We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special Dining Experience in an unexpected place”
Review of Trattoria Athena - MOVED

Trattoria Athena
Price range: $15 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Special Dining Experience in an unexpected place”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Call ahead for a reservation since the seating in this century+ old milltown building is limited. Also if you come in winter bring a sweater because the makeshift foyer does not keep out the cold each time a patron arrives/departs.
Once settled, you will enjoy superb service and a special mix of Greco/Italian offerings.
Prices a bit above average, but the food arrived hot, service exceptional and the overall experience one you will talk about for days after.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ja c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    24
    14
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Restaurant in Brunswick”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Contrary to some of the reviewers you may read, I found Trattoria Athena lived up to all the hype. I have subsequently dined at this charming Mediterranean fusion restaurant 3 times, and have yet to have an experience that didn't leave me glowing.

Rabbit, when they have it, is a must -- tender and flavorful. Also try some Greek wine -- If you can spring for one of the moderate-to-expensive bottles, they are definitely worth it. The reds drink like an Italian wine with Spanish influences; make sure to give them proper time to breath, though, as I have found a couple of times that the full flavor didn't come about until about 15-20 minutes after opening. Although I have not had the house wines myself, I have heard they are more than adequate.

The sampler of bread dips is also a favorite, and the Specials never disappoint. The servers are personable and knowledgeable about the menu. A true small-town Maine treasure.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank swag107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phippsburg, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Despite wide acclaim, we're disappointed.”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We 3 couples came because we'd heard good things about it and the guest of honor was a Greek American big on Greek heritage. We all decided on the pricey prix fixe dinner to simplify ordering. The waitress advised us that for $5 each more we could drink bottomless house wine with dinner, which 3 of of opted for. Not a good option as we had to beg, repeatedly for refills, and apparently our waitress forgot her name, which was Miss, as far as we knew, regardless of how loudly we called to her, despite the restaurant being empty save for one other table. Suffice it to say we were less than impressed with the wine service and availability.

The food was good, the first course, a flakey pastry appetizer, was fine, the Caesar salad, which was basically romaine and onion, was terrible. I love personal interpretations of the classics, but when you call a salad Caesar, you don't try to reinvent it. The salad sucked.

The grape leaf wrapped cod was good, if bland, served plain with no accompaniment, which was a relief after all the onion in the salad. The brisket lasagne was tasty as well, except that there were six of us and we were only served 5 portions, cut into 5 pieces on the serving tray. Upon pointing this out to the waitress, what's her name?, she enquired of the cook, who told us that no, we were mistaken, and the 5 portions were meant to feed the six of us, and we should just cut one in two to make up the difference. We were all stunned by this info, having never been treated so cavalierly by a cook in absentia before.

The desert was fine, some sort of chocolate confection served in an overly large coffe cup, and the plunger coffee we were served with it in individual plungers was, well, plunger coffee

We were never offered an apology for the shortage of one portion of a main course, and to be honest, I don't think the waitress even realized that we had been shorted . For that matter, the service, from start to finish, was coffee shop level at best, which certainly didn't rise to the prices on the menu.

The room was a typical, old, New England building, having gone through numerous incarnations over it's long life, with pressed tin ceiling and warm wall colors. Our table appeared to have been wrought out of an old door, which might be charming in an informal environment, but at this price point just seemed a tad cheesey.

Food quality- 3

Environment -3

Service -1

on a scale of 5

PS- Our Greek friend was totally unimpressed with the quality or authenticity of the food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank h0trudderedbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not the usual fare”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Went last evening with a group of five adults. We had a wonderful dinner. We enjoyed the fried artichokes, great and the calamari, the braised romaine salad and the broccoli sald every thing was exceptional. Our server Lauren was friendly, helpful and extremely acommodating. She went next door to get my wife a diet coke. The lamb rib special was done to perfection. We also had the risossoto was and the pasta was great. The bottle of wine was reasonably priced and was enjoyed by the three of us that embibed. It is a small cozy restaurant that would be a find in any city in our country, al be it a little quirky. A special place for a special evening. We also splurged for deserts, and the Greek coffee could not be better . Next time in Brunswick we will go again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LosAbuelos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“4 1/2 Star dining”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Trattoria Athena was the destination of my husband & I for our 1st Anniversary - we were VERY happy with our choice! From the quaint & cozy restaurant to the high quality food, we'll definitely be back! The only reason why we rated it 4 1/2 and not 5 star was my Chicken Caccatore - not as tomatoey as I'd expect and a tad over-salted....other than that, the food was excellent!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingFoodie86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Athena also viewed

Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
 
Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing