We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hardest trying place around.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Brooklin Inn

Brooklin Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Brooklin
Price range: $25 - $45
Cuisines: Pub, American, Steakhouse, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Fine Dining, exclusively Organic or Local ingredients, Irish Pub, Bed and Breakfast. Open year round, daily in summer, 5 days a week November to May. Fresh Fish, 7 page wine list, Aged steak, our own desserts, Guinness on tap and local beers on tap. Pizza, burgers and nightly specials in the Pub...Full menu upstairs and down.
North Brooksville, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
72 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Hardest trying place around.”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Chip the owner has offered quality food for years. Most local and/or organic. Puts his heart into everything. People just don't seem to find it or get it! Wine dinners are a blast. One the 11th of April/12. See you there.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    18
    10
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blue Hill, Maine
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Choose from cozy basement pub or fine dining upstairs”
Reviewed February 17, 2012

We really like the Brooklin Inn and dine there frequently. The pub is relaxed, friendly and has a homey menu. Upstairs, is all about the fine dining. Fresh, local ingredients are showcased in a changing menu. Excellent wine list and Chip, the owner, can recommend just the right bottle. We have never been disappointed. Great place to take visitors summer and winter.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mainemermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklin, Maine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great wine list, but uneven food”
Reviewed September 18, 2011

This was my first visit of the year to Brooklin Inn and on the night we were there it did not reach its previous standards. My expectations were high, based on last year's visit and while my blue fish was excellent, my wife's tuna was tasteless and cold. The mashed potatoes were lumpy and lukewarm, and our salads were disappointing. Service from our East European waitress was friendly enough, but she found it difficult to deal with our polite request for warmer vegetables. There is an excellent wine list that has an award from the Wine Spectator and mark-ups are fair. If they could tighten up on quality control in the kitchen, this would be a great place to eat.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brooklintraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
1 review
“Worth The Visit”
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Didn't stay in a room, but did stop in for dinner one night. Food was excellent. Wait staff was friendly and competent. Nice atmosphere. Quaint and charming setting. I did get the impression that the owner was a bit of a snob. Perhaps we were not dressed up to his standards as we sort of popped in after a day of sight seeing. Owner tried to oversell us. The bill was incorrect and he seemed to be reluctant to correct it. Got the impression he was a bit dishonest but could have just been a bad night for him. Visited the pub the next night. Barmaid was very friendly and competent. Met some good people at the bar. Good conversation. All in all a pleasant experience.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilliamZN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“Best food we have found in Maine”
Reviewed August 1, 2011

I had the Lobster with Risotto. Risotto was wonderful, Vegetable unigue and tasty.My companion had a Chicken Sherry which she really enjoyed.
The service was alright yet the waitstaff had trouble comunicating but tried her best to please us.
The owner was very helpful and Knowledgable of the wines being served.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrsWilkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brooklin Inn also viewed

Brooklin, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Brooklin, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Blue Hill, DownEast and Acadia Maine

Been to Brooklin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing