We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and right next door to our hotel.”

Pavo Real by the Sea
Reserve with OpenTable
Pavo Real by the Sea is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $85
Cuisines: Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Pavo Real by the Sea is an intimate, magical restaurant at the edge of the best beach in the world. You will come for the gorgeous view, you will come back for the incredible food prepared by Chef Alfonso Gonzalez and the attentive service and excellent wine list. Enjoy cocktails in the open-air bar at the edge of the beach, then choose a table in the garden or in the cozy salon decorated with original art, sit back and let us serve you a meal you won't be able to forget. The menu includes fresh foie gras, local fish and seafood, rack of lamb, beef tenderloin, bouillabaisse...And more. For a really special occasion, reserve a private romantic dinner on the beach. We look forward to your visit.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
109 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Lovely and right next door to our hotel.”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

This place is sort of hidden in the Maroma Hotel complex-a 3 minute beach walk although the hotel won't tell you where it is. It's just to the north of the Maroma hotel spa in buildings that look like the hotel but aren't. The Trip advisor shows it on the highway, but it's on the beach.

Very elegant and small. Not quite as expensive as I'd thought after reading the reviews. You can spend a lot but we had dinner and desert and a bottle of wine for about $140. The food is very good but the ambience is really romantic. I wouldn't take kids there. It's a grown-up menu and setting.

We didn't have reservations and it didn't seem to be a problem although I'm sure they would prefer that you have reservations.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank apinnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariePavoReal, Gerente at Pavo Real by the Sea, responded to this review, January 4, 2015
Good morning, we are happy to read your positive comment on our restaurant and notice how much you have liked it. It is indeed located right in the middle of the Belmond Maroma, right on the beach so, if you come by the highway, you have to get here through a nice path in the jungle.

Thank you kindly, Marie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    354
    42
    8
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“perfect romantic and relaxing ambience”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

we just spent a week in riviera maya, to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. we went to pavo real on our last night (as was recommended by a couple we met on our trip). it was everything they described and beyond. the food was delcious, the service was wonderful, and the ambience was spectacular. the ride through the jungle to get there is quite a ride and then when you arrive you will come to a beautiful relaxing and romantic dinner on the beach. would absolutely recommend for a wonderful night! thanks so much!!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lbfreedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariePavoReal, Gerente at Pavo Real by the Sea, responded to this review, January 4, 2015
Good morning, we are happy to read your positive comment on our restaurant and notice how much you had liked it. It is highly appreciated.

Thank you kindly, Marie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Ambience”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We chose this restaurant based upon reviews from Tripadvisor, and it lived up to it's 5 rating! We were close by at Mayan Palace so our taxi was just $10 US.

It confused us as to why they would pick us up at the gate, couldn't our taxi driver just drive us there? But once on property we realized exactly why. The 5 minute drive from the gate is down a dirt unlit road, with a few unsigned turns. The driver picked us up and although he spoke no English, he was very friendly, laughing at our attempts at his language.

Once at our destination, a very nice gentleman escorted us around the Villa Angela property to the restaurant. We had reservations, made on-line, so we had a nice table outside on the patio. There is 1 table on the grass by the beach, about 5 tables on the patio and 2 inside.

At night you cannot see the ocean, but the patio tables are situated around the lighted pool, and beautiful gardens. Between courses, we took a short walk around the lighted area, down to the beach, which is beautiful.

The tables are set beautifully, with glass chargers, candles and nice tablecloths. They are generous sized, so you are not fighting elbows to eat.

The service was wonderful. Our drinks were perfect. I had a Dirty Goose martini and my hubby had a Green Apple martini and later a beer. They brought a small cup of special soup before we ordered, and a basket of breads with butter. I had a salad, my husband had the soup of the day, and both had the rack of lamb, and split a dessert. Knowing how much rack of lamb costs in the states, we were very pleasantly surprised at the price. The total for our meal was $130 US, not including tip. Being this is a gourmet restaurant with drinks, we were happy with the total

We would HIGHLY recommend this restaurant for all categories, especially romantic evening!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kittylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariePavoReal, Gerente at Pavo Real by the Sea, responded to this review, January 4, 2015
Good morning, thank you very much for your nice review. It is highly appreciated. We are glad you enjoyed your experience with us.

Hoping to see you on your next vacation.

Kind regards, Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“French Food in Riveria Maya”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

This little gem is very difficult to find, so take them up on the free transportation; if you are in a Riveria Maya resort, they will pick you up and take you home after your meal.
We booked the Romantic Dinner on the beach; they only do one couple per night so it is an exclusive opportunity. The table was beautifully prepared near the water, with extensive candle lighting and an antique rug on the sand under the table. When we arrived they greeted us in the parking lot with a welcome cocktail, and escorted us to the table where several passers-by were gathered taking photos where we were to dine. It is a very romantic setting.
There is a limited menu selection for this special dinner, but we had no issues with selections and the food quality was very good. The service was impeccable and quite friendly.
Although the portions were nice and the food was very good, if you are basing the price of the evening on an expectation for the culinary experience alone, you might leave disappointed. If you are mentally allocating $200 or more of the cost toward the one-of-a-kind experience of being served and eating privately in this incredibly beautiful spot, you will be very happy.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maromero, Manager at Pavo Real by the Sea, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for your comments. You couldn't have chosen a better place to have a private romantic dinner on the beach, and we're so glad that you enjoyed it. The menu for this special dinner features the best selections from our kitchen and a bottle of wine or champagne to make it even more festive. If you consider the welcome cocktail, the canapés, the set up on the beach, the three gourmet courses, the wine, and the fact that you're dining on one of the most gorgeous beaches in the Riviera Maya, we think the price is well worth the experience.

Sally Shaw Moreno
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Grand Disappointment”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

After reading the reviews above I chose this restaurant over the "officiously" elegant restaurant of the resort for a special birthday. Here at the Pavo Real everything was festive and excellent as reviewed; except for the food. After arriving which was actually part of the fun...and entering the dining area our expectations were very high. The music, the evening lighting and the soft ocean waves embellished the expectant atmosphere. Initial wine by the glass, bread sticks and tiny complementary soup were wonderful and added to the anticipation. After ordering, picture taking and admiring the soft table lighting the main courses arrived with a bit of fanfare to reveal our choices under gleaming domed covers. The end. There is no "best part" of the colorless, bland and over-steamed tenderloin...covered with a large lobster tail, meaty but equally as bland with a cute combination of vertical scalloped potato and some odd veggies in a pea mash. Next to me even the sizeable rack of lamb was bland and gamey. There was no crispness, no outstanding aftertaste and no joy of partaking a fine meal. While I generally question those who claim exquisite taste and I spared no expense in believing them, this was a sad disappointment. I would go back for a small lunch during the day when that might be available; but presentation is not food excellence.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DomAIJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maromero, Owner at Pavo Real by the Sea, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Thank you for your review of your dinner in Pavo Real by the Sea. We are very sorry that the main course didn't live up to your expectations and we have taken your comments to heart as an opportunity to improve and to try to make every dining experience in Pavo Real a very special occasion. In particular, based on your view that the food was "colorless", we will be improving the yellow lighting on the tabletops which, although very attractive, does subdue the vibrant colors of the food. If you plan on visiting the Riviera Maya in the future we will be pleased to invite you to have lunch or dinner "on the house".

Sally Shaw Moreno
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pavo Real by the Sea also viewed

Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
Playa del Carmen, Riviera Maya
 

Been to Pavo Real by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing