We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A grand lunch at the city centre of Cochin”
Review of Grand Hotel Cochin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Cochin
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Ernakulam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

It was a good experience to dine at Grand. We were well taken care of even though it was peak time at noon. The meals were really tasty and fresh. The staff members were so friendly and helpful. The location is at the city centre near Jose junction and there is enough parking spaces for the customers

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meetheen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (391)
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Cochin
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 391 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

I had stayed in this hotel in November, 2011, and it was a good experience. This time, after an year, when I stayed there it was a very unpleasant experience. Pathetic is the one word description for the situation of the hotel. Except that at the it was the centre of the downtown and has a decent restaurant, there is nothing good I can talk about it now. Smelly rooms with insects flying all around, not properly working airconditioners, impolite staff, leaky bathrooms and smelly towels. Avoid it, if you are considering it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
2  Thank Ranjansha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Pleasant entrance, lobby and dining room.
Located on MG Road, 10 minutes walk from the railway station and ferry terminal, the hotel is central and convenient.THe clothing and jewellery shops in the area are abundant and very good. The hotel has an established feel, with a lovely wooden furnished lobby. The executive rooms are spacious, with a bright bathroom that has taps that are fun. The breakfast buffet is good with western and south Indian choices. Tandoori chicken on the dinner menu is excellent, especially when accompanied with a Kingfisher Ultra. My only complaint about the room is the old tv. I would stay here again.
A trip to Munnar from Kochi with an overnight stay is refreshing.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank noosa_4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

If you are Visiting Kerala, Grand Hotel is a Must Visit place. The food is "AMAZZZING". Try some authentic Kerala Cusine(curry meen,squid, appam). Very good staff. Good Traditional Room very spacious. Good Location. The floor mats are old.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RaviKris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. The rooms are spacious and clean, though when we arrived (admittedly during the monsoon) there was a dampness in the air which took the better part of a day to clear.

The staff was friendly and willing and able to accommodate our requests, and overall the service was excellent. The laundry service was impeccable, though the wifi rates are extortionate.

The breakfast buffet was good, but the hotel restaurant really shines at night, the food we had was superb and good value too. There is a huge selection of dishes from all over India, all very tasty. The place was completely packed, but when we told them we were staying in the hotel a table was promptly arranged for us.

The location of the hotel is somewhat away from the main sights of Fort Cochin, but there is a quick and cheap ferry which takes you there for the princely sum of Rs2.50. We had an early train from Ernukalam in the morning, and for that the location is perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wouter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

If you are looking for a nice cosy, comfortable hotel then Grand is a good choice. Located on M G Road... service is good and has a good restaurant on the top floor. The rooms and bathrooms are nice and room services is good. But only one thing which we didnt find good was we ordered Tea which took the restaurant room service people 2 hours.. would like the management to look into such issues and to think on this to make it a better one... otherwise the travel desk is also well maintained and local trips can we done through them as the prices are normal... Will recommend people to stay here ...

Room Tip: Rooms are nice... all are good... AC rooms do not have any issues ...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niladri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We were looking for a restaurant to have lunch with family and we came across "Grand Hotel". My first impression was that the place looked expensive and very popular since it was packed!!

The food was really good and tasted very traditional. A meal for 4 was Rs. 1250 which I thought was very reasonable considering ambiance and the different dishes we tried. Staff were polite and service was quick. All-in-all it was excellent!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 553,366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ernakulam hotels
0.7 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
0.3 mi away
The Avenue Regent
The Avenue Regent
#6 of 30 in Ernakulam
343 reviews
4.3 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 30 in Ernakulam
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Millennium Continental
Hotel Millennium Continental
#12 of 30 in Ernakulam
267 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Cochin
Holiday Inn Cochin
#2 of 30 in Ernakulam
909 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beaumonde The Fern, An Ecotel Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Cochin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Cochin

Address: M.G. Road, Ernakulam, Kochi (Cochin) 682011, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin) > Ernakulam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Ernakulam
Price Range: $52 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Cochin 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Cochin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Kochi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing