We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one word , DIRTY !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Brunswick
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“one word , DIRTY !”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

omg what dirty rooms , carpet was discusting , toilets were laced with hair ,sheets were stained with blood , had to ask for sheets, Jesus what an aweful stay. Noisy Noisy Noisy . I cant believe the cleaning staff , Best Western ! You should be ashamed ! Looks are so deceiving . Stay away and don't bring kids there . Renovated !? Gimme a break ! Please people ,my review is the actual real and unbiased truth , stayed 4 nights and never never never again.

Room Tip: choose another location !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danjul12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc W, Asst. General Manager at Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry your recent stay with us was not pleasant. We recognized that we had a issue with the way our rooms were being handled. We have gone through some major changes to our cleaning staff and have, I feel, fixed the problem. Again I am sorry your stay had to suffer as a result of our problems, and I hope you consider stopping in for a room tour next time you are in the Brunswick area.

Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    130
    43
    22
    17
See reviews for
147
143
15
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Marcos, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed in this hotel fairly often under the previous ownership. Best Western has made some nice changes. It's modernized and meets the requirements for a good nights sleep. The rooms are large and well appointed. The breakfast options are many and the young lady was constantly making sure that everything was filled and clean. Front desk personnel were polite and helpful. We were able to secure a good rate through Priceline and I'm surprised that it's only rated a 2.5 star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cctravelerCctx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc W, Asst. General Manager at Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to review us! Having stayed with us before you can see first hand the difference our rennovations have made. I hope you enjoyed your time in Brunswick and hope you think of the BEST WESTERN PLUS Brunswick Bath next time you're in the area.

Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

If you value a peaceful night's rest then this is the PERFECT place: no freeway noises, no train whistles, just peace and quiet. You can actually sleep with the window wide open and not need any ear plugs!!

We had planned to spend just one night but wound up staying 3 nights. This was such a perfect base for us to explore Bath, Brunswick, Freeport (L.L. Bean) and even Portland, ME, which is just 30 minutes away.

This hotel is almost like a hidden gem and certainly deserves a higher star rating. We don't know how old the building is, but it has been nicely maintained and upgraded, and yet has a comfortable old-fashioned feel to it.

The rooms are very spacious with a good-sized bathroom. The beds are comfortable and the amenities include microwave, mini-fridge and a Keurig coffee maker - with Green Mountain coffee, of course. The air-conditioner in our room was whisper-quiet, but we prefer an open window.

The complimentary full breakfast was excellent and most satisfying. And those yummy cranberry scones..... they're to die for!

We also enjoyed their large indoor saltwater pool. We could actually swim laps after the kids were done playing in the pool.

But best of all was the staff's hospitality. Melissa and Payton at the front desk were genuinely happy to see us and made us feel right at home.

Kudos to the Best Western Plus in Brunswick Bath, Maine!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whatcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc W, Asst. General Manager at Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank You for your wonderful review! Our location makes us PERFECT for a good nights sleep being away from the center of town, and also as a base camp for coastal activities. Our full hot breakfast every morning leaves you full and ready for the days activities. I am thoroughly glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you soon!

Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I am corresponding with you today in regards to our recent stay at your facility. I am specifically writing to express my appreciation for the quality of service and genuine hospitality offered to my wife and I while our home remains under repair. Our home was damaged due to water and we have had to conduct business from both afar and in person regarding this matter. This was the second time we were privileged to have accommodations with your hotel. Despite the many offers I researched online, I could not justify not staying at your location based on sheer logistics, immienities and the unbeatable deal offered to us.

We enjoyed the peace and quiet nightly after tending to our homes needs and working tirelessly with our contractor and buying supplies locally at the Brunswick Lowes home improvement store just down the street. The room was clean, spacious and before starting our days we thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast bar. There was a proper supply of large towels; pillows and bed were very comfortable.

My wife in her initial stay there had the pleasure of meeting two young ladies by the names of Melissa B. & Melissa M. During this visit, I was introduced to them and found them both to be consummate professionals as well as subject matter experts in the hotel industry. Knowing that two young women are this dedicated to a line of business definitely added to the excellent service of the staff.

I can't imagine giving anything less than a 5 to this hotel. I will definitely recommend your hotel to friends and family.

Thank you again.

Jeff & Carla H.

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly to book your reservations. I say this due to the fact that this is a busy ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEFF H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc W, Asst. General Manager at Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank You Jeff and Carla for you wonderful review! The two Melissa's have been with our hotel for quite some time now and work very hard to please every guest that walks through our doors. I am very happy to hear they made your stay as seamless as possible while going though the house ordeal. Our location makes us, as you say, logistical choice for the people traveling along the coast, and especially if you're headig to/live in Harpswell. We await your return (hopefully not under the same circumstances) and give us a call if there is anything we can do for you!

Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, MD
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I can't imagine giving anything less than a 5 to this hotel. It looked brand new, but it's 18 years old. The room was clean and big and nice. The breakfast was one of the best free breakfasts we've had on our trip throughout New England. Wireless was great. Shower was great. This was a nice place. :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc W, Asst General Manager at Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank You for your review! Our complete rennovation completed last fall made our property look brand new, and our guests very much pleased with the value of their stay. Breakfast was one of the first things we upgraded, now serving hot eggs, sausage, waffle maker, and of course all the essential fruits and pastries for a filling breakfast.

Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somverville Ma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

First: super kind, helpful staff. I made a reservation through Priceline for a four-day mental health getaway and ended up having to cancel the first night because of car trouble. When I called, Melissa at the front desk was kind enough to work with Priceline not to charge me for the first night, which I really appreciated, and then continued to unobtrusively check in on me for the rest of my stay. The hotel is very quiet and clean. The breakfast is not gourmet, but quite decent (make-your-own waffles, sausage, eggs, fruit, good coffee ... ). Minifridge in the room, great wifi. But what really made this place stand out was the staff--everyone was so kind and helpful. There's also a pretty indoor saltwater pool (with an outside deck for summer); I'd never experienced one before, but it was very pleasant and felt a lot cleaner to swim in than a chlorinated one. Definitely families using it occasionally but I found ample quiet time to swim a few laps in the off-season.

It's also about a 20-minute drive to the Casco Bay area and islands--Orrs Island, Bailey Island, Harpswell--which is gorgeous, picturesque Maine coast with seafood and restaurants ranging from fun and quirky (Fat Boy Drive In) to excellent (Cook's Lobster). A great home base for a quiet getaway and some good old-fashioned New England sightseeing. I'd definitely stay here again if I'm in the area.

Room Tip: I had a huge jetted tub ... worth the extra few dollars if you like baths!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Solo t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc W, Asst. General Manager at Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank for your kind words about our staff and for taking the time to write a such a thorough review! I am glad your stay was enjoyable and relaxing, which is crucial if you are on a mental health getaway. You mentioned all of our awesome ammenities and all of which were rennovated with our top to bottom rennovation last fall. The salt water pool is soething new as of the end of spring and our guests have had nothing but good things to say about it! Thank you for your review and I hope to see you sometime soon!

Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod., Mass.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed three nights, off-season. Everything was perfect. Clean, spacious, comfortable room. There was a good supply of large towels. Pillows and bed were very comfortable. WiFi worked well. Friendly, helpful staff. Swimming pool was a delight. (There is also a fitness room with new equipment but I didn't use it.) The breakfast was great -- hot scrambled eggs, hot sausage or bacon, a waffle maker that actually worked, an array of cereals and breads. Nice k-cup coffeemaker in the room, too. My only complaint (a minor one) is that there is no sign for the motel out on the main road, and it can be a little tricky finding it in the dark. Very impressed -- will stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicepace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc W, Asst. General Manager at Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank You for your review! I am glad to hear your stay with us was perfect. Our number one goal is to make sure your stay is as comfortable and relaxing as it can be, and our staff work very hard to make this home away from home. We strive on the value our guests see for their stay and we are always trying to find ways to improve it.

Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brunswick
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 11 in Brunswick
278 reviews
3.7 mi away
Travelers Inn
Travelers Inn
#3 of 11 in Brunswick
238 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Daniel
The Daniel
#1 of 11 in Brunswick
392 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Bath Brunswick
4.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Brunswick Freeport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath

Property: Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath
Address: 71 Gurnet Road, Route 24, Brunswick, ME 04011 (Formerly Parkwood Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Brunswick
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Brunswick
#3 Family Hotel in Brunswick
#4 Romantic Hotel in Brunswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mid Coast Maine is the home of the newly remodeled Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath formerly, The Parkwood Inn. The hotel, known to locals and visitors as "The Crown Jewel of Brunswick, Maine" offers updated and cozy accommodations.Experiencing spring and summertime in mid- coast Maine is a pure delight. There are plenty of walking, hiking and biking opportunities in the Bath and Brunswick area including the Androscoggin Bike and Walk Path and the Androscoggin Riverwalk. The Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath is surrounded by the secluded ocean peninsulas of Bailey and Orr's Islands; the beautiful state parks at Popham Beach, Wolf's Neck and Reid, plus Hermit Island; and the rich shipbuilding history of Bath. We are minutes away from Brunswick Executive Landing and the prestigious Bowdoin College, and a just short drive to world-class shopping in Freeport including L.L. Bean.In the mood for some golf? Check out Mere Creek Golf Course, the Brunswick Golf Club, Highland Green Golf Club, Bath Country Club and more all located within a short drive of our hotel!Enjoy our free continental breakfast with gluten free options! Come and relax in our comfortable guest rooms that feature convenient refrigerators, microwaves and Keurig coffee makers! Featuring romantic getaway rooms, as well as family, business and executive accommodations, The Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath stands out as a quality place to stay in Maine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Best Western, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkwood Hotel Brunswick
Best Western Plus Brunswick Bath Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing