We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful, magical place”
Review of 9th Wave Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brooklin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
9th Wave Lodge
LaBelle, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful, magical place”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed here back in July 2013, and this review is long-overdue. 9th Wave Lodge is an excellent place for tourists, families, business travelers, everyone. The location is gorgeous, and magical -- the full moon over the water from the dock at night is a sight not to be be missed. The main lodge with its fireplace relaxes you instantly. Walking along the beach in the morning is a perfect way to start the day. We loved the rooms (we stayed in the ones along the balcony) and the very comfortable beds (we do a lot of travelling, and the beds are outstanding). Good coffee is ready by 6 am. Kristen and Mick are the best hosts you can imagine -- thoughtful, enthusiastic, and truly caring, and gracious to both adults and children. And they are not just good hosts, but very good people, period. Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: We liked the rooms along the balcony -- beautiful wood inside and excellent beds. Very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
1
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 29, 2013

I spent a week at the 9th wave while attending a class at the Wooden Boat School and will be back any chance I get. The lodging was outstanding, the scenery magnificent, and the people incredible. After a long day of working on boats (fun but tiring) I had expected to spend my evenings exploring and reading in my room. I did a fair bit of exploring, but instead of holing up in my room spent most of my time in the warm and friendly Great Room, enjoying the fire, the other guests, and especially the company of Mick and Kristen. Warm, friendly, gracious hosts who became friends very quickly. My family are regulars in Lubec and not new to Brooklin, and now have another excellent reason to make the trip to New England from Texas.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building on the water side are a little more expensive, but worth every penny for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

My husband and I chose the 9th Wave Lodge for a fall vacation to Maine, and it was the perfect choice. The lodge is located on a peaceful stretch of water, with a pier for reflecting. The shores offer ample opportunity for walks to search out sea glass and other treasures. The hospitality was nothing short of amazing, and the hosts -- Kristin and Mick -- make you feel right at home. Try their dinners -- especially the mac n cheese and sirloin burger. The stone fireplace is perfect for getting cozy in for the evening. We stayed in the lodge portion (not the staterooms) and our room overlooked the ocean. Clean, well-appointed rooms. We used the lodge as our base camp for a week as we made day and overnight trips for hiking, bicycling, sea kayaking and sailing. It was the perfect getaway spot for some rest and relaxation. I can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Ask for the ocean side of the lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilbraham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Pristine acomodations, The atmosphire was relaxing and the vistas were beautiful. A Large cathedral ceiling and Stone Fireplace in the Dining Room. The Chef prepared meals were beautifully presented as well as delicious. The Host and Hostess were friendly and informative.
The activities, if desired, were available.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

When events prevented my husband and I with close friends from boarding our sailboat - we quickly turned a bad situation into a wonderful relaxing get away with the help of Mick and Kristen. They welcomed us as part of their family. The warm wood ensconced cozy fireplace was the source of wonderful memories. Mick was a wonderful chef and bartender while Kristen made us feel like family! We hope to spend many more days with them and their family of Shamus and Murphy. Most vacations I find myself happy to get home, but in this case it was bittersweet to leave here. The waterfront views are amazing. You can treasure hunt on the beach in low tide and relax by the water or fireplace. the food was excellent too. Far better place than the other Brooklin B&B we stayed at last year - no comparison really. This is a must see place if you enjoy peace, water, fun and food all in one place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WarBride143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2013

An attractive facility under new ownership. Spacious rooms, modern baths, natural wood decor. A very comfy, informal 'lodge' feel. Very friendly management and staff. Good food from the newly re-opened kitchen, served in a combination lounge/dining area with a big stone fireplace that is especially welcome on a foggy Maine evening. Great views of the Eggemoggin Reach from the lounge, deck, and waterfront lawn. The available moorings and deep water pier with floating docks is a huge bonus to any sailors cruising in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewartsville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Our family stayed at this beautiful newly opened waterfront lodge last week and it was a great experience. Maybe the most relaxing vacation ever! You could see the water while laying in the bed in the bedroom and there were so many beautiful places to relax. We had morning coffee on the big deck overlooking the water (and sipped some wine at sunset too!), and at night we sat on their pier and looked at the stars. Never before had we seen the milkyway, or so many stars! The kids enjoyed finding sand dollars on the beach and watching boat races. When it was time to go, they asked to stay one more day....which was a first!

The inside of the lodge is beautiful with full glass windows overlooking the water so no matter where you were, you were looking at the water. Captain Mick and his wife are the most gracious hosts and they go out of their way to anticipate and accommodate you needs. The hot breakfast was delicious every morning, and we liked that coffee was ready as early as you wanted it if you just wanted to relax and take in the beauty of the morning.

We had not been to Maine before and didn't know just how beautiful the coast was. We plan on going back and bringing our boat next time as you can moor it right off the dock. The lodge is also a great place for a gathering of friends or a family reunion as it is large enough to accommodate a group, yet small enough to offer a quaint get together.

I would recommend this place for it ambiance summer or winter, for couples who just want a romantic getaway or for families who are looking for a great vacation place!

Room Tip: If you want a log home/rustic style room, stay in the Estate rooms (a little larger). If you are tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Thereseb23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 9th Wave Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 9th Wave Lodge

Property: 9th Wave Lodge
Address: 482 Reach Rd, Brooklin, ME 04616-3527
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Brooklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Brooklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 9th Wave Lodge is where the magic happens. Newly reopened, oceanfront, family operated lodge in Brooklin, Maine overlooking the Eggemoggin Reach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
9th Wave Lodge Brooklin, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing