We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For Civil War History Buffs!”

Joshua L. Chamberlain Museum
Ranked #4 of 28 things to do in Brunswick
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The home of the former governor of Maine and president of Bowdoin College.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“For Civil War History Buffs!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stopped on a Sunday afternoon to take a tour of the Chamberlain Museum in Brunswick. The tours are an hour long and a bit warm, as there is no air conditioning. The museum has a small parking lot and is located across from Bowdoin College, where some of Chamberlain's items are stored on display in the library. Archie, the tour guide, did a great job explaining the museum and house. My husband is the history buff in the family, so the kids and I feared this would be a boring stop but we pleasantly surprised. We learned a lot and had a great time! There is a small gift shop and after the tour our family was so inspired, we purchased several books on Chamberlain. I would recommend this museum to families with tweens or teenagers.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank PennyJo1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    21
    6
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Loudon, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Civil War History”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Very interesting historical museum but it was very warm due to lack of A/C. The guide was very helpful.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank prestonlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Well done Museum”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This museum is run by the Pejepscot Historical Society of Brunswick ME. It is free although there is a fee for the tour of the affiliated Skolfield-Whittier House. Very interesting as we did not really realize that men from Maine were that heavily involved in the Civil War. Takes less than an hour but well worth it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Claudia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, FL
Level Contributor
171 reviews
112 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Acceptable for a history buff”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I really admire Joshua Lawrence Chamberlain so today I went to visit his museum in Brunswick, Maine. This is the 150th anniversary of the Battle at Gettysburg and the Battle of Little Roundtop where he was a hero. After the Civil War he was elected to be the Governor of Maine and later the President of Bowdoin College which is also in Brunswick, Maine. The museum is located directly across Maine Street from Bowden College and is open every day except Mondays.You can only see his house on guided tours which are given on the hour. The tour lasts for an hour, give or take, The entry room has books about Chamberlain and the Civil War. If you are a history buff this might be something of interest for you but for most people this deserves a pass. I teach American History in high school and admire JL Chamberlain but I really could not recommend this experience for most people. I appreciate the work the people have done in restoring the house and presenting his life. I believe it would be average for someone interested in Am Hy but for most people it would be boring.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JonnieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great tour!”
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

The volunteers give excellent and informative 1 hour tours! So nice that history is being preserved.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ereland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joshua L. Chamberlain Museum also viewed

Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
 
Brunswick, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Joshua L. Chamberlain Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing