We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Golden Lion Hotel & Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Easenhall
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Beautiful, very clean rooms. Staff is nice and friendly. Very quick check-in and check out. The pub/restaurant offers good meals, a quite expensive (4.20 for a pint of lager is way too much). Restaurant staff was very nice as well.
Breakfast was good though I didn't have anything hot.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Federico M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 208 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2011

The third time we've stayed here with a group of friends for our biennial reunions, and it certainly won't be the last. The weekend DB&B deal is very good value, especially as there are no restrictions on the dinner menu (just a supplement if you choose the fillet steak). The food is good and the wine list extensive - though unfortunately they seemed to be running out of several of our choices!

The rooms are well-equipped, and the bathrooms modern, though there are a few niggles: rooms aren't overly large and seem a bit overcrowded; the full-length mirror is on the inside of the wrong door of the wardrobe, so you have to squeeze into the gap between it and the door of the room where there's no light; the mirror in the bathroom is just a little too high for comfort for those of us who are not 6' tall; the bath towels are way too small (in my experience an incredibly common fault in many hotels); and surely it's time to replace the old TV with a flat-screen, wall-mounted one?

That said, the bed was very comfortable, as were the pillows (not always the case) and the duvet lovely and snuggly, and there were unexpected extras such as biscuits and a bottle of water alongside the usual tea and coffee.

We all enjoyed our evening and will be back in two years' time!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneD75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Perfect venue for our friends wedding dinner and reception. I'd like to say a special thank you to the staff especially Dawn who excelled my expectations! Many thanks guys

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elliotbatchelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We booked into the Inn for 2 nights as we were at a wedding nearby. In the past I would never have stayed at an Inn where breakfast was served in the public area because of the foul smell of stale cigarettes etc. But due to the smoking ban, staying in Inns is going to become a regular habit.
The Golden Lion was just so lovely. (loads of FREE car parking spaces) The Inn itself is so quaint and historic, foreign visitors would love it. The rooms were in a modern block that the family (3rd generation owners) have had built. The rooms were lovely, clean and very comfortable. The beds divine!!!!!! I didn't want to leave. The bathrooms are new and very clean with a lovely power shower and fluffy towels. There isn't a lift so if stairs are a problem ask for a ground floor room. The food in the Inn restaurant is lovely with a varied menu with attentive staff. The breakfast catered for everyone's taste ranging from Continental to full English. No shortage of tea and coffee and no-one rushes you.
They have an outside seating area under a Gazebo with comfy armchairs to relax and have a drink.
. The countryside is just beautiful with lots of places to walk including a river/canal (didn't go so not sure which it is). It is also handy for Warwick Castle which is definately worth a visit.
It's not a 5 star impersonal posh hotel. It's a family run, lovely friendly INN that is just sooo relaxing with very reasonable prices. Defo worth a visit.

Room Tip: No Lifts. I assume all the rooms are a nice as the one we had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lyndacraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

This pub is quite near to where we live but we hadn't eaten there for many years so we decided to give it another try. It was still what some reviewers have called "olde worldy" but I would describe it as down at heel and scruffy. There is not much choice on the menu so all our party opted for the fish and chips which was pretty average but not an average price - almost £12 per head. The pleasant waitress brought us the sweet menu but as each dish cost £5.10 we declined. Even a bowl of ice cream was over £4.
How can a country pub charge this much for such plain fayre? We noticed that although most diners asked for the sweet menu few actually ordered from it. Had the sweets been priced between £3.50 and £4 we would certainly have ordered one.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank JoocyLoosy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

another pub which thinks it can charge top restaurant prices for average food £9.00 for a vegetable curry (with 3 vegetables) was very over priced and nearly £13.00 for a chicken curry with no accompliments is poor. The staff are very freindly and the location good but there are lots of pubs near by which offer better value for food

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank skybluericoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

I cannot comment on the hotel as I only stopped for a business lunch. As soon as I walked through the door I could smell chip fat, they obviously need some more extraction in their kitchen. Lunch was ok but nothing special. The whole place is decorated and furnished in times gone by. When I left and got back into my car I could smell the chip fat on my clothes, not nice.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fairview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Easenhall
2.9 mi away
Brownsover Hall Hotel
3.7 mi away
Travelodge Rugby Central
5.4 mi away
Dunchurch Park
Dunchurch Park
#1 of 2 in Dunchurch
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Draycote Hotel
Draycote Hotel
#6 of 13 in Rugby
469 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Carlton Hotel
The Carlton Hotel
#8 of 13 in Rugby
226 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Rugby Hotel
The Rugby Hotel
#11 of 13 in Rugby
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Lion Hotel & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Lion Hotel & Inn

Address: Main Street, Easenhall, Rugby CV23 0JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Rugby > Easenhall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Easenhall
Price Range: $116 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Lion Hotel & Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the atmosphere of this 16th-century village inn, its welcoming bar, range of traditional ales and delicious, freshly cooked food. Menus are available throughout lunchtime and evening, offering a wide range of food from light snacks to a la carte meals, complimented by an extensive list of fine wines. The en-suite bedrooms are individually styled to suit the character of this historic inn and have been rated 3 Stars by the AA. Two bedrooms feature Four Poster Bed and Spa Baths. A lovely rural location just 4 miles from Rugby, 13 miles from Coventry. Enjoy a romantic break with your partner, here in a beautiful tranquil village location. Package includes bottle of sparkling wine on arrival, three course dinner from our a la carte menu, one night overnight accommodation in one of our four poster bedrooms featuring a spa bath and traditional full English breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Golden Lion Hotel & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Lion Rugby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing