We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I keep going back!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brooksville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oakland House Cottages by the Side of the Sea
New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I keep going back!”
Reviewed December 5, 2007

I have gone to the Oakland House Seaside Resort for 7 years now. Hard to believe it's that many years. I have gone by myself, with my husband, with friends and also with family members. I have stayed in 8 of the cabins and 4 of the rooms. All are well maintained. I have gone for 2 nights up to 10 nights. I do enjoy the fire places in the cabins and in the Inn. Each and every time I have been there has been a very pleasurable and wonderful experience for me and whomever is with me. The setting is beautiful and peaceful. The cabins and rooms are comfortable and clean; I sleep so well there! I love to hear the loons, look for seals and watch the water. I have experienced only excellent service at the Oakland House Seaside Resort from the office, house keeping, maintenance, and food staff. I feel they are there to make my stay as wonderful as it can be. My trips can be full of activities or just total relaxing-reading. I usually take my kayak and/or road bike. Acadia is only an hour or so away and I always take a day to spend there. Near by Walker Pond has a beach that is open to guests from the resort and I usually swim there instead of the ocean-it's a little warmer...but I do make quick dips in the ocean. I was there during the Fairy Festival this past July and enjoyed watching many children and even adults engaged in the event. It is a wonderful place to experience.

  • Liked — Many personal touches; a definate get-away.
  • Disliked — Packing up to go home.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BooNewHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    3
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
16
18
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Danbury, NH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2007

My in-laws were visiting from New Zealand and we were travelling up the Maine coast with undetermined plans for destinations or places to stay. A friend informed us of this great seaside resort as we left home and during the second day we decided we would like to stay there. We called the day before and they were wonderful on the phone and very specific with directions since we were already on the road. We were able to make reservations for a cottage for two nights with our family. The staff were very polite and accomodating regarding our check-in time, that was unknown, because we were sightseeing up the coast during the day.

We thoroughly enjoyed the experience we were able to visit and relax without the daily grind of TV, etc. for entertainment. We did day trips from the resort to Arcadia, Bar Harbour, Blue hills, etc. The beds were comfortable and the cabins were very clean. We enjoyed reading the background of the resort and the family that runs the resort to feel part of their family as you are walking around. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anyone looking for somewhere as a base to do day trips along the Maine Coast or to just get away from the hustle and bustle.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davenmiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2007

My wife and I loved the Oakland House. The food was great and the staff were really nice. Our cabin offered the privacy and quiet we wanted and it came stocked with firewood and gave us a place to retreat to and watch the water. It was exactly what we needed after all the craziness of the wedding. I would definitely recommend staying for the lobster bake on Thursday.

  • Liked — Great views and very homey.
  • Disliked — There weren't many other great restaurants nearby.
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank deserb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
1 review
Reviewed December 4, 2007

The Oakland House Resort is a great Maine coast get-a-way. The Inn and the cabins are unique, very comfortable and well maintained. The grounds are coastal Maine woods overlooking a beautiful bay. This is peaceful and private. I always feel like I could write a novel if I stayed long enough. There is lots to do in the area. The Oakland House staff and InnKeepers bend over backwards to accomodate our family. The gardens by the main house are beautiful and native. This is a classic Maine resort that is hard to find in today's travels. RIght down to the lobster picnics on the beach.

  • Liked — Scenery
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ECHONH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2007

Just wanted to find a nice cabin with a clean kitchen and pleasant surroundings to use as a home base while we explored the beautiful Maine coast. Based on the web site, we chose Oak Grove cottage - arrived 11 p.m.and found indoor and outdoor lights on, very welcoming to weary travelers.

What a great place! Kitchen spotless, overall very clean, staff very friendly and cooperative. The beds were comfortable and the view over the Bay was phenomenal from the front window.

We hiked the trails on premises daily to see some spectualar sights of Deer Isle. Roughly a 35-40 minute drive to LL Bean outlet in Ellsworth and we made several trips to Acadia park.

Would definitely high recommend Oakland House cottages to people who dream of owning a cabin in Maine with beautiful views and good access to hiking trails

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelmoreNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2007

Our room was horrible - not what promised. Innkeeper was surly and off-putting. There are many beautiful places to stay on the Maine coast. This is not one of them. We are casual people and were looking for a pleasant, but not luxurious, place to enjoy the Maine experience. Our room was stuffy and dark - horrible, really. Find another place to stay.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattituck, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2007

We had an absolutely wonderful experience at the Oakland House and in the general area. It is a little off the beaten path, but was definitely worth the drive!

We stayed in the Shore Oaks Inn, which was gorgeous! We loved sitting on the porch in rocking chairs and watching the water, and listening to . .. well not much. It was just so peaceful.

It is a nice place to stay becuase you can visit nearby attractions, such as Acadia and Bar Harbor, as well as see "real" Maine towns and local life. Plus, you do not get the crowded resort feel at all.

The food was very good, and all of the staff was helpful and friendly. We plan to return without a doubt.

  • Liked — The location, the tranquility, and the well mantained facilities
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coupleoftravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brooksville
24.5 mi away
Acadia Inn
Acadia Inn
#15 of 41 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
15.6 mi away
Inn at Ocean's Edge
Inn at Ocean's Edge
#2 of 5 in Lincolnville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
22.8 mi away
Best Western Acadia Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Mount Battie Motel
Mount Battie Motel
#1 of 5 in Lincolnville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
21.0 mi away
Eagle's Lodge Motel
Eagle's Lodge Motel
#5 of 10 in Ellsworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
18.7 mi away
Open Hearth Inn
Open Hearth Inn
#1 of 2 in Trenton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakland House Cottages by the Side of the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakland House Cottages by the Side of the Sea

Property: Oakland House Cottages by the Side of the Sea
Address: 435 Herrick Rd, Herricks Landing, Brooksville, ME 04617-3738 (Formerly Oakland House Seaside Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Brooksville
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Brooksville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinctive and Authentic! This beautiful coastal cottage colony has been welcoming guests since 1889 and has been operated by the same family ever since. With 60 blissfully private acres of coastal woodland trails, beaches, and fields in which to play and dream it's easy to feel like a child again. Ten cottages of rustic sophistication have one or two bedrooms, full baths, living rooms with fireplaces, comfortable furnishings, and full kitchens or kitchenettes. Housekeeping services on a daily basis in season. Two night minimum with a one-week stay being the most economical. Arrive any day, depart any day. We welcome you, your family, and your friends. Perfect for honeymoons, singles and groups events. We welcome a well-behaved dog in Birches Cottage. Other cottages are pet-free and non-smoking, thank you. Open from mid-April through mid-October. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing