We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“close on perfect”
Review of Jbay Zebra Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jbay Zebra Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
corfu
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“close on perfect”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

My wife chose this place for the zebras, but more importantly the lodges are extremely comfortable, the owners Didier and Florbella (Swiss and Portugeuse) were exceptionally friendly, the food was superb and the situation magnificent (on top of a hill looking 4km out to sea). The whole place is purpose built and stylish and the zebras did join us for breakfast, big pluses all round, a brilliant place.

Room Tip: A couple of the rooms have canvas walls, check the weather before booking those
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3toby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLORBELA D, Owner at Jbay Zebra Lodge, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear guests,

We would like to thank you very much for having stayed with us and by postingthis nice review. We are always very happy to receive guests advises that can help other potential clients.

Our Luxury Safari tents (2) are built with a hard canvas fabric specially done for this kind of exclusive accommodation. This kind of Unit are very much appreciated by our foreigner guests, as the subtle African touch and the outside thatched shower overlooking the Indian Ocean, gives them a really African feeling.
Hope to see you again, with my kind regards
Florbela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
101
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We got to spend 3 days over Christmas at the JBay Zebra Lodge and I must say we definitely weren't disappointed. It is the perfect place if you're looking for a laid-back, relaxed holiday on your Garden Route trip.

We stayed in the colonial tent and as Europeans, we particularly enjoyed the African touch to this charming & romantic room (outside shower, loved it!!).
And how special sighting a giraffe from our bed in the far background !!

Florbela & Didier made every effort to make our stay as enjoyable as possible and paid attention to every detail. Food was excellent, champagne in the Jacuzzi a nice treat as well, what else...?
Cherry on the cake, we even got to see the zebras and our last day!

All in all, we can only recommend this swiss-standard quality Lodge !

Room Tip: for Europeans, definitely go for the Colonial Tent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olive_scuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLORBELA D, Owner at Jbay Zebra Lodge, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear guests,

Thanks so much for taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay.
Do hope, we will be able to welcome you next time you will visit South Africa.
Merci de votre visite
Au plaisir de vous revoir
Florbela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We had just one night at J Bay Zebra Lodge and wished we had booked more. The whole experience was perfect - accommodation, food, hospitality, pool and hot tub, setting and of course, the zebras. Florbela and Didier have made this a very special place.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier D, Manager at Jbay Zebra Lodge, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear guests,
Thank you very much for your brillant review.

Even if you just stay for 1 night, we wanted to make it as a memorable stay.
It is always our main objectif to have our guests happy and enjoying our place.
.
Thank you so much, and thank you for the zebras photos.
Hope to see you again
Florbela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Fantastic stay - lovely peaceful environment and excellent hosts. Single track MTB and bushwalks were our favorite.
Rooms were spacious and amenities excellent. Easy access to Addo, J/Bay and surrounds from the Lodge.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLORBELA D, Owner at Jbay Zebra Lodge, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for the nice review on our Mountain Bike Selfcatering.

We are delight to have guests having outdoor activities and staying at the selfcatering House that has been provided for this kind of family activities.
Hope to seenm you soon,
With my kind regardsv
Florbela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We had a wonderfull stay. The location was great and our suite was tastefully decorated. The managers/owners were very accommodating and friendly. We loved that their were real live Zebra's roaming around. The view is fantastic and it made it perfect because it's not your typical crowded holiday destination but infact very private and we loved that. Our suite was cleaned to perfection every day and what a pleasant surprise....real feather pillows just like what you would expect from a four star establishment. We would definately come back one day to visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nadine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLORBELA D, Owner at Jbay Zebra Lodge, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear guests,
Thank you very much for having taken your time to write this nice review. And we are very happy that you had a good time with us. It was a pleasure to meet you during this Christmas period.
Thank you for your comments, as we are very concerned about guests comfort and our main goal is providing good service and improving our place.
With my kind regards
Florbela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We booked at JBay Zebra Lodge for a weekend mini break. First impressions are of a well run modern facility with one of the most stunning settings we have seen, bushveld and sea views with Jeffrey's bay in the distance. Didier and Florbela were fabulous hosts clearly at the top of their profession. The meals they prepared were fantastic, ask for the fish kebabs. Our accomodation was in the luxury tent which was modern well appointed with outdoor shower and magnificent unencumbered views. A luxury jacuzzi experience included a glass of champagne. The lodge also boasts mountain bike trails which we were told are some of the best. Would certainly recommend this lodge

Room Tip: We felt that the luxury tents were a better experience than the more formal lodges because of locati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GavinCame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLORBELA D, Owner at Jbay Zebra Lodge, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear guests,
We would like to thank you for your review,
It was a pleasure to meet the family and speak the same language "hospitality".
Wishing you alot of Sucess and a good year 2014.
With my kind regards
Florbela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

If you looking to get away from the hussle and bussle of city life and retreat to a wonderful establishment then J Bay Zebra lodget inThornhill near Jeffreys bay is for you - The lodge is amazing it consists of 4 accommodation types 2 x chalets and 2 x luxuary tents. The luxuary tent that we had was amazing it had its own balcony with the most wonderful views of the flowing hills of the game reserve in front of us and a beautiful view of the ocean.

The room that myself and my wife stayed in was tastefully decorated, nice queen size bed with great soft bedding, the room also has a mini fridge inside which is stocked. The room has a huge bath and is great to relax, but if you want to experiance nature then take a nice hot shower in the outside shower at your tented room.

The lodge has permanent 4 guests which is the 4 Zebra that is on the logde, which the come to say hello early morning and late afternoon, so you can sit and watch them from your balcony

If you have been out on a long day and arrive back at the lodge they have a wonderful refreshing swimming pool to cool off after a long day at the beach. The logde has also the most amazing Jacuzzi which is really a nice treat to just sit back and relax and sip on your wine and watch the sunset over the mountain and ocean.

The breakfast is amazing and tastes wonderful all prepared fresh everyday - hot breakfast, muffins, scones, cereal, baked buns, cold meats, cheeses, fruit juices it was wonderful

I will definatly recommend this place to anyone wnting to visit Jefferys Bay

Thank you to the owners Didier and Florbela.

I will definatly be back.

Room Tip: Colonial suite is wonderful or the Earth suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank russellcloete28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLORBELA D, Owner at Jbay Zebra Lodge, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your review and nice comments,
During this busy December month, it has been a plaesure to meet different kind people and share ideas with. We would like to thank you very much for having stayed with us, Hope to see you again, Regards Florbela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornhill
2.0 mi away
Intle Game Lodge
Intle Game Lodge
#1 of 3 in Loerie
24 reviews
13.3 mi away
On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Suites
0.0 mi away
Thornhill Farm
Thornhill Farm
#1 of 1 in Thornhill
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jbay Zebra Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jbay Zebra Lodge

Property: Jbay Zebra Lodge
Address: Strandfontein 442 | PO Box 156, Near Jeffreys Bay, Thornhill 6375, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Thornhill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Thornhill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jbay Zebra Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge is perfectly positioned on the top of a hill, with 360° views overlooking the Indian Ocean, the indigenous bush and the mountains. We invite you to stay in one of our outstanding Theme rooms, discretely positioned to ensure privacy and tranquility. Alternatively you can relax in the utmost of comfort in our luxury suite accommodation. Take the opportunity to swim or relax at the Jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Jbay Zebra Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing