We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't believe the guarantee” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Brunswick
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Shaker Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Don't believe the guarantee”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Despite having booked and prepaid for two guaranteed rooms months in advance ("all reservations are guaranteed with a deposit of 100%...") the desk clerk told us at our 6pm arrival that they could not provide us lodging. Other guests had held over. The desk staff knew since noon that day that they had a problem, yet they made no effort to call my cellphone or email me, thus cutting off all of our opportunity to make other plans. We had no choice but to accept the gratis rooms at the Hampton Inn in Bath and spoke to the manager the next day to let him know that the failure to communicate for six hours was unforgivable. He was apologetic and stated it would be a good teachable case study for his staff...but where was his common sense on the day we needed it?

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Lady_Alka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innatbrunswick, General Manager at The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
It is extremely unfortunate to be in a situation that results in the need to relocate our guests. I do understand that the King Suite offered upon your arrival failed to meet your needs. It is often difficult to know the intentions of guests that do not depart at the 12 noon checkout time. Additionally, with the potential for last minute cancellations, the front desk was hoping for one, and therefore failed to contact you prior to your arrival. We did discuss this as a team; and while we hope not to be in this situation again, we will make every attempt possible to contact our guests prior to arrival if we do.
Best Regards
Rick Martin - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    97
    26
    6
    5
See reviews for
77
107
7
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, New Brunswick
Level Contributor
99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

My wife and I had a delightful 2 night stay at The Inn at Brunswick Station. Super friendly welcoming staff. Our room was very spacious, almost too big. The bathroom and amenities were upscale. Nice large screen HDTV with actual HD programming. More hotel/motels should do the same.
The property has been newly renovated. It is clean and comfortable. Attractive lobby. The Tavern is the on location restaurant. Had both breakfast and dinner with no complaints. The Tavern has a bar. Beware of the cocktail prices. A couple of 2oz scotch was almost as much as the meal.
Overall, I would reccommed this lodging if you are in Southern Maine.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Canam778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amesbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

The staff at the Inn were very friendly and helpful with helping us find different locations that we wanted to visit. The room was very clean and comfortable. We were right off the train station and we couldn't believe how quiet it was at night.
The Tavern in the Inn had a tasty menu and a nice variety of wine. All the wait staff was very friendly and accommodating as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iclemeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

I had purchased a Groupon for the Inn at Brunswick Station. I made a reservation with the Inn several weeks in advance and talked to the clerk who assured me of the specific type room we would have. Obviously, there was a room available for us as of that time. I also received a written confirmation. My sole purpose and reason for the trip was to stay at the Inn. When we arrived (early in the day, well before check-in time), we were told that unfortunately they had overbooked. Instead, we would be staying elsewhere, a motel nine miles away in Bath. After I expressed my displeasure with how we had been treated, I was offered a complimentary dinner at their tavern. I wonder what would have happened if we had arrived by train without a car. How would we have been able to get to the alternate lodgings? In all, I thought we not treated with the degree of consideration we should have been. I got an evasive answer when I asked if they had known of the situation in advance and if the lack of accommodations for us was due to our reservation being a Groupon.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank LWG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innatbrunswick, General Manager at The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
We value the relationship we make with all of our guests regardless of the method of booking and appreciate your choosing to stay with us. Unfortunately, due to multiple circumstances, we found ourselves in a position where we could not accommodate your room. This was a rare occasion and our first time needing to relocate a potential guest. We make all efforts to honor our guest’s accommodations and special requests at the time of booking. Please accept my apologies for failing to do so during this visit, and we hope to see you back to redeem your package.

Rick Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed at the Inn at Brunswick Station for four nights for a June 15th wedding. We hosted the after party in the bar and the sandwiches, chicken bites, fruit and cheese plate were awesome. A place to relax and unwind with some if the wedding guests --- and to watch the rest of the Bruins game.

The staff starting with Brandon and the front desk...can't say enough.

We also had our farewell brunch on Sunday in the Robinson room. Everything was delish including an awesome omelet station.

Would definitely host another event here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boncharle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innatbrunswick, Director of Sales at The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Hi Boncharle,

Thanks so much for your wonderful review of the Inn. We were so pleased to welcome your guests during such a special occasion! We look forward to welcoming you back to Brunswick and the Inn soon.

Regards,
Brandon Hussey
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We had high expectations for this little gem of a hotel and we were definitely NOT disappointed. Our room, overlooking the upper end of Main Street, was perfectly appointed and allowed for a wonderful R&R weekend. Breakfasts in the morning (thank you for the papers and early morning coffee in the lobby) were outstanding and the browsing in the shops along the Main Street was great fun. We loved walking through the Bowdoin College Campus and thoroughly enjoyed a production at the Maine State Music Theater (across the street). Our evening dining experiences were at Tao and Trattoria Athena----both outstanding. We WILL return!

Green Features: Absolutely LOVE when hotels have policies in place to recycle paper and plastics and ask about the changing of linens and towels.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rhetthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innatbrunswick, Director of Sales at The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Hi Rhetthouse,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review of the Inn and our gorgeous location in Brunswick Maine! It sounds as though you experienced some of the real staples in our community. We hope to welcome you back so you can explore even more! Maine State Music Theatre is such a great experience and we now have packages that feature two tickets to the show and an overnight! Hopefully we will see you soon.

Regards,
Brandon Hussey
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We really scored big time when we chose this beautiful inn from a TravelZoo email deal back in the winter! We drove in late on Friday night in heavy rain, and were greeted with smiles at the front desk. We were urged to just go settle in and bring our travel voucher # down in the morning - very nice not to need to dig through our bags after a long drive.

The room was beautiful - I fell in love with the comforter and bed in general! We've stayed in places where the A/C keeps us up all night making noise, but we slept soundly and comfortably. A little odd that there was no fan in the bathroom, however.

The food at the Tavern was delicious - not to mention that it was included in our package. Blueberry pancakes and omelettes come recommended from us!

We will certainly recommend The Inn to others!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoannaB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brunswick
0.5 mi away
The Daniel
The Daniel
#1 of 11 in Brunswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 11 in Brunswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Brunswick Freeport
7.7 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#2 of 11 in Freeport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
1.0 mi away
Travelers Inn
Travelers Inn
#3 of 11 in Brunswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern

Property: The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern
Address: 4 Noble St, Brunswick, ME 04011-2410 (Formerly The Inn at Brunswick Station)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Brunswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Brunswick
#2 Family Hotel in Brunswick
#2 Romantic Hotel in Brunswick
#3 Business Hotel in Brunswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly adjacent to Bowdoin College and steps away from the lively downtown, The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern perfectly positions guests to take advantage of all this college town and the state's picturesque Mid-Coast region have to offer. Handsomely appointed guest rooms feature a mix of heavenly king and queen beds, spacious workstations and sleekly stylish baths. Flat screen televisions, complimentary internet access and in-room coffee add to the comfort and enjoyment. Connecting rooms are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Brunswick Station Hotel Brunswick
The Brunswick Hotel And Tavern Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing