We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Brunswick
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Durham, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Place”
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We held our wedding and reception here recently in the Robinson Room. It was a perfect day, exactly what my new husband and I were expecting. The food was excellent, the service lead by Lisa was excellent. We could not have asked for a better day. The entire staff truly worked with us to make sure that everything was perfect and went smoothly. We also had the pleasure of staying in a room for the night after the wedding, and we were so happy with it. The room was very clean, and the bed was comfortable. We would recommend the Inn to anyone looking for an experience they will truly be satisfied with. - Chris & Tammi C.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tammi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innatbrunswick, General Manager at The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Chris & Tammi, We appreciate the opportunity that we had to interact with you and your family on such a joyous occasion. We know how special it is; and our staff is here to make this a perfect day for you. We look forward to your future anniversaries and other celebrations. Thank you for choosing The Brunswick Hotel & Tavern. Rick Martin - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    110
    27
    9
    5
See reviews for
90
114
10
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, New Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed March 31, 2014

The Inn has an inviting feel upon walking through the mahogany front doors. The reception at check-in was friendly and fast. My room at check-in was immaculate and the gentleman that refreshed it for us the next day was very thorough and accomodating. The food in the restaraunt was appealing and the prices fairly decent as well. Overall a very nice and homey feeling.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innatbrunswick, General Manager at The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
We are very lucky to have such a friendly team. I am glad they made you feel as though you were home. Please know that you always have an invitation to visit your extended family. Thanks for choosing to stay with us.
Rick Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Good clean hotel with very helpful staff. Location with access to town and Bowdoin college is far superior than any other spot in town. Located across the street from campus it is the only hotel walkable to campus.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMcK20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innatbrunswick, General Manager at The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
We too feel that we are the Best place to stay as we have a fantastic team in a great location.
Thanks for sharing your thoughts. We look forward to your return visit.
Rick Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Deerfield, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We spent two nights using a TravelZoo coupon during mid-week. We were assigned a very large room with a king size bed and a scenic view of the downtown. Even though --a winter storm blew through (Vulcan) we had a most restful and enjoyable time. We have traveled the world and the staff was among the most friendly and helpful that we have ever encountered. Particular kudos to Kris at the front desk and Madeline in the Tavern Restaurant. The fare in the Tavern was diverse but leaned towards seafood--the crab cakes were to die for. The location right next to Bowdoin College was a real plus. A very splendid stay at a great price with our coupons which included free breakfasts and a discount towards the dinner tab.

Room Tip: Room 314 is a sure spacious winner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joe d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innatbrunswick, General Manager at The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for mentioning Kris and Madeline, they are superstars! I am pleased that you had an opportunity to stay in and experience the service that we are so accustomed to providing our guests. We have seen our share of Polar Vortexes this year. Fall is another beautiful time to visit the region. We hope to see you return soon.
Happy Travels,
Rick Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed here while visiting Bowdoin college. The room was comfortable and had some modern touches, like the TV. The location was very convenient and the staff was very nice. I'd stay here again if our travels take us back to Brunswick

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathymommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innatbrunswick, General Manager at The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
We are the ideal location when visiting Bowdoin College. We feel we have both a great location and good value. Thanks for commenting, and we hope that we have earned your business over the next four years.
Rick Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

My husband booked this room as a treat for my birthday. We arrived at 6 p.m., checked in, and went to our room, only to discover that the bed had not been made and looked like someone had just slept in it. We left our bags, went back down to the desk and explained the situation. The clerk at the front desk looked at us like she did not believe us, but did call the housekeeper to go up and make the bed. We told her we would wait in the bar until the room was ready, hoping someone would come to get us, since we had a dinner reservation in an hour.
No one came, so after about 20 minutes we went back to the front desk. They called up to the room, and found that it was ready. All looked good, but we were a bit disappointed that no one really apologized or offered any sort of compensation for the problem.
In any event, the room (once the bed was made) was very nice, comfortable, and clean.
My husband had purchased the breakfast package, so we decided to have brunch in the tavern the next morning. There were only two waitresses working, so we waited several minutes before anyone offered us coffee, juice, water, or anything. Although our waitress was very sweet, she was definitely overworked. There were several tables with dirty dishes all around us, no coffee cups (a conference next door had used all of the cups so all they had were paper go cups), and a long wait till we got any coffee or juice.
All in all, although the Inn is very pretty, clean, and has good intentions, they need more staff and better oversight. I worked in the hospitality industry for several years, and can understand when issues arise..... But there should always be some recognition of the issue and perhaps an apology to the customer for inconvenience. That did not happen here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amwtlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innatbrunswick, General Manager at The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
I am deeply saddened to hear that we failed to meet even the basic of expectations during your stay. The error in the "ready" status of your room has redundancies that clearly did not work in this situation. These keep a room that has not yet been inspected from being utilized. I would also like to apologize for the lack of follow up while you waited in the Tavern, as well as the delay at breakfast. I will be discussing the lack of recognition with our team, as well as the supervisor whom you spoke with upon departure who did not offer any acceptable resolution. As you see from our many reviews, this is not the level of service we strive to provide. I do hope that you have an opportunity to return and experience the service that we are accustomed to.
Warm Regards,
Rick Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

This "inn" is just like a Marriott motel. It has no character whatsoever. Marriott's are not all bad, of course, and like them this place is clean, neat, and functional. But it is painfully bland--entirely beige decor, Muzak in the lobby, nothing that makes it unlike any other corporate chain hotel. There were a few other things that bothered me, as well: television playing too loudly to ignore in the dining room whenever I ate there, and wifi very weak, at least on the 3rd floor, so that you constantly had to reconnect, and but for me most of all it was just the anonymity of it. Why come to Maine, a place with great history and character, and stay in a place that could be Anywhere, USA? You can do better.

Room Tip: Wifi on 3rd floor was terrible--might be better others. Seems to have views of parking lots and wid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank utilitarianatlarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innatbrunswick, General Manager at The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
We are located right in the heart of downtown Brunswick and our room views are in fact limited. I am happy you noticed how clean and neat that the Inn is kept. I am sorry that the décor does not meet your standards. We have many guests who stay with us because we epitomize the quintessential take on a classic New England Inn.
Warm Regards,
Rick Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brunswick
0.5 mi away
The Daniel
The Daniel
#1 of 11 in Brunswick
403 reviews
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 11 in Brunswick
285 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Brunswick Freeport
1.0 mi away
Travelers Inn
Travelers Inn
#3 of 11 in Brunswick
246 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Bath Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern

Property: The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern
Address: 4 Noble St, Brunswick, ME 04011-2410 (Formerly The Inn at Brunswick Station)
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Brunswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Brunswick
#2 Family Hotel in Brunswick
#2 Romantic Hotel in Brunswick
#3 Business Hotel in Brunswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly adjacent to Bowdoin College and steps away from the lively downtown, The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern perfectly positions guests to take advantage of all this college town and the state's picturesque Mid-Coast region have to offer. Handsomely appointed guest rooms feature a mix of heavenly king and queen beds, spacious workstations and sleekly stylish baths. Flat screen televisions, complimentary internet access and in-room coffee add to the comfort and enjoyment. Connecting rooms are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Brunswick Station Hotel Brunswick
The Brunswick Hotel And Tavern Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing