We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Bowdoin visits”
Review of The Brunswick Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Brunswick Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Brunswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2010

The Brunswick Inn is a comfortable and historic inn just a few blocks from the Bowdoin campus. The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated. We stayed two nights: the first in the original inn building, upstairs in a garret-like charming room with antique furniture, and the second in the annex out back in the spacious and modern downstairs suite. Both rooms were excellent. The breakfast was outstanding, and the hostess charming. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gregg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 183 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2010

From the moment we arrived until the moment we left we felt completely attended to and cared for. This charming inn is located right on the town green, close to all amenities including the Bodoin campus. The decor exudes simple elegance, sophistication and good taste and the beautifully appointed King sized bed (a rarity in smaller inns and hotels) promises a really good night's sleep. Innkeeper Eileen laid a crackling fire in the cozy livingroom, offered drinks before dinner and coffee or tea afterwards and dispensed great advice on what to do and where to go. Yummy breakfast as well. Highly recommended!!! We'll be back!!!
Katrina and Peter, from CT

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SixBix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2010

We return to the Brunswick Inn every time we are in the area, and it never disappoints. It's one of our favourite Inns, and we've stayed in a lot. I can only echo all the positive comments in previous reviews here. Eileen, the innkeeper is gracious and welcoming, while her husband holds forth in the kitchen serving up delicious breakfasts. Furnishings are first-rate, with attention to detail everywhere. Artwork from a local gallery adorns the walls. The main floor sitting room is a quiet oasis to read or relax.

We stayed in Room 10 in the Carriage House, a building adjacent to the Main House. While it's newer, it is well-appointed and tastefully furnished in keeping with the charm of the Inn. We found our room quiet and comfortable. Coffee is served in the 'lobby' of the Carriage House at 7am, so caffeine junkies can get an early fix without having to go to the main building. The Inn has wireless internet, but the coverage in the back of the Carriage House is spotty. Fortunately, a nearby home or office had an open access point (named "linksys"), so we were able to use it instead.

Some rooms have TV, some don't. Check the listings of the individual rooms so you won't be disappointed if you absolutely have to get your TV fix while on the road.

The Inn is a few blocks from the main downtown area and many fine restaurants. Eileen and Wendy (the friendly and efficient manager) have compiled a binder of local restaurants and will gladly provide recommendations and make reservations. We visited Wendy's favorite - Henry and Marty's - and had a delicious meal.

The Brunswick Inn is about 15 minutes from Freeport, home of LL Bean. Thus it's an excellent destination to unwind after a busy day of shopping. However, finding the Inn can be a bit tricky if you're using modern GPS technology. Our Garmin told us to turn left off of Maine Street onto Fitch Place. That's not possible. If you're not familiar with the area, be sure to take a copy of the directions to the Inn (available on their website, or via maps.google.com).

We'll definitely return to the Brunswick Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank screen-gem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2010

The Brunswick Inn has an old historical building, and a modern annex where we stayed in a large double room. The Innkeeper is friendly, she has two delightful small children. The full hot breakfast is ample, you will not have to eat breakfast. Apparently it is very difficult to reserve this Inn during weekends when the parents of Bowdoin students visit. It is a one block walk to the College, and one or two blocks to good restaurants down the street.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GC_Guru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

When we arrived the Brunswick Inn was hosting a local art exhibit/show with quite a few people milling about. After a long trip from the Midwest, we were just wanting to check in and get a lay of the town, a relaxing dinner, and then back to bed. The staff was easy to locate upon arrival in the middle of the art show and reassured us that all would be quiet by 9PM once the show ended. It was. The staff courteously showed us to our upper level room (room 1, if you have a chance) and suggested a restaurant for dinner in town. During our two night stay, the staff and inn keeper were quite friendly, informative, helpful and gracious. The main house is quite historic and lovely. And, of course, the location in town in wonderful too...close to many restaurants and lovely Bowdoin college.

Outside of this historic property needing some additional tender lover renovation, our stay was as expected. I don't think you will be disappointed if you stay in the main house as opposed to one of the other nearby stand-alone cottages. Give them a whirl. I think you will like it.

By the way, as we checked out and perused the guest registry and signed our best wishes, we noticed that Liza Minnelli had been to the Brunswick Inn on the nite of the art show when we arrived. She apparently enjoy her stay too based upon her registry comments!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boilermaker_Indy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

A perfect place to stay- from its tasteful decor to its tasty granola, this inn has the warmth and the charm of the great state of Maine. The owners have done a fabulous job of creating a place where you can enjoy all the comforts of home, and the privacy of a fine hotel. The location brings the coziness of a small college town together with the natural beauty of the nearby coast of Maine.
My friends and I were able to use the inn as a base to visit the coast and walk to the very professional summer theatre on the Bowdoin campus. We look forward to more visits to take advantage of the many cultural events the inn has planned. I can also see this as an ideal place as a reunion setting for friends or family.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnquix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2010

When we entered this beautiful inn, located just about three blocks from the entrance to Bowdoin College, we could not help but be impressed by the combination of impeccable taste balanced with hominess -- from the beamed ceilings, the rooms filled with paintings by local artists, the brick fireplaces and the hand-carved bar in the dining room, the common areas (including a front porch fringed with local flowers and grape vines) are lovely. The bedroom was spacious, sunny and beautifully decorated with lots of closet and drawer space. In addition to an amazing country breakfast, the inn occassionally sponsors music and arts events held on premesis, is close to Maine State Theatre's summer stock company (we saw SPAMALOT and loved it), and is directly across from a green where the town offers concerts on the lawn and a Farmer's Market! I can't imagine a more perfect bed and breakfast experience. What a lovely few days of Americana at its best!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeilSchleifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brunswick
0.2 mi away
The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern
0.4 mi away
The Daniel
The Daniel
#1 of 11 in Brunswick
426 reviews
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 11 in Brunswick
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Brunswick Freeport
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath
6.8 mi away
Residence Inn Bath Brunswick Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Brunswick Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Brunswick Inn

Address: 165 Park Row, Brunswick, ME 04011-2006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Brunswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Brunswick
Price Range: $128 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Brunswick Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brunswick Inn is located in the charming New England town of Brunswick, Maine, 20 minutes north of Portland and 2 hours north of Boston. Situated on the picturesque village green, the Inn is just steps away from Bowdoin College and the town’s wonderful array of shops and restaurants. Boasting the charm of Federal-style architecture, the rooms also have all the appointments and conveniences that the modern, discerning traveler expects. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Brunswick Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Brunswick Hotel Brunswick
The Brunswick Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing