We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brunswick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Middle Bay Farm Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 4 Brunswick B&B and Inns
Vals, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Traveling from NYC to Bar Harbour we came across Phyllis and her B&B. And what a treat ! The place is so cosy and Phyllis such a warm person that we felt at home right away. The rooms are made with care and are very comfortable. The location of the place by the waterfront of Middle Bay is just breathtaking. We will be back!
Ruth & Thomas

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
12
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

From the time you walk in the front door you truly feel like you have come home to a family nest. Phyllis is the perfect host with her warm personality and delightful smile you immediately relax. We enjoyed the spacious first floor suite with the front porch right outside our door to overlook the beautiful front lawn to the bay. There is nothing like sitting in the rocking chair or on the swing to really help you absorb all the beauty surround the property. The breakfast each morning was amazing - second helpings were calling my name. The location of the B&B is perfect for exploring surrounding seaside treasures or the little shops dotted around the coastline. This is a great place to have family gatherings and simply enjoy one another's company. I will return many times in the future. LC

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cooke29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Middle Bay Farm is at the very end of a gravel road--and well worth the trip. The lovely, restored house is comfortable, the innkeeper friendly and helpful. The inn has a wonderful lawn looking out to Middle Bay; each guest room has a beautiful view of the water. We very much enjoyed our stay here. Breakfast was served buffet style; the heated plates were a nice touch. The blueberry coffee cake was excellent, with just the right amount of sugar that allowed the fresh blueberries to shine through. The egg dishes were ok, but not my favorite.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Florence721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmont, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We are not really B and B people but the idea of stayingt here trumped that issue. She had a room that could sleep 3 as we were traveling with our college age son. The breakfasts were exceptional and the owner, Phyllis was just wonderful. We stayed in the Star room which had lovely views of the bay. Our only complaint which had nothing to do with the inn was the weather was unseasonably warm and humid. Barely a breeze off the water so with no air conditioning it and being on the second floor it was a bit uncomfortable. We survived by opening the windows and turning on the ceiling fan as well as using the extra fan Phyllis provided. If you must have air conditioning keep this in mind. The location is perfect for day trips to Freeport, Brunswick, and the further downeast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Megshanemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

My Mom, Aunt and I stayed two nights at MBFB&B and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Everything was simultaneously beautiful and comfortable, a difficult balance to find. Phyllis is a lovely host and, yes, the breakfast is to die for. It's not every day that I eat a scrumptious breakfast with silver on china that is chosen according to that morning's color theme. The grounds are lovely. I enjoyed sitting on the front porch in one of the Adirondack chairs reading a book all late morning and afternoon sipping tea and listening to the breeze through the trees and the water on the shore, just in front of me across the lawn. I felt spoiled by my time at MBFB&B... that good sort of spoiled.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orono, ME
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

My husband and I stay with Phyllis at Middle Bay Farm every year when we go to attend the Downeast Country Dance Festival in Topsham. Before discovering this gem, we tried some other places, but they paled in comparison. The breakfast is amazing with a delicious hot entree (most memorable was a savory shrimp sautee), wonderful fresh fruits, and freshly baked goodies. Phyllis keeps a plate of homemade cookies in the parlour, which are just what the dancers ordered after a long day of activity. The view of the bay is stunningly beautiful, the property is beautiful, and the rooms have everything we could possibly need. There's nothing better for sore legs than a soak in the claw-foot tub. Phyllis is a wonderful hostess with plenty of local knowledge who clearly enjoys keeping the inn.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarpGirl207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

First of all, you'll never have a breakfast like this anywhere else. Today's eggs florentine were to die for, as was the mixed-fruit cobbler. The other days' breakfasts were just as good. The company of other guests, seated around the big table, made for a great start to the day.
You can't beat the setting, on an idyllic inlet of the Atlantic, a five to ten minute drive from downtown Brunswick, with its big-city variety of high-quality restaurants.
We stayed in the separate cottage. Our little two-bedroom apartment was richly decorated in a shoreline theme. The beds were very comfortable. High-speed internet access was spotty in our building but flawless in the main building's sitting room.
If you're visiting Bowdoin or Bates, or you have some other business in the area, you can't beat the beauty, solitude, and convenience of the Middle Bay Farm.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DizzyDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brunswick
4.4 mi away
The Daniel
The Daniel
#1 of 11 in Brunswick
391 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 11 in Brunswick
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath
4.1 mi away
Travelers Inn
Travelers Inn
#2 of 11 in Brunswick
238 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Freeport Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middle Bay Farm Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middle Bay Farm Bed & Breakfast

Property: Middle Bay Farm Bed & Breakfast
Address: 287 Pennellville Rd, Brunswick, ME 04011-7929
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Brunswick
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Brunswick
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Middle Bay Farm Bed & Breakfast Brunswick, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing