We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveler rating
137
10
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
137
10
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews one night little piece of heaven close to home lovely setting dining room second visit memorable stay both nights electric blankets lodge tent suite dinner mountains sea terrace earth
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 149 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2017 via mobile

Myself and my (new!) wife adored Jbay Zebra Lodge when we stayed in Jan 2017. Flobella and Didier were flawless, warm hosts - Florbella even reserved the hot tub for just ourselves with free champagne without us asking! Her cooking was also absolutely magnificent - classic French with fresh local South African ingredients!

We stayed in JBay as a brief stopover before moving on as part of a longer trip, and in 3 weeks staying in South Africa we didn't stay anywhere better.

We are devastated to hear of the awful news afflicting the lodge and sincerely hope you get back on your feet as soon as possible.

Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florbela D, Owner at Jbay Zebra Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2017

Dear guests,
Thank you for your wonderfull message,
Yes , we are devasted, our place is fully burned, total lost ! You can see the updates on our FaceBook page. And will hope staring soon the New Jbay Zebra Lodge, and will hope to be opened by Feb 2018. With my kind regards
Florbela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2017

Stayed 2 x nights in Earth Suite.
The weather was still a little cool after the poor Easter weekend in the Eastern Cape and the Gas heater in the room and the electric blankets were most welcome at times.
Lovely large room with all the extras you could wish for - safe, gowns/slippers, TV with all super sports and fridge. Very comfortable large bed/pillows.
Ate both nights in the dining room and the 3 x course dinners were excellent. Lovely setting and food.
The Zebras were around most of the time which allowed for some good photographs.
Very attentive and thoughtful hosts and another very memorable stay .
Thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROKNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florbela D, Owner at Jbay Zebra Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2017

Dear Guests, thank you very much for having sent a riview o us.
Thank you , it was a pleasure to have you again with us.
Hope to see you another time
Florbela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2017

Who knew that this little piece of heaven existed just outside Thornhill! The view extended for miles, sea on one side, mountains on the other. The room was quality and the bed very comfortable. It was an added bonus to have the zebra right there! The only small negative was our evening meal. The steak was a little tough and the potatoes a little undercooked. but the flavours were good. For the price I expected better.

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florbela D, Owner at Jbay Zebra Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2017

Dear guests, thank you for your review,
It was a pleasure to have you both at our place and enjoying our facilities.

Thank you for your comments, and we are sorry if, the Main course that was part of your 3 courses meal was not at your expetations, however we always trying to do our best and always providing with good quality of local products, as we love what we do.
Hope to see you again, With my kind regards
Florbela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2017

No central heat. The room and bathroom were cold and heat provided by propane fire. No central air conditioning so cannot comment on the temperature in the summers. Hotel slippers were old and used. Some dead bugs by the window. Arrived around 9 pm and wanted a drink in the lounge but got the feeling that we were imposing. Ended up have a drink in the room which was cold and smelt of the propane fire. For the money (Paid the rate on the hotel website) I would have expected more comfort. On the positive side, prompt responses by owners. Answers all our questions quickly. Lovely setting. Beautiful decor. Beautiful view from the room. Very good breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alka1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florbela D, Owner at Jbay Zebra Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2017

Dear guests, thank you for your review and comments.

As eco friendly accommodation a Tchatche Roof building gives, on Cold days and hot days, a nice balance temperature in the rooms.

However, we are all different, and requiring different needs , that's why our rooms are equiped with a fire place and a movable Gaz heather for all needs.

It is realy a pety that you only arrive at 9pm and you could not enjoy all our facilities.

Thank you for the feed back and hope you having a nice holidays in South Africa.
With my kind regards . Florbelai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2017

Unfortunately we only stayed for one evening, however, the property is exceptional and the owners both made us very welcome and provided a level of service that you would expect from a high standard of hotel.
The setting is spectacular and the furnishings very tasteful.
We would highly recommend this property to all ages and families.

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pauldD242HP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florbela D, Owner at Jbay Zebra Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2017

Dear guests,
thank you very much for your stay andBeautifull review.
It was a realy pleasure to have you with us.
Hope you having a nice holidays and hope to see you soon.
With my kind regards
Florbela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews