We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unremarkable Room, Wireless Internet Problems”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Brunswick Freeport
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Brunswick
Certificate of Excellence
Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
137 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Unremarkable Room, Wireless Internet Problems”
Reviewed November 2, 2011

The room was typical for Fairfield's, fairly small and cramped. Clean with a comfortable bed. I wasn't bothered by any noise inside or out. As a Marriott Gold it would have been nice to have been upgraded considering that the hotel was virtually empty.

There was a minifridge in the room which was nice.

Staff was pleasant enough, the breakfast area lady was very nice and kept the area clean and well stocked.

My only complaint is that the wireless was terrible. It would take forever just to get connected, and then the connection would drop after 25 seconds. I couldn't get the work that I needed to get done finished. If they can't support wireless, then they should just do wired with LAN cables. It was truly aggravating, and because I need to get work done in the evening, it would keep me from returning until the problem was resolved.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovescabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meghan R, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Brunswick Freeport, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback because it helps us improve.

We are glad that your room was clean, comfortable & quiet! Thank you for your kind words about our breakfast staff as well! I will be sharing your comments with our breakfast team as an example of a job well done.

I apologize that you were unable to connect successfully to our wireless internet. I am pleased to let you know that due to the feedback we have received from guests like yourself, we are in the process of upgrading to a much faster, more reliable internet service. This upgrade is scheduled to be completed next week. Our new service will still offer both a wireless and a wired connection option and we will continue to provide cables to those guests who prefer the wired connection.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to serving you the next time you are in the Brunswick, Maine area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    91
    22
    3
    3
See reviews for
66
60
12
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

OK hotel. Clean, decent size. We did not hear the road noise others commented about. The staff is friendly. The hotel is out of the way and tricky to get to because it is on a divided highway. A little pricey considering there is nothing around the hotel. It is a few miles from the college and downtown. We were only passing through so this was not a concern.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fridame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meghan R, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Brunswick Freeport, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you so much for your review! Dependable is a great word to describe us! You will always know what you are going to get at our Fairfield Inn & Suites; a clean fresh room, friendly staff, complimentary breakfast & prompt responses to any needs you have during your stay. We are also only 7 miles from downtown Freeport outlet shopping, and only 30 minutes from many beaches and state parks! We hope you will come back and visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

My family and I stayed here for a night. We put our 2.5 year old on the pull out couch and we all slept great. However, the hotel is right next to the highway and I could hear the large 18 wheeler trucks passing by in the middle of the night.
We used the pool in the morning and liked the fact there was a public restroom inside the pool area.
This place is a great pit stop if you are looking for a night or two stop. Also, it's right on Rt 1, so the next morning we drove about 15 minutes south and stopped in Freeport for the afternoon.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarajn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meghan R, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Brunswick Freeport, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for reviewing us on Tripadvisor! Another great thing about our pool is that it is open 24 hours for adults! We hope we can provide you with a place to stay anytime you are in Brunswick, ME!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Shores, AL
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

In the middle of a two week stay for business. Hotel seems to be having issues with the cable television company and currently only has about 15 channels available, none of which are very good. No ESPN, which is a deal breaker for me on a long term stay. The front desk either doesn't know what the issue is or just won't tell me. One FD clerk says it is a "dispute with Mediacom" and another says "Mediacom is changing their lineup". A short stay wouldn't be a problem, but I have over 40 room nights coming up in the next two months and this place is going to lose them.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dd992emo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMbrunswick, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Brunswick Freeport, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
I am very sorry we did not have the channels you were looking for during your stay with us. I assure you that it was only temporary outage out of our control as Comcast updates their system to improve the quality of their services.
Please call me personally at 207 721 0300 to discuss your next reservation.
Thanks,
Gordon Clark, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Stayed with a friend here for our Bowdoin Reunion. Clean, nice size rooms, complimentary breakfast, but nothing special. A drive to campus and town. Would have preferred to stay within walking distance of the shops of Brunswick and the beautiful Bowdoin Campus, or out on the water.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winecountryfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meghan R, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Brunswick Freeport, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you for reviewing us on Tripadvisor! I also wish we were located on the beach, but unfortunately we cannot change our location. We are a great central location for travelers who want to see many parts of Maine because we are only minutes from 150 outlet stores in Freeport, within a few hours of Acadia National Park, Popham Beach State Park, Reid State Park, Bradbury Mountain State Park, Portland, Boothbay Harbor, Bar Harbor and many more places! We also provide directions to all of these places to make it as easy as possible for our guests to enjoy the great State-O-Maine!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
64 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

The breakfast is generous and the staff is very helpful. The bed is comfortable and the rooms are quiet. Clean carpets, hot shower and plenty of ammenities are available.
It is about 10 minutes to Freeport outlets and is only a minute from restaurants.

I highly recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jackgriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meghan R, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Brunswick Freeport, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
WOW! 5 Bubble review!! THANK YOU!!! We appreciate your kind words about our hotel & hope that you will visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, UT
Level Contributor
543 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 465 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2011

A short distance from Freeport, fairly new and very nice. Large rooms, quiet heat, good lighting, nice breakfast. After staying at Twilite Motel in Ellsworth (a mom and pop) and being disappointed, my husband didn't want to "chance" another one. It was "off season" and the weather was cold and rainy, so there were very few tourists in the area. We picked up a "Roomer Saver" magazine at the tourist information center and the Fairfield had a coupon in it so we got a really good rate - $69 plus tax. This is a very nice place to stay. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saxeygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meghan R, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Brunswick Freeport, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Thank you SO MUCH for the 5 bubble review!! The roomsaver coupon is not available all the time, but when it is, it is a GREAT deal! It is based on availability when you walkin the door, without a reservation, so for anyone who likes taking chances, it is a fabulous money saver! I am so glad you took a chance on us, and that you were pleased with what we have to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brunswick
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 11 in Brunswick
272 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Daniel
The Daniel
#1 of 11 in Brunswick
383 reviews
4.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern
1.0 mi away
Travelers Inn
Travelers Inn
#3 of 11 in Brunswick
233 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Brunswick Freeport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Brunswick Freeport

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Brunswick Freeport
Address: 36 Old Portland Rd, Brunswick, ME 04011-7201
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Brunswick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Brunswick
#3 Romantic Hotel in Brunswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Brunswick Freeport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only minutes north of downtown Freeport, just south of Bath Iron Works, and only 3 miles from Bowdoin College, you will not find a more convenient or friendly host than the newly-renovated Fairfield Inn and Suites Brunswick Freeport! Whether you are shopping at one of over 100 outlet stores in Freeport or visiting a corporate client in Brunswick or Bath, we have everything you need to enjoy a vacation or stay productive while on the road. Explore the sandy beaches of Popham Beach and Reid State Parks; visit historic downtown Brunswick's boutique shops; enjoy fresh maine seafood and lobster at a variety of local restaurants; or take in the scenic views of the nearby Maine coastline. Nearby, you'll also find the Brunswick Executive Airport, General Dynamics, Owens Corning, Midcoast Hospital, and Parkview Hospital. Enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast daily, featuring scrambled eggs and sausage. An indoor, heating swimming pool & hot tub are open year-round, as well as our 24-hour fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Brunswick Freeport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Portland Brunswick Hotel Brunswick
Fairfield Inn And Suites Portland Brunswick
Fairfield Inn Brunswick
Fairfield Brunswick
Brunswick Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn & Suites Brunswick Freeport Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing