We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't be afraid to ask questions about the wines under $10” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tess Market

Tess Market
Ranked #47 of 106 Restaurants in Brunswick
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Bowdoinham, Maine
Level Contributor
124 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Don't be afraid to ask questions about the wines under $10”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

There's a great selection of them and you'll get the low down on the best. Haven't had the pizza yet but it sure smells good. Oh, and they have more expensive wines, too, for those special occasions. How they pack so much experience and good wine into such a small space remains a mystery (that I'm not particularly interested in solving!)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank RCE0910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    4
    2
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brunswick, Maine
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“cheap”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Tess Market is an old take out pizza and sandwich hole in the wall; pretty disappointing, I'm sorry to say, but I'm just telling it like it is. It is uncomfortably small and so crammed with low end junk that I was afraid I'd knock over some 2 dollar wine on my way out.NOT the great wine selection people have said it has, unless you're talking cheap.The beer selection is slightly more interesting, but nothing to make me want to go back.I've had the subs and pizza which are average for this type of place, and appears to be what keeps them going, but not inspiring, especially considering what else is available locally.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Saint_Eve_Mcqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowdoinham, Maine
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

Great wine selection, Ann knows everything about all of it. Yummy pizza, good (cheap) subs. Love it!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rache_pie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowdoinham, Maine, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible Pizza. Lots of wine, but the pizza review on this site are wrong.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

The pizza is terrible. I have no idea why anybody would say they have good pizza. Our pizza was not burnt or anything, but the ingredients are vey sub par. You can tell the sauce is just paste and the cheese is junk with some froze crust. I am very disapointed with this site and its reviews. It is getting a 2 because they where very nice, but the pizza was a complete waste of money!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Walter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Maine
Level Contributor
203 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Really great Italians, looks like an incredible wine selection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

We biked there for lunch today, and shared a $4.50 salami and pepperoni Italian. I have not had better. Nice fresh soft bread, lots of crisp green pepper. Could have used a little more oil, but I'll remember to ask for that next time. One of the impressive things that we'll have to look more closely at next time was the wine selection, and a very helpful lady who appeared to be in charge and extremely knowledgeable. They do NOT have tables, so everything is take-out, but there is a pretty little park right next door with benches where you can sit on a nice day.
Another plus: they take credit cards even for small purchases.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ooonor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tess Market also viewed

Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
 
Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Tess Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing