswick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Brunswick
#3 Romantic Hotel in Brunswick
Price Range: $129 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Brunswick Freeport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only minutes north of downtown Freeport, just south of Bath Iron Works, and only 3 miles from Bowdoin College, you will not find a more convenient or friendly host than the newly-renovated Fairfield Inn and Suites Brunswick Freeport! Whether you are shopping at one of over 100 outlet stores in Freeport or visiting a corporate client in Brunswick or Bath, we have everything you need to enjoy a vacation or stay productive while on the road. Explore the sandy beaches of Popham Beach and Reid State Parks; visit historic downtown Brunswick's boutique shops; enjoy fresh maine seafood and lobster at a variety of local restaurants; or take in the scenic views of the nearby Maine coastline. Nearby, you'll also find the Brunswick Executive Airport, General Dynamics, Owens Corning, Midcoast Hospital, and Parkview Hospital. Enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast daily, featuring scrambled eggs and sausage. An indoor, heating swimming pool & hot tub are open year-round, as well as our 24-hour fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Brunswick Freeport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Portland Brunswick Hotel Brunswick
Fairfield Inn And Suites Portland Brunswick
Fairfield Inn Brunswick
Fairfield Brunswick
Brunswick Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn & Suites Brunswick Freeport Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing