We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Even better than Le Meridien” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Cochin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Cochin
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Ernakulam
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
176 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Even better than Le Meridien”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

It lacks the service of Old Harbour Hotel, the charm of Bolgatty Island Resort, the view of the Ramada and the rooms of Le Meridien. But still it is definitely the best hotel in Kochi. Be its Sunday lunch buffet or its location or the excellent service, Holiday Inn Kochi is one place which never disappoints a Business traveller.

Without any doubt, the best place in Kochi. Wish it had an ocean view room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aayushrivastava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raju2362, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cochin, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
We would like to thank you for your stay with us and your positive comments, which go a long way in maintaining our hotel standards and services.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Cochin on your next visit to Kerala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    401
    340
    63
    14
    21
See reviews for
226
133
38
301
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salmiyah, Kuwait
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Holiday inn is fine in cochin if you are in a business trip and want to focus on your work.
I dont recommend for holidays or to relax. For that Ramada is best in Cochin with a great view of Vembanadu lake and they have pub.
View is not that attractive from the room except you can get a view of the city if you are in 13th or upper floors.
Food is good especially Italian one (Rissoto was fine but steak was not tat good). A small portion without smash potatos.
Recommended for business trips.

Room Tip: Top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vijaymenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raju2362, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cochin, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
We would like to thank you for your stay with us and your feedback, which go a long way in maintaining and improving our hotel standards and services.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Cochin on your next visit to Kerala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

During my stay in this hotel I was really impressed by the overall presentation, location, service of the staffs. The hotel is situated slightly away from the main city and it is around 45 mins drive from the kochi airport. It is a relatively new hotel with large BUSINESS centres. Since it was a official trip, we spent most of the time in the Business centres . Since on the first day our meetings with the foreign clients, continued till 2am, the staffs were always there attneding us, and overall experience was excellent. Wud surely recommend this hotel to others and would luv to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sumit_Dhar_kolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raju2362, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cochin, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
We would like to thank you for your stay with us and your positive comments, which go a long way in maintaining and improving our hotel standards and services.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Cochin on your next visit to Kerala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

I have stayed in many hotels in Ernakulam and Kochi but this is by far the best property I have stayed in. When comparing this 5 star hotel, it would be fair to compare against other 5 star properties in Kochi( and not in other countries), and I can clearly say this is the best one in Ernakulam.

Check in process- Very fast (5 minutes), reservation details were retrieved immediately, passport copies/ID scans were done quickly, my request for a room on the highest possible floor was met. Staff highly professional. Would recommend welcoming the guests with a welcome drink at the check in process.

Room- Cozy ambience, excellent amenities , spaceous and clean. The room has perfect lighting, a working desk, minibar( which most hotels in EKM dont have), safe, tea/coffee making facilities and a generous amount of mineral water bottles (4 upon check in), button control for the do not disturb feature, illuminated wardrobes, and a good TV selection featuring 2 arabic channels, and at least 10 english and 10 indian channels.
One comment I had was the very sharp edges on the wardrobe handles which got me injured, but this comment was handled very professionally with the staff, taking the issue seriously at check out, asking me for an official written complain which I did, and promising the issue will be resolved for future prevention of any disturbance for the fellow guests. A/C was very efficient and did not to reduce the temperature below 24 celcius throught the stay.

Bathroom- Shower always had hot water at all times, very clean, and has all the required amenities. Shampoo, shower gel, conditioner, dental kit, shaving kit and soap bars. The bathrooms have a glass wall seperating it from the bedroom part, but the glass has been made opaque and a curtain can be rolled down over the glass for more privacy. Was a good move since the glass bathroom walls which is becoming a trend in most of the new hotels isnt very suitable for most people especially families or groups of friends staying together at the hotel.

Staff- Excellent staff all throughout the hotel, well trained, polite, responsive , and all speak excellent english. Housekeeping staff were fast in responding to requests- and would always smile at the end telling you:" If you need anything else, press the housekeeping button and we will be more than happy to deliver it to you"

Location- Located on the NH highway with the oberon shopping mall within close reach and around 1 hour drive from the airport during peak hours( could be less on other times). Transport easily available on the NH busy road. However, location is a bit distant from fort kochi if you plan to visit it.

Breakfast- Excellent selection with a true balance between local cuisine and international standard dishes( eggs/omelettes/pastries). Freshly cooked food, excellent staff, and chefs frequently visit the buffet and take feedback/give recommendations to the guests, which I found very nice of them. One of the reviews stated that Mineral water was chargeable, but this needs to be clarified, this refers to the imported mineral water( evian, etc), but regular purified water being hot/cold/chilled is not chargeable and is complementary. This practice is not strange yet the common in all hotels in south India.

Pool/fitness centre: The pool seemed nice but couldnt use it as it was raining all throught my stay. However, i would recommend mounting a shade over the pool to block the rain water from reaching it. This woulld keep the water clear all throught and provide guests with the chance to swim even if its raining. The gym is well equipped with helpful staff and provides mineral water for the guests during workout.

I would definately recommend this place for travellers to Kochi. I had put my maximum effort to make this review as helpful , detailed, and specific as possible for future travellers to have a clear picture about this great hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the higher floors- 10 above to keep yourself as far as possible from the highway no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MetroTraveller2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raju2362, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cochin, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
We would like to thank you for your stay with us and your positive comments, which go a long way in maintaining our hotel standards and services.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Cochin on your next visit to Kerala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is my second time stay in the property. Worst experiences as follows:

1. Small bathroom compared to other HI, which I stayed.
2. Not that clean especially carpets.
3. Beware of wrong billing. They tried to charge minibar, which is not used.
4. Staff attitude start falling down.
5. Breakfast still not good it is below average compared to other HI.
6. Mineral water is charged during compimentary breakfast. Usually in every hotels (stayed in Hyatt, Marriott and IHG group) mineral water even Evian is free, which will be placed on juice counter. For instance from the same group in CP AMS, HI HKG, IC & HI SIN, etc.

I think with the same rate there is better properties in EKM.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kuttan1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raju2362, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cochin, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you for contacting the Holiday Inn Cochin regarding your experience during your recent stay. I greatly appreciate you taking the time to give us your valuable feedback

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

On a lazy Sunday we planned to take a break and visited this place.it was our first time at the restauarant,,though we have been their coffee shop.it was a brunch spread.Must say the spread was Lovely and Really Good.The ambience was perfect and our kids loved it.would definitely in our favourite list

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sairaginu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raju2362, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cochin, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
We would like to thank you for your stay with us and your positive comments, which go a long way in maintaining our hotel standards and services.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Cochin on your next visit to Kerala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Weve stayed in Holiday Inn with the family. Well maintained rooms.
Recommended for anyone who wants to break your journey while passing through Kochi. As it falls on the highway you will not waste time reaching it.
Had a King sized bed. The break fast and lunch buffet @ Masala was awesome.
They also have a good club membership pans.

Room Tip: rooms on the upper floors are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aby_here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raju2362, General Manager at Holiday Inn Cochin, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
We would like to thank you for your stay with us and your positive comments, which go a long way in maintaining our hotel standards and services.

Look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Cochin on your next visit to Kerala
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ernakulam
2.8 mi away
Kochi Marriott Hotel
Kochi Marriott Hotel
#1 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
1.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Kochi
Radisson Blu Kochi
#5 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Kochi
Crowne Plaza Kochi
#1 of 3 in Maradu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
4.2 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
Vivanta by Taj - Malabar
#7 of 201 in Kochi (Cochin)
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,883 reviews
7.1 mi away
Ramada Resort Cochin
Ramada Resort Cochin
#1 of 1 in Kumbalam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Cochin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Cochin

Property: Holiday Inn Cochin
Address: Chakkaraparambu Junction 33/1739a | National Highway ByPass, Vennala, Ernakulam, Kochi (Cochin) 682028, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin) > Ernakulam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ernakulam
#2 Family Hotel in Ernakulam
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ernakulam
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ernakulam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Holiday Inn Cochin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Cochin is Kochi's fresh destination for everyday people which offers the assurance of an international brand while capturing the essence of true Kerala hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Cochin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Cochin Hotel Kochi (Cochin)

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing