We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lobsta Roll Perfection”
Review of Libby's Market

Libby's Market
Ranked #3 of 108 Restaurants in Brunswick
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: The BEST Lobster Roll (and more) in the whole state!!!! (without question, and I should know).
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
150 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lobsta Roll Perfection”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

The quiet words stated at the Bowdoin College admissions desk by the summer interns was unequivocal. With just a bit of time between the campus tour and the college interview "Libby's" was an extraordinary value for a lobsta roll. These words were so prophetic. Off of Federal on Jordan sits this unimposing "store" that advertises "Lobster Rolls" on its sign near the street. Tina, the gal who greeted me on entering, pointed out the 3 sizes of lobsta roll displayed on the counter, when I told her that was my mission. Not to be a glutton, I opted for the mid size roll for $14 bucks that is a buck less than the price I've paid at Kelly's Roast Beef in Danvers, MA. But, buoy o' buoy, the chunks of lobsta meat stuffed in to the "Libby's Roll" were more pleasing to my taste buds than any other lobsta roll I've had in a great long while. The sandwich makers delivered my lunch out at the umbrella covered tables and I basked in the gorgeous mid-day sun on the backstreets of Brunswick. This place is extraordinary but those smart college kids at Bowdoin know this and thoughtfully shared this bit of advice with me.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    42
    11
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fox Chapel, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“LOBSTER roll + LOBSTER & BACON & EGGS + LOBSTER roll & BEER = LIBBY's”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

My husband and I were hungry for Lobster, so we flew to Portland and drove to Brunswick. Libby's the best. 1st Stop = LIBBY's, the rest was history.. We loved everything about the store. nothing compared to the food or hospitality. My top 3 are in the title.... But the flavored coffee is an awesome high in the morning! If you stop here, YOU WILL BE BACK, WE DID 3 TIMES!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IBCoolbreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
389 reviews
349 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
“LOSER!”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Oh, on the lottery ticket I bought on my way out! What more could I possibly add to a place on Trip Advisor which ONLY has the top two ratings? NOTHING AS LIBBYS RETAINS THE TITLE OF SERVING THE ABSOLUTELY BEST LOBSTER ROLL, CRAB ROLL (both of which my wife and I shared just the other evening for dinner, along with some pork rinds) AND SO MUCH MORE ON THE PLANET, PERIOD ENDED!

PLUS - as I and others have stated here countless times before - THE SWEETEST, NICEST, HARDEST-WORKING PEOPLE (DAN & TINA LIBBY) I HAVE EVER HAD THE PLEASURE TO KNOW.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank theghostwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Decided not to eat here. Smelled of grease from fried food which we don't eat.”
Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile


We were not going to have lobster which the reviews were great. The restaurant was off the beaten track. Market smelled like grease since a lot of the food was fried. Decided not to eat here.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneDeidre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold River, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Indeed the Most Awesome Lobster Rolls!”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Checked tripadvisor for a good lunch spot while driving back south after a week around Acadia and found Libby's Market, and what a find! The prior reviewers are not exaggerating: for us these were also the most awesome lobster rolls we have ever had. Eating a great lobster roll sitting next to a shelf with motor oil and boxes of napkins even feels right somehow. Libby's is definitely worth a side trip when you're in southern Maine.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gvo1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Libby's Market also viewed

Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
 
Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
 
Topsham, Mid Coast Maine
Topsham, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Libby's Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing