We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not large, but good exhibits”

Peary-MacMillan Arctic Museum
Ranked #5 of 28 things to do in Brunswick
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Museum dedicated to two Bowdoin College alumni who explored the Artic.
Fairfield, OH
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not large, but good exhibits”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Our second visit, but new exhibits. This is a small museum, but they do a nice, in depth, job of displaying current exhibit. Caribou antler carving. I'm still debating with myself about this art form, but according to placards, many many caribou shed their antlers annually and the material is found lying on the ground. That being said, the art produced is quite varied in subject manner and I have to appreciate both the imagination and execution of the artists. Low stress level here. Walk in look around drop a donation in the box, if you choose, and walk out.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    29
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level 6 Contributor
336 reviews
121 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“no lions or tigers, but there are BEARS!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Easy access and real live history come alive at this Museum. Good to match up with a boat trip to Eagle Island to see Admiral Peary's summer home.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gail G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lots of Arctic info”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Lots of information on the arctic and its people and animals. Several mounts of arctic animals. Interesting to consider the hardships endured by the explorers.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod., Mass.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Heavy on Arctic, light on Peary-MacMillan”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Small museum with a lot of fascinating information about the Arctic, its people and their lifeways, its animals, its natural history. There are oral histories given first-hand by Inuit people and guides to pronouncing Inuit words, samples of Inuit clothing and equipment, mounted specimens of Arctic animals (musk ox and the like). I have a strong interest in Native cultures so for me, this was great. There isn't as much on the Peary expeditions to the Arctic (by the way, many historians believe he never reached the actual North Pole). I was pleased to see a good deal of information on Peary's right-hand man, Matthew Henson, an African-American who accompanied him on many of his Arctic voyages. There is a video of a TV interview Henson gave later in life. When I visited there was a room under construction so we had to avoid that one room. My primary criticism of this otherwise fascinating museum is the use of a very poor font in the interpretive signage -- the font is "fancy" and hard to read. If they had used a better font I'd give the place four stars. It's free to get in, so there's no reason not to visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank nicepace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpswell, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great attraction”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is the type of museum that AAA travel guides would call a gem. Others reviewers are correct that it only takes a couple of hours but it is worth the effort. Location and opening hours at bowdoin.edu/arctic-museum/information. You can also get lunch at next door Moulton Union. If more adventerous you may want to take a boat from Portland to see Admiral Peary's restored home on Eagle Island, a Maine state park.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank MaineTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peary-MacMillan Arctic Museum also viewed

 
Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Peary-MacMillan Arctic Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing