We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service & fish special!”

Joshua's Restaurant & Tavern
Ranked #16 of 106 Restaurants in Brunswick
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great service & fish special!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stopped into Joshua's on my first night in Brunswick because I asked my hotel where the locals like to dine. I sat at the bar and ordered one of the fresh fish specials. I The co-owner at the bar was sweet and the guys who made conversation with me were friendly. The fish and the company were great. I felt most welcome to Brunswick!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank TXDelta3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    58
    34
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Maine
Level Contributor
298 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“good, just not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Food was good, service was good, a bit loud the night we went. A bit on the high side.

There were 4 of us and nobody's meal was great, but nobody's was horrible.

I would give them another try should I be in the area.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank slalemand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sabattus
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

I dont know what that othe reviewer is talking about. Joshua's has been renovated and is one of our favorite places to go. The menu offers alot of diff choices from sandwhiches...awesome burgers to fresh seafood. The freshly paited dinning room is refreshing and we love the new nostalgic pictures. The drinks are fantastic served by some of the nicest people. The wait staff is personable and are quick with service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jennifer h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Islands, Washington
Level Contributor
329 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Chamberlain would turn over in his grave”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Even daring to use Joshua Lawrence Chamberlain's name is an outrage. This greasy spoon with overtones of a gin mill is plastered with pictures and copies of Chamberlain events, trying to make use of a name that vaulted back into prominence with the landing of the movie "Gettysburg" which, by the way, premiered in Brunswick. Greasy food in a place that needs some serious spiffing as well as a name change would be in order.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeandSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Yummy seafood chowder”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

An excellent soup! This restaurant is a tavern on the first floor and the more formal dining area upstairs is only open in season.
We enjoyed the crab cakes as well, but the best meal we had here was the seafood chowder!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank globalkeepers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joshua's Restaurant & Tavern also viewed

Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
 
Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Joshua's Restaurant & Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing