We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most beautifull lodge I've EVER seen!”
Review of Jbay Zebra Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Jbay Zebra Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Me and my fiance needed a weekend away,and was glad to find the Zebra Lodge on google! Florbela and Didier was great hosts! I couldn't believe when I saw how stunning scenary was so close to home! Since we arrived the atmosphere was cosy and when it was time to leave I wished that we could stay a few more nights! Florbela and Didier are a great team in the kitchen aswell, after the first nights 3 course dinner I couldn't wait to see what was instore for us the next night! The 3 course dinner has so many detail to each course! Not even to speak about the freah baked bread and dessert Didier prepared freshly every night! The jacuzzi is sooooo romantic with the most beautifull sunset and a glass of champagne you'll fall in love all over again! We stayed in The Earth luxury suite which is stunning! I really want to say thank you to Didier and Florbela for making our weekend stay so special! We'll come back everytime when we need a break! There is absolutely nothing negative to say about your lodge guys!!!!

Sune & johan

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sune C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLORBELA D, Owner at Jbay Zebra Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Sune and Johans,
Thank you so much for the nice word. We are so proud that you have enjoyed your stay and our facilities. It is a pleasure to cook for our guests and make them discover our favors.
Thanks again Florbela & Didier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 143 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2013

Sundowners in the jacuzzi, drinks and snacks in front of the fireplace and then an amazing 3 course meal. Florbela and Didier are excellent hosts! The food is delicious and beautifully presented. With the lodge being about half an hour from PE, this is the perfect place to getaway. A weekend of peace and quiet awaits you! Thanks for such a special time! Brett and Nicky

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicky p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLORBELA D, Owner at Jbay Zebra Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Nicky and Brett,
We would like to thank you very much for the kid review you have posted.
It was a real pleasure to have you both with us and sharing together this very nice moments. See you soon
With my kind regards
Florbela & Didier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Worth every cent spent. The food was absolutely amazing and the earth suite was the perfect location for a romantic get away. Florbella and Didier are amazing hosts seeing to your every need and ensuring that your stay is nothing but the best. We were so impressed by everything and the attention to detail is unbelievable. Certainly not our last trip to the Lodge. A little gem so close to Port Elizabeth.

Room Tip: Earth room is beautiful but I would suggest one of the luxury tents in Summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DervalRust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLORBELA D, Owner at Jbay Zebra Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Guests,
Thank you so much for those lovely words! We are really happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for your nice review, with my kind regards Florbela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Really loved this lodge, we had a great time and the owners are extremely friendly and helpful. The jacuzzi is a definite must see and experience!!
The earth room was the perfect romantic getaway room with a stunning view and a lovely bathroom with spa bath. It would make any couple fall in love all over again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hitgirl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLORBELA D, Owner at Jbay Zebra Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Yolande,
Thank you so much for the review,
It was a pleasure meeting you both.
We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Hope to see you again,
Florbela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We are so glad to have spent this one 'night of luxury' at this lodge during our honeymoon. The accomodation is stunning, as are the views from the balcony of the luxury tent we stayed in. The big fireplace and the jacuzzi are both delightful to be at. Florbela and Didier are truly hospitable and a joy to meet. Their service is outstanding, and they both proved to be good chefs when they prepared our 3 course diner. It's the perfect get away for anyone who enjoys beauty, hospitality and luxury Thanks so much!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roos W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLORBELA D, Owner at Jbay Zebra Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Rosanna and Andre,
It was a real pleasure to have you with us for your honeymoon night .
We had an enjoyable time with you, and hope to see you again.
Regards Florbela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My wife and I haven't been away in 8 years alone. I could have not asked for a better getaway than this one.
Relaxing, beautiful and Peaceful are the words that describe this lovely Destination. The JBay Zebra Lodge is Truly a Diamond in the Rough.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaun A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLORBELA D, Owner at Jbay Zebra Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you very much for your nice review.
It was a pleasure to have you both staying with us. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay, and hope to see you again. Kind regards Florbela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

One of the most comfortable and beautiful lodges I've stayed in, and I've visited many all over South Africa. Highly recommend it! And even an awesome Bike Park on location for trail riding and running. Kevin Evans.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLORBELA D, Owner at Jbay Zebra Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Thank you so much for your nice review.
We are really proud to have our guests happy and appreciating their stay.
Hope to see you very soon.
Florbela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jbay Zebra Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jbay Zebra Lodge

Address: Strandfontein 442 | PO Box 156, Near Jeffreys Bay, Thornhill 6375, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Thornhill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Thornhill
Price Range: $99 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jbay Zebra Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge is perfectly positioned on the top of a hill, with 360° views overlooking the Indian Ocean, the indigenous bush and the mountains. We invite you to stay in one of our outstanding Theme rooms, discretely positioned to ensure privacy and tranquility. Alternatively you can relax in the utmost of comfort in our luxury suite accommodation. Take the opportunity to swim or relax at the Jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Jbay Zebra Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing