We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Place for authentic Kerala dishes” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Cochin

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Grand Hotel Cochin
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Ernakulam
Certificate of Excellence
Salmiyah, Kuwait
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Place for authentic Kerala dishes”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

The PROS:
I have been to the Grand hotel cohin twice and i must say i love the food there .. Among all the restaurants in Kochi - i found the food served here the yummiest .. Makes you definitely come back for more .all the dishes taste the same everytime - amazingly consistent .must try the prawns( naadan style) ,fish fry and fish curry all taste yum everytime you go there:-)


The CONS:
The service is absolutely miserable...PATHETIC is an understatement! The waiters at Grand hotel just dont care about the cusomer as they know the restaurant already has a name here - so customers will keep flowing no matter wat.be ready to keep waiting and signalling for attention until these agorrant waiters take their own sweet time to serve you . infact the last time i even remember waiting 15 minute for our bill!
Send these waiters to the GULF & they ll be working their butts out for some freaky Arabs:P

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Rishma1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    176
    73
    8
    11
See reviews for
114
75
38
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Virudhunagar, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

I regularly stay at this hotel when i visit cochin. The hotel is strategically located on the main MG road area. The rooms especially the Deluxe ones are very spacious. The rooms are clean and maintained well. The highlight of the hotel is the food. Easily the best in Ernakulam, they serve excellent local cuisine with concentration on Sea food. The Karimeen polichatthu is a must have here. Do not missing eating at their restaurant next time in cochin. The parking of the hotel is spacious. Go for it !

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prabhakar27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

The location of this hotel is great as it is on MG road it self, so many attractions are close. It is especially good if you are in Cochin for shopping. The food is excellent especially the "karemeen". The service is slow and a little bit rude. It didn't reflect the true kerala hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DartBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel twice and totally enjoyed it. The hotel is located in the centre of the city and commuting to any place is a breeze.
It is one of the oldest hotels in the city, but stands upto the standard of any new generation business hotel due to timely maintanence, improvement and renovation of rooms.
Rooms are excellent with all aminities available in house.

The buffet spread is really nice but not as vast as other prime business hotels in the city.
The restaurent serves probably the best lunch and the sea food here is mouth watering. On any given day, its a full house during lunch time here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rsuresh85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

We stayed in this hotel from 11-13 dec & was quite disappointed on the unfriendly staff in the hotel.There were no smile at the front desk/ very cold/ no caring on the guest,the worst was there was no wifi & it was chargeable for hotel guests-sad to say a lot of improvement needed on service with proper courteous smile.We had breakfast & the people there also no smile & with frown look on their faces except 2 old uncles were good- not recommended for staying

Room Tip: Not recommended unless there is an improvement on staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Unhappyguest04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

One of the few places in Kochi, where you get reliable food. Be it Karimeen Polichathu, Tandoori Chicken, Fish Curry Meals, Ammachis chicken dishes,.......all great...!! Only issue is that, at times the place is crowded and you may have to wait for long to get a seat !!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArunTomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

The hotel has large and spacious rooms which I suppose are styled the traditional kerala way.
The service is very poor and it appears that the waiters and other people are very lazy.
The staff is not hospitable.
Vegetarian Food is average, however, Non-veg (Sea food) had many options which I did not try being a Vegetarian.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drtalha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ernakulam hotels
0.7 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
4.3 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travancore Court Hotel
Travancore Court Hotel
#7 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beaumonde The Fern, An Ecotel Hotel
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Kochi
Radisson Blu Kochi
#5 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
3.8 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#2 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Cochin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Cochin

Property: Grand Hotel Cochin
Address: M.G. Road, Ernakulam, Kochi (Cochin) 682011, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin) > Ernakulam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Ernakulam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Cochin 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Grand Hotel Cochin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Kochi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing