We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our experience exceeded our expectations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jbay Zebra Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jbay Zebra Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Our experience exceeded our expectations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

I selected this venue due to the close proximity to Port Elizabeth, as I wanted to surprise my wife with a midweek escape on her birthday. The desription on their website provided enough detail to select them and I was expecting good hospitality, some trails to walk and enjoyable, romantic moments with my wife. To our delight, we got so much more! At our first approach of the facility we saw buck, during our walk we met up with zebras. The views are breathtakingly beautiful. Catering was of the highest standard and the pleasant conversations with the hosts created a very relaxing ambiance. Watching the sunset from a jacuzzi with a glass of champagne was a first for us. A most memorable stay and I highly recommend them. Johan & Ria

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Johanria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLORBELA D, Owner at Jbay Zebra Lodge, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Ria and Johan,
Thank you very much for your comments, which for us are very much appreciated.
Our main goal is to make our guests happy and enjoying our place at its best.
Hope to see you again. Florbela & Didier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
97
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East London, Eastern Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

My wife, 6 year old son and I spent a night and a day at the lodge and bike park before continuing on our journey. We were initially attracted by the bike park after reading about it in a bicycle magazine and hence travelled with our bikes. Wow! After our time there, we cannot wait to go back. The lodge was stunning, from the well appointed suite, to the lounge / dining area with huge fireplace place, to the steaming jacuzzi overlooking the natural bush.....Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts, Florbela and Didier....from some authentic Portugese music while we relaxed in the jacuzzi to a specially cooked meal for our 6 year old. The mountain bike park is on the same farm and the trails can be accessed from barely 100m from the front door of the lodge. The trails are very well graded and my son and wife easily managed the beginner trail while I could enjoy some of the more challenging options on offer, which included natural wood bridges, serial drop offs and some very tight switchbacks climbing out of the forest ( I passed the herd of zebra twice and had sone wild buck cross the trail in front of me a couple times ) The coffee shop attached to the bike park offers light refreshments and a safe and fun play areas for the kids ( and for my wife who could not stop playing a version of jukskei!). In the end, whether you are an avid mountain biker or whether you just want to kick back and relax overlooking the stunning views, the Zebra Lodge and bike park come highly recommended....we enjoyed the "package" the lodge and bike park offered and will definitely be back for more.

Room Tip: The safari tents are set down close to the bush and very private......the suites are higher up on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wyliefam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLORBELA D, Owner at Jbay Zebra Lodge, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thank you so much for having stayed with us. Hope to see you again.
Florbela & Didier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

An amazing place to relax. Quiet, private, and a must for even a day. Service and hospitality is of world class standards. Owners are friendly, accomodating, and very well organised. The bike trails are awesome. Some of the best riding to be had in the region. Jacuzzi is amazing, looking out over the hills and nature.This will be our weekend getaway for years to come. Thank you guys for everything!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AydenLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLORBELA D, Owner at Jbay Zebra Lodge, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
We are pleased to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us and appreaciate very much our accommodation and facilities services. Hope to see you again. Florbela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

What a great find! As if the spectacular scenery, tranquility, panaromic views, incredible sunset and setting is not enough .... The owners and hosts are warm, friendly, welcoming and went out of their way to provide champagne, canapés and a romantic evening at very short notice. The highlight was enjoying the sunset from the heated, outdoor jacuzzi - which looks out over the bush veld, and was a wonderful way to end off the day. Also worth a mention are the beautiful walks and mountain biking trails which are found at the lodge.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLORBELA D, Owner at Jbay Zebra Lodge, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear Angela,
iIt was a pleasure to organize this special occasion for you,
hope to see you again,
kind regards
Florbela
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thornhill
13.3 mi away
On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Suites
10.1 mi away
Pabala Game Farm
Pabala Game Farm
#3 of 3 in Loerie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
2.0 mi away
Intle Game Lodge
Intle Game Lodge
#1 of 3 in Loerie
5.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Blue Horizon Bay Guest House
Blue Horizon Bay Guest House
#1 of 1 in Blue Horizon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
11.1 mi away
Sand River Getaway
Sand River Getaway
#17 of 66 in Port Elizabeth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
12.9 mi away
Supertubes Guesthouse
Supertubes Guesthouse
#9 of 50 in Jeffreys Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jbay Zebra Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jbay Zebra Lodge

Property: Jbay Zebra Lodge
Address: Strandfontein 442 | PO Box 156, Near Jeffreys Bay, Thornhill 6375, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Thornhill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Thornhill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jbay Zebra Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lodge is perfectly positioned on the top of a hill, with 360° views overlooking the Indian Ocean, the indigenous bush and the mountains. We invite you to stay in one of our outstanding Theme rooms, discretely positioned to ensure privacy and tranquility. Alternatively you can relax in the utmost of comfort in our luxury suite accommodation. Take the opportunity to swim or relax at the Jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Jbay Zebra Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing