We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travancore Court Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Travancore Court Hotel
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Ernakulam
Certificate of Excellence
Burton-on-Trent
Level Contributor
643 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Very pleasant hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

I enjoyed this hotel. The staff were very friendly and the room was pretty good (not massive, but large enough for me). The availability of free wi-fi was a major plus point. The restaurant was good value for money (I used the buffets for both lunch and dinner and these had a good and varied selection). The little fish tank in the lobby is very pleasant - look out for the fabulous star fish (see photo). I was very early arriving, but the hotel has a coffee shop, so I was able to relax in there with a coffee before taking up my room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GerMar60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    133
    36
    11
    5
See reviews for
84
43
9
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, Ontario
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights after a long flight from Canada. Living area, table & chairs, large bedroom and bathroom. My friend and I were able to recharge our cameras and computers.
The a/c box is on the way "framed" so we missed it at first. Had 2 large fans to keep us cool in November. We were with a group and our meals were nutritious and the restaurant staff waited on us with courtesy. Rooftop views were great. We didn't swim in the pool as it was a bit slimy on the bottom. Only complaint would be that housekeeping has a telephone outside the elevators on each floor. When someone called, you could hear the phone ring & echo down the hallways.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jlondon7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

The entrance itself was rather uninviting - old and unremarkable.The moment you step in the urge is to retreat. The check in process was cumbersome and very manual with the staff seemed to be lost and confused (though we could converse in the local language of Malayalam).

The rooms are ancient and the fittings are no better. The aircond was barely working and blew unhealthy air. The shower was working intermitently.

The breakfast and food was hardly any better with limited choice and so-so quality. The lifts were also old and creaking.

I have stayed here twice and the 2nd time was only due to lack of availability of other hotels.

Having said that we were told that this is one of the better hotels in Cochin.

Pros:
1. Good location - just off MG Road and within walking distance to Marine Drive
2. Free wifi

Cons:
1. Ancient hotel with ageing fittings and building
2. Poor front office and service
3. Lousy food
4. Poor maintenance

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R_Sudhagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamshedpur, Jharkhand, India
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

I went with my wife and stayed for 2 days and really had an enjoyable experience. The staff are very mannered and very co-operative. The total flooring is of wood and gives an experience of old Cochin. The Wi-Fi is all set on the floor just need to get the password and you can move on (speed is a bit slow and sometimes fluctuations are there.) All in all a good place to stay in calm and in peace.

Room Tip: I had a booking for a Dlx Room, but on arrival had a talk with the manager and got it converted to S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abhitriv5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

First the criticism - it took half an hour to provide us the room, we actually went for nearby shopping!

But other than that it is a very good experience - got an upgradation to a suite without asking,
The rooms are big with heavy wood furniture, interesting washroom, very comfortable sofa in the suite lounge.

From the reception lounge to lobby to room - plenty of colonial charm. A reasonably priced cofee shop with decent food.

A mixed experience with staff, but overall very courteous. Nice hotel at a very good location in terms of shopping.

Room Tip: Go for 7th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Supratik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We started our tour of Kerala with two nights in this hotel. It is excellently situated just off the MG Road so it is away from the hustle and bustle - but only two minutes walk away! Our suite was very large, two settees, table and chairs, big double bed and fully equipped bathroom. The staff were welcoming and very helpful and the restaurant serves delicious food, the buffet breakfast and evening meal (there's also a-la-carte choices) were extremely comprehensive with Indian and international dishes on offer. We would certainly recommend this hotel, its a little gem in the city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teri015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajkot
Level Contributor
114 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

My family stayed for 4 nights, and I stayed for 1 night. Locatioin is fine, off MG road, near to shopping. Nice decor, good lobby, fine restaurant, tasty food but rude staff. In room, cast iron bed was not comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FAVOURITETOURS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ernakulam hotels
4.1 mi away
Palm Grove Service Villa
Palm Grove Service Villa
#2 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Marine Drive Ernakulam
0.0 mi away
Aiswarya Hotel
Aiswarya Hotel
#11 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Beaumonde The Fern, An Ecotel Hotel
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Cochin
Grand Hotel Cochin
#7 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Millennium Continental
Hotel Millennium Continental
#13 of 29 in Ernakulam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travancore Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travancore Court Hotel

Property: Travancore Court Hotel
Address: Warriam Road Kochi, Ernakulam, Kochi (Cochin) 682016, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kochi (Cochin) > Ernakulam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Ernakulam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Travancore Court Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travancorecourt is one of the Best Business Hotel in Cochin with 4 Star Facilities with Conference hall and Banquet Hall Facilities.Stay in Travancore Court Hotel Cochin, We are having Restaurant with 24 Hours Coffee Shop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Travancore Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing