We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (10,219)
Filter reviews
10,220 results
Traveler rating
4,929
3,518
1,038
410
325
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
4,929
3,518
1,038
410
325
Show reviews that mention
All reviews privileged guests privileged section privileged rooms tapas restaurant privileged upgrade privilege room crepes great beach juice bar a la carte restaurants animation team beach bar main buffet honeymoon suite white sand other resorts breakfast and lunch
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 10,220 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

3 Days at the Catalonia Maroma privaledged.
Upon first glance things looked nice. Relatively quick check in. Room on ground floor bld 6. I have a bum knee so I looked for a ride to the building(about 500 metres) not available.Thankfully bld was close to the pool and close to the beach. Resteraunts were close as well. First come first serve and one resteraunt privileged for breakfast lunch and dinner. Thank goodness for the breakfast or I would have had to hobble to the buffet way back at the lobby. Wife tried it and it's the usual fare and crazy line ups at the egg station. Room was clean and spacious. A few things worn out or broken. A nice ground floor patio garden view. Wi fi was excellent all over, no complaints. Beach was fantastic. Sea grass issues in the surf but that is all over as well.
Pool was nice, and the usual games in the a.m. Smaller resort so not too crowded. Lots of Europeans so the menus are geared towards them, which is fine but my issues are with the quality of the product as well as the end result. Too often meals were over cooked and bland and the ingredients were sub par. The last evening we had a fish dish (way overcooked) and a braised beef in a something sauce. Horrible gristle, tough and nasty, Mostly Back bone I think. Soups were cold. Salads were ok. Deserts were fair. Tiramasu with tea flavor, instead of cofee that's criminal.
House red wine not nice at all, white was better.
Cocktails were good but I wasn't drinking too much anyway.
Many stays in this area before so I like this resort for some things. Beach, wifi pool, room. Dislike the meals overall. I have cooking experience by the way so I know quality... Not looking for wagu beef.
Fresh fish is easy to find here. Never saw catch of the day. Japanese restaurant was a big miss. Steak house was probably the best for us. Mexican buffet style lunch was lacking in my opinion. Pica de gallo was really bland. My wife liked the breakfasts both specialty and buffet but not so much on lunch and dinner. Staff were generally helpful and happy to say hello, a few bad apples mostly in the resteraunts, somewhat grumpy even with tipping. Go figure? Tough call on returning as the resort is fine and amenities are good too but not to impressed with the meal plan...
3 1/2 stars out of 5

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Neztravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catalonia_Caribbean, Social Media at Catalonia Playa Maroma, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear John,

Thank you very much for taking the time to assess your experience and detail the aspects that stood out the most during your stay.

Definitely receiving demanding guests always helps us to improve our offer, all our visitors are very important but there are those who stand out for their experience and allow us to see our accommodation with different eyes, thank you very much for the confidence to point out the areas of opportunity found, certainly there are actions that are affecting us and, reinforcing our standards and processes, we will be able to eliminate them.

Dear John, hopefully you will decide to repeat the Catalonia Experience, in this case, it would be a pleasure to welcome you back and show you the positives changes we can achieve.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The good:

Beach/pool – I’m combining the two as it’s arguably the best part of this resort. You can switch between the two in seconds. Both are connected by a bar. Both are great.

During our stay, the beaches were clean, semi-occupied (good amount), chairs were always available, and staff walked around and asked to participate in activities / offered drinks. Local vendors walked around as well but they weren’t very intrusive.

The pool is large and consists of several sections (bar, middle, side). The middle section is few degrees cooler compared to other sections (F). It also has slightly submerged seats/tables, is deep enough to jump into and large enough to swim around (laps, etc). The last ‘side’ section is shallow/quiet and is located by the pool cabanas.

Rooms/middle of the hotel: aesthetically, the resort is charming and well maintained. There is a path/trail surrounded by trees, which goes from the lobby all the way to the beach/pool area. The main path has side paths which take you to your rooms. The entire park/path is covered by local animals called coatis (spelling?). They are calm and non-intrusive (unless you start feeding them, then expect them to follow you). The rooms are okay but could use a lift (there was some construction going on during our stay, so maybe they’re renewing all of the resort – we stayed in Dec 2019).

The bad:

Nightly entertainment/shows: we attended one show (half of). We were disappointed in the quality compared to our previous experiences (Mexico and elsewhere). Performers were forgetting steps, some were getting lost etc.

Bars at night: the main bar in the lobby, which is located by the night club/entertainment venue, closes fairly early (1030-11pm). When that bar closes, most people call it a night and the resort dies down. This may be a pro or a con depending on what you’re looking for.
*Note that you can still get drinks at the night club until about 2am.

Food: while the specialty restaurants were great and fun to attend (ex. hibachi), the buffets were very disappointing. The food there was cold, seemed to be all over the place and lacked cohesiveness. There was a little bit of everything but not enough of anything. If it wasn’t for the two food trucks by the pool (tacos & Mexican hot dogs), we would be starving during the day.

*I wouldn’t recommend the Italian specialty restaurant, but all others were great. The hibachi Japanese was amazing!

Room tip: clean beach
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank MateuszStec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catalonia_Caribbean, Social Media at Catalonia Playa Maroma, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Mateus,

Thank you for sharing your opinion, we appreciate the opportunity you have given us to host you, pleased to know that you enjoyed the pool, beach and distribution of our facilities.

About your comments on the quality of the buffet, let me inform you that our Executive Chef is informed and will look for immediate actions to improve the experience of our guests; in the same way, our entertainment team will be more training to offer a quality night show.

Thank you very much for having stayed with us and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We are a mature couple who have traveled extensively in the Caribbean and have stayed at several all inclusive's in Mexico. There are bigger and more luxurious resorts but this fit us nicely. We booked a Privileged room in building 6 near the beach, pool and restaurants. The room was very comfortable, clean, good mattress, strong hot shower, good air conditioning, etc. The food at the BLoved restaurant was our favorite - some dishes were exceptional. We enjoyed the view at the Italian restaurant over the beach at night, a wonderful setting at sunset! The Japanese was also very good. The beach is wide and beautiful and windy at this time of year and the seaweed was not a problem. We enjoyed watching the Kite Surfers riding the wind and waves. You can walk for miles in both directions on the beach. The jungle walk to the lobby is also fun with the coati and other wildlife. The service and friendliness at all the Privileged Restaurants was great. We recommend this resort.

Room tip: Upgrade to Privileged Area
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IslandHoppper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catalonia_Caribbean, Social Media at Catalonia Playa Maroma, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear guest,

First of all, let me thank you for your kind recommendation, this is how we have grown up and every year we receive and say goodbye to thousands of guests offering our best service so that they return home with the best memory Catalonia.

Thank you very much for your trust, we will be glad to see you again as a guest and serve you, we hope it will be soon.

Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

In my opinion The best hotel on the Riviera Maya in terms of price and quality (previously vacationing in Rio, Iberostar).Every year we take privileged room.The best beach I've seen on the Riviera Maya.The kitchen is gorgeous, every day three types of fresh fish, good Spanish wine.Burghers and steaks are wonderful.Awesome breakfasts. There are no queues anywhere-the hotel is average in size.The territory is very green and well-groomed.The staff has not changed for years-we are here for the fifth year in a row.Once we were with them in Tulum - far away, but here just right.Vacationers are mostly from Europe.

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Discover545556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catalonia_Caribbean, Social Media at Catalonia Playa Maroma, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Igor,

What a nice comment and what a pleasure to know that Catalonia is still your choice to enjoy an escape to nature and relaxation.

It is a fortune that you could enjoy the Privileged experience, it is definitely a complement that gives an extra touch to the stay. I will share your comments to our Chef about the quality of the food, he and his team will be flattered.

Igor, we hope to have the opportunity to see you again enjoying the great Catalonia service, please feel free to contact us if you require pre arrival assitance on your next vacation.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just returned from an absolutely wonderful, relaxing week on one of the most beautiful beaches in Mexico. If you see negative reviews I would suggest that they are way too picky or they need to spend more money and stay at a high end luxury resort.
- The beach is white soft sand and you can walk in either direction a long way. Yes there is some seaweed at times but this is mother nature and it gets cleaned up by the hard working staff. It was very windy when we were there but calm the last day and the water is a beautiful green.
- Room was amazing, clean and looked recently upgraded. The cleaning staff were extremely friendly and did a great job every day. We were Privileged in building 6 so not sure what the other rooms looked like.
- The buffet was decent but not a lot of variety between days and just average in terms of quality but certainly nothing to complain about.
- The A La Carte restaurants were simply amazing. We ate most dinners here and each meal was well prepared, delicious and the service was impeccable. We also had some lunches and breakfasts in the Beloved restaurant as we were Privileged and again these meals were fantastic.
- The entertainment staff did a great job during the day engaging with guests and the nightly shows were enjoyable. These young people work extremely long days to make the overall experience memorable.
- There is just one big pool but it feels like 4 as sections are divided by shallow under water walkways. Each section provides a different experience and water levels vary by area. You could always find a lounger by the pool although the good spots were taken early. Never an issue finding a spot on the beach. The swim up bar is a great place to have a drink.
- Drinks were great, a good selection of some premiums like Tanqueray and Bacardi and the bartenders and waiters were always friendly and available.
- This is not a large busy resort and it is not a quiet luxury one either. It fits right in the middle if you want a smaller feel with all the activities. The walk through a jungle like setting from the main lobby to the beach is only a few minutes.
Overall we would highly recommend the Catalonia Playa Maroma for couples or families who want to relax by the pool or beach and enjoy a few activities as well. This is a lovely resort with friendly staff, beautiful grounds and an amazing beach.

Room tip: Buildings 5/6 are closer to pool, A La Carte and beach but longer walk to lobby/buffet and nightly show.
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gdbkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catalonia_Caribbean, Social Media at Catalonia Playa Maroma, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear guest,

Let me thank you for the time and kindness you have spent in expressing your feelings and sharing your experience, for us it is a pleasure to create these beautiful memories to our guests, we work every day with our best effort and putting our heart in every action.

Thank you very much for detailing every aspect, it is very good to read the perception of our guests as we can find areas of opportunity.

We appreciate very much your preference and hope you can come back next year, it will be a pleasure to spoil you once again.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews