We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Choice In Brunswick”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Brunswick
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My wife and I had a delightful 2 night stay at The Inn at Brunswick Station. Super friendly welcoming staff. Our room was very spacious, almost too big. The bathroom and amenities were upscale. Nice large screen HDTV with actual HD programming. More hotel/motels should do the same.
The property has been newly renovated. It is clean and comfortable. Attractive lobby. The Tavern is the on location restaurant. Had both breakfast and dinner with no complaints. The Tavern has a bar. Beware of the cocktail prices. A couple of 2oz scotch was almost as much as the meal.
Overall, I would reccommed this lodging if you are in Southern Maine.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canam778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (322)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 322 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

The staff at the Inn were very friendly and helpful with helping us find different locations that we wanted to visit. The room was very clean and comfortable. We were right off the train station and we couldn't believe how quiet it was at night.
The Tavern in the Inn had a tasty menu and a nice variety of wine. All the wait staff was very friendly and accommodating as well.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iclemeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I had purchased a Groupon for the Inn at Brunswick Station. I made a reservation with the Inn several weeks in advance and talked to the clerk who assured me of the specific type room we would have. Obviously, there was a room available for us as of that time. I also received a written confirmation. My sole purpose and reason for the trip was to stay at the Inn. When we arrived (early in the day, well before check-in time), we were told that unfortunately they had overbooked. Instead, we would be staying elsewhere, a motel nine miles away in Bath. After I expressed my displeasure with how we had been treated, I was offered a complimentary dinner at their tavern. I wonder what would have happened if we had arrived by train without a car. How would we have been able to get to the alternate lodgings? In all, I thought we not treated with the degree of consideration we should have been. I got an evasive answer when I asked if they had known of the situation in advance and if the lack of accommodations for us was due to our reservation being a Groupon.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank LWG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innatbrunswick, General Manager at The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

We value the relationship we make with all of our guests regardless of the method of booking and appreciate your choosing to stay with us. Unfortunately, due to multiple circumstances, we found ourselves in a position where we could not accommodate your room. This was a rare occasion and our first time needing to relocate a potential guest. We make all efforts to honor our guest’s accommodations and special requests at the time of booking. Please accept my apologies for failing to do so during this visit, and we hope to see you back to redeem your package.

Rick Martin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed at the Inn at Brunswick Station for four nights for a June 15th wedding. We hosted the after party in the bar and the sandwiches, chicken bites, fruit and cheese plate were awesome. A place to relax and unwind with some if the wedding guests --- and to watch the rest of the Bruins game.

The staff starting with Brandon and the front desk...can't say enough.

We also had our farewell brunch on Sunday in the Robinson room. Everything was delish including an awesome omelet station.

Would definitely host another event here.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boncharle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innatbrunswick, Director of Sales at The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Hi Boncharle,

Thanks so much for your wonderful review of the Inn. We were so pleased to welcome your guests during such a special occasion! We look forward to welcoming you back to Brunswick and the Inn soon.

Regards,
Brandon Hussey
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We had high expectations for this little gem of a hotel and we were definitely NOT disappointed. Our room, overlooking the upper end of Main Street, was perfectly appointed and allowed for a wonderful R&R weekend. Breakfasts in the morning (thank you for the papers and early morning coffee in the lobby) were outstanding and the browsing in the shops along the Main Street was great fun. We loved walking through the Bowdoin College Campus and thoroughly enjoyed a production at the Maine State Music Theater (across the street). Our evening dining experiences were at Tao and Trattoria Athena----both outstanding. We WILL return!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhetthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innatbrunswick, Director of Sales at The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Hi Rhetthouse,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review of the Inn and our gorgeous location in Brunswick Maine! It sounds as though you experienced some of the real staples in our community. We hope to welcome you back so you can explore even more! Maine State Music Theatre is such a great experience and we now have packages that feature two tickets to the show and an overnight! Hopefully we will see you soon.

Regards,
Brandon Hussey
Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We really scored big time when we chose this beautiful inn from a TravelZoo email deal back in the winter! We drove in late on Friday night in heavy rain, and were greeted with smiles at the front desk. We were urged to just go settle in and bring our travel voucher # down in the morning - very nice not to need to dig through our bags after a long drive.

The room was beautiful - I fell in love with the comforter and bed in general! We've stayed in places where the A/C keeps us up all night making noise, but we slept soundly and comfortably. A little odd that there was no fan in the bathroom, however.

The food at the Tavern was delicious - not to mention that it was included in our package. Blueberry pancakes and omelettes come recommended from us!

We will certainly recommend The Inn to others!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoannaB123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

For our first visit in Maine we couldn't found a nicer place. The hotel is brand new it is located downtown. The service was very friendly and rooms clean and comfortable and meals 1st quality. We used a travelzoo voucher that included many extras. It made our séjour very agreable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lesaint57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brunswick
0.5 mi away
The Daniel
The Daniel
#1 of 11 in Brunswick
433 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 11 in Brunswick
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Brunswick Freeport
1 mi away
Travelers Inn
Travelers Inn
#2 of 11 in Brunswick
262 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Bath Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern

Address: 4 Noble St, Brunswick, ME 04011-2410 (Formerly The Inn at Brunswick Station)
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Brunswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Brunswick
#2 Romantic Hotel in Brunswick
#3 Business Hotel in Brunswick
Price Range: $137 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly adjacent to Bowdoin College and steps away from the lively downtown, The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern perfectly positions guests to take advantage of all this college town and the state's picturesque Mid-Coast region have to offer. Handsomely appointed guest rooms feature a mix of heavenly king and queen beds, spacious workstations and sleekly stylish baths. Flat screen televisions, complimentary internet access and in-room coffee add to the comfort and enjoyment. Connecting rooms are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Brunswick Station Hotel Brunswick
The Brunswick Hotel And Tavern Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing