We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big rooms and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Brunswick
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Big rooms and friendly staff”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at this clean and well-kept hotel which had very friendly staff. I give it an average rating simply because there wasn't anything which made it particularly exceptional, like really luxurious linens or an amazing view, but it was more than adequate. We stayed in a room with a king size bed and the room was enormous (could have done cartwheels). In fact it was so big it seemed a little bare, maybe a couch instead of an arm chair? The bathroom also could have benefited from a valet or something similar where clothes could be put while showering. We stayed for two nights thanks to a Travelzoo deal for $199 + a $50 restaurant credit. Without the deal the same room would've cost about a $120 more and no restaurant credit, so I think the prices are a bit inflated thanks to Bowdoin.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WeezieMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    110
    27
    9
    5
See reviews for
90
114
10
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The Inn made for a wonderful overnight escape for our anniversary. I used to live in Brunswick and the addition of this Inn made for a welcome excuse to return. The decor is all around lovely, warm and inviting with calming colors and a mix of reclaimed materials (rough wood beams etc...). Our room was very comfortable and we certainly appreciated the standard Noon check out time. I'm not sure if every room has this, but there was a closet in our room that housed what I assume was the heating unit which ran steadily. The noise was not particularly loud, but some guests may find it bothersome. I appreciated the built in "white noise" which served to mask both the sound of the street below and my dear husband's snoring. Two things I would have liked to see in the room were an ice bucket (we had to get this from the Tavern on the first floor) and robes. It would be hard to find anything to complain about during our stay- Bath and Body works amenities were in the bathrooms and mini whoopie pies greeted us in the room for a sweet local treat. The location could not have been better right in the downtown area. Hopefully we will return again soon as I would have no hesitation in booking here again!

On a side note, we had booked a standard king room and on check in were surprised to learn that my parents had called to "upgrade" us to the bed and breakfast package as an anniversary gift. The breakfast menu in the Tavern was basic, but the food was good. Were it not for the gift of the upgrade however, we would have skipped the Tavern in favor of one of the local coffee shops. The upgrade was about a $40 value. Even with their slightly inflated prices, our order of an omelet, yogurt parfait, granola and coffee it would have been at least $10 cheaper to purchase outright. I'm sure the current Brunswick/Topsham locals could recommend a spot that is just as good for breakfast and less expensive.

Room Tip: Room 323 had a nice view of Bowdoin College and was on the opposite side of the building from the tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PrincessPalmTree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

My GF and I booked a couple of nights at this well kept Inn through a Jetsetter deal back in 2011. We received the corner room. The room was large (big enough to keep two bikes in with plenty of extra room to spare) with bright and clean New England decour. The bathroom was also well equipped and clean. Brunwick is a cute town with good breakfast and decent biking/good running along the Androscoggin River with plenty of bike markers/signs to help find your way. It is a 30 min drive to Portland, with Freeport on the way. Given the amount time we ended up spending in Portland, I kind of wish we had stayed in the city but Brunswick was definitely a pretty town.

Room Tip: corner room is massive, good for bikers/people with a lot of gear
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anomic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brattleboro, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We book this trip through a Travelzoo special because we would take the train up from Boston. I had booked one night and we did check out, but then a couple of hours later decided to check back in. Both of our rooms were clean, well maintained and simply furnished, but our second room was a corner room and was huge! I had thought the first room larger than many hotel rooms. We did not have a voucher for the second night and thought the price very reasonable.
The only negative is that I found the bathrooms cold. They could use a heat light to make it toastier when you get out of the shower.
The staff was very accomodating and friendly. We had a great experience and will be back.

Room Tip: I would ask for a corner room as they are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MayaH47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cohasset, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is a handsome, simple inn. Style could be described as Pottery Barn Lodge -- it's cozy and comfortable while clean and simple. The mattresses are firmer than we prefer, and the windows can be a bit drafty in the winter, but the rooms are a comfortable size and the bathrooms are great. We've stayed here twice, the last time for three nights.

If you're visiting Bowdoin College, this is the place to stay. It's right across the street and has a Tavern that serves food. The food is just okay -- but it's very nice to have the option to eat in the hotel. We love the polar bear (Bowdoin's mascot) photos throughout.

Forget-about-it if you want to stay here for Bowdoin's graduation events unless you're on an inside track with a very special pass. I was able to appear in-person at the front desk 6 minutes following the time that reservations were to be accepted (12 months in advance), and was informed they were booked. Infuriarting -- but it's a small hotel and it's not really an open process. For other visits during the year, we highly recommend it.

Front desk staff is otherwise quite friendly and helpful. Overall, a very convenient, handsome and comfortable choice in Brunswick near Bowdoin.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calibre57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We went up to the inn for our fourth anniversary and stayed there for three nights and four days. The staff was always friendly and helpful. They tried their best to accomodate us in every way possible including arranging for flowers to be pu into our room upon arrival and going themselves to the local chocolate shop to pick up chocolates as I had requested. The restaurant is also pretty darn good. The food was really great including breakfast which we had every morning and their specialty drinks they make. The staff was responsive and attentive and communicated regarding any delays with the food which was so refreshing after dealing with waiters in Boston! My Wife and I throughly enjoyed ourselves and found real value in what we spent. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mishakul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We have stayed around Brunswick in other places, but we are very excited to finally find this lovely Inn. The rooms are large and well decorated with very comfortable beds and big bathrooms. They are also pet friendly and Green! It is right in the middle of town, where you can walk just about everywhere. The breakfasts are wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brunswick
0.5 mi away
The Daniel
The Daniel
#1 of 11 in Brunswick
402 reviews
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 11 in Brunswick
285 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Brunswick Freeport
1.0 mi away
Travelers Inn
Travelers Inn
#3 of 11 in Brunswick
246 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Bath Brunswick
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern

Property: The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern
Address: 4 Noble St, Brunswick, ME 04011-2410 (Formerly The Inn at Brunswick Station)
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Brunswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Brunswick
#2 Family Hotel in Brunswick
#2 Romantic Hotel in Brunswick
#3 Business Hotel in Brunswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly adjacent to Bowdoin College and steps away from the lively downtown, The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern perfectly positions guests to take advantage of all this college town and the state's picturesque Mid-Coast region have to offer. Handsomely appointed guest rooms feature a mix of heavenly king and queen beds, spacious workstations and sleekly stylish baths. Flat screen televisions, complimentary internet access and in-room coffee add to the comfort and enjoyment. Connecting rooms are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Brunswick Station Hotel Brunswick
The Brunswick Hotel And Tavern Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing