We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outstanding”
Review of Jbay Zebra Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jbay Zebra Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2014

The location is a relaxing and stunning place with an extraordinary little zebra zoo :-)To lie in the jacucci,enjoying the enviroment is the best recreation.The interior of the room is a sucessful mix between modern and traditional.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ursula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLORBELA D, Owner at Jbay Zebra Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your review, and we are very happy that you enjoyed to stay in our Luxury Store Room. I agree with you, that is very amazing when you wakeup open, the curtins and have the Zebras just grazing in front of your deck.
Thank you and hope to see you again, and next time longer then just 1 night.
Regards
Florbela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
There are newer reviews for Jbay Zebra Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 142 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

This is our 3rd visit with didier and Florbela at jbay Zebra Lodge. Once again, we arrive stressed and in need of a time out and leave completely relaxed. The Hospitality and food seems to improve everytime! We cant wait for our next visit. Thank you so much.....

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Shaun A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLORBELA D, Owner at Jbay Zebra Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Dear customers,
it was really a pleasure to have you for the 3rd time and always apreciating your stay with us.

We always try to provide to our customers with exceptional service, it is part of our culture.

More our customers are satisfied more we want to give them.
Thank you very much our your loyalty. Hope to see you again
With my kind regards
Florbela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

What a fabulous place to stay, made extra special by the 2 wonderful people Didier and Florbella who own and run it with a passion. Peace and tranquility at it's best. Thank you for a perfect stay and hope to return one day.
Amanda and Andy

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Amanda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLORBELA D, Propriétaire at Jbay Zebra Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Guests,
We really appreciate to meet you at our place and spend a nice evening together.
Hope you had a good trip back, enjoy your Easter season and Europe Summer is coming soon. Hope to see you again. Thanks a lot Florbela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I was not expecting THIS.....
If ever there was a 'find' then this has to be it.
First and foremost, location, location, location.... panoramic view over the sea - the sunsets are spectacular from this high point - the sun setting into the ocean.
Secondly, easy to get to, close to home....perfect for us locals to enjoy a quick getaway.
And the most impressive is the 5+ Star luxury at prices that will have you Happy dancing' on the spot !
I kid you not.... the amazing decor details, special touches, genuine 'Out Of Africa' feel, everywhere you look - a feast for the eyes...
Lastly, it is perfectly situated to explore Jeffreys Bay, Port Elizabeth and the Gamtoos Valley & surrounds - although I'm not sure how one would tear oneself away from this property ! :)
My husband really enjoyed the well layed out mountain bike trails on the property.

Room Tip: Loved the safari tents which overlook a vast. expanse of natural bush, giraffe in the distance and a...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AyeshaCantor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLORBELA D, Owner at Jbay Zebra Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear valued guest,
Thank you very much for the your beautiful review,
We are very proud that our guests are enjoying our place.
Our main goal is giving the best service to our clients by offering them the most memorable stay they ever had.

Thank you so much for the nice words.
Hope to see you again,
Florbela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Didier and Florbela will make your stay an unforgettable one!!
This lovely couple will also provide you with excellent meals. View from any room is fantastic ,looking over mountains and you can see the sea in the far distance.
You will most certainly meet the zebras ; probably on your front lawn !!
If you are in to mountainbiking Didier is the guy to talk to ; this place has excellent terrain for this wonderful sport.
Almost forgot the jacuzzi.....they have a professional jacuzzi in their garden that you just have to try !!

So it;s luxury luxury luxury.....the Swiss way....the perfect way........

Merci Didier et Florbellea ;cétait vraiment formidable chez vous !!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans9856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLORBELA D, Owner at Jbay Zebra Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear guest, we would like to thank you very much for you nice comments.
We were very pleased having you at our place during your South African holidays.
We are very happy that you have enjoyed our Jbay Zebra Lodge, and hope to see you again on your next visit. Enjoy the rest of your holidays, take care.
With my kind regards
Florbela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

My wife chose this place for the zebras, but more importantly the lodges are extremely comfortable, the owners Didier and Florbella (Swiss and Portugeuse) were exceptionally friendly, the food was superb and the situation magnificent (on top of a hill looking 4km out to sea). The whole place is purpose built and stylish and the zebras did join us for breakfast, big pluses all round, a brilliant place.

Room Tip: A couple of the rooms have canvas walls, check the weather before booking those
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3toby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLORBELA D, Owner at Jbay Zebra Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear guests,

We would like to thank you very much for having stayed with us and by postingthis nice review. We are always very happy to receive guests advises that can help other potential clients.

Our Luxury Safari tents (2) are built with a hard canvas fabric specially done for this kind of exclusive accommodation. This kind of Unit are very much appreciated by our foreigner guests, as the subtle African touch and the outside thatched shower overlooking the Indian Ocean, gives them a really African feeling.
Hope to see you again, with my kind regards
Florbela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We got to spend 3 days over Christmas at the JBay Zebra Lodge and I must say we definitely weren't disappointed. It is the perfect place if you're looking for a laid-back, relaxed holiday on your Garden Route trip.

We stayed in the colonial tent and as Europeans, we particularly enjoyed the African touch to this charming & romantic room (outside shower, loved it!!).
And how special sighting a giraffe from our bed in the far background !!

Florbela & Didier made every effort to make our stay as enjoyable as possible and paid attention to every detail. Food was excellent, champagne in the Jacuzzi a nice treat as well, what else...?
Cherry on the cake, we even got to see the zebras and our last day!

All in all, we can only recommend this swiss-standard quality Lodge !

Room Tip: for Europeans, definitely go for the Colonial Tent!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olive_scuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLORBELA D, Owner at Jbay Zebra Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear guests,

Thanks so much for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay.
Do hope, we will be able to welcome you next time you will visit South Africa.
Merci de votre visite
Au plaisir de vous revoir
Florbela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornhill
2.0 mi away
Intle Game Lodge
Intle Game Lodge
#1 of 3 in Loerie
25 reviews
10.0 mi away
Blue Horizon Bay Guest House
Blue Horizon Bay Guest House
#1 of 1 in Blue Horizon Bay
15 reviews
13.3 mi away
On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Pabala Game Farm
Pabala Game Farm
#3 of 3 in Loerie
6 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thornhill Farm
Thornhill Farm
#1 of 1 in Thornhill
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jbay Zebra Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jbay Zebra Lodge

Address: Strandfontein 442 | PO Box 156, Near Jeffreys Bay, Thornhill 6375, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Thornhill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Thornhill
Price Range: $104 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jbay Zebra Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge is perfectly positioned on the top of a hill, with 360° views overlooking the Indian Ocean, the indigenous bush and the mountains. We invite you to stay in one of our outstanding Theme rooms, discretely positioned to ensure privacy and tranquility. Alternatively you can relax in the utmost of comfort in our luxury suite accommodation. Take the opportunity to swim or relax at the Jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Jbay Zebra Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing