We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pavo Real by the Sea

Pavo Real by the Sea
Reserve with OpenTable
Pavo Real by the Sea is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $85
Cuisines: Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Pavo Real by the Sea is an intimate, magical restaurant at the edge of the best beach in the world. You will come for the gorgeous view, you will come back for the incredible food prepared by Chef Alfonso Gonzalez and the attentive service and excellent wine list. Enjoy cocktails in the open-air bar at the edge of the beach, then choose a table in the garden or in the cozy salon decorated with original art, sit back and let us serve you a meal you won't be able to forget. The menu includes fresh foie gras, local fish and seafood, rack of lamb, beef tenderloin, bouillabaisse...And more. For a really special occasion, reserve a private romantic dinner on the beach. We look forward to your visit.
Germantown, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Had a very nice pleasant dinner with my wife. The view is very nice. A chauffeur picks you up at the entrance and drives you through the mangroves( feels like you are in Jurassic Park) which is very cool. For appetizer I had the mushroom soup and my wife had the scallop soup and they were equally excellent. For dinner I had the lamb which was excellent. My wife had the infused squid which was delicious as well. The cost if paid by pesos was about $15 less than if you paid by US Dollars. Always be conscious that the restaurants don't always give the best exchange rates

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Doug M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    38
    8
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Germantown, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Glad we tried Pavo Real”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

Lovely experience from beginning to end. The ride to the restaurant was fun, once we arrived, the staff made us feel special. The menu is sophisticated, it was hard to pick just one dish. I had the stuffed squid and it was delicious. My husband had the rack of lamb and he loved it. The restaurant is very romantic.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ACR_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Magical dinner and quality service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

We loved our dining experience was amazing, would definitely go back again and again. Not only great service but the food was out of this world. I have been to many restaurant in Playa del Carmen, the peacock by the sea is a great experience ... the French chef has a great seasoning, my respect! we attended the service at home Josué and finish our dinner, a rich Mayan coffee prepared in front of your table. the place is most beautiful .... I would definitely recommend ... do not forget to book your table!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank greenblackolive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“pure magic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

We spent an amazing evening at Pavo Real. The setting is spectacular, the food was great, the staff was totally attentive and fun.... you get the picture! If you are in this area, be sure to make time for a dinner here.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lornell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

We had a great dinner at pavo real, everybody in our party enjoyed their food very much. The ride is a Little bit long but fun. we had some nice cocktails and great wine. the staff is very attentive and friendly. it's a Little expensive but it is worth it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dimitri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pavo Real by the Sea also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Pavo Real by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing