We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our expectations - small relaxing resort ona 5 stars beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Catalonia Playa Maroma
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Playa Maroma
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed January 9, 2010

We are the well traveled couple in our 40-ties from Vancouver, Canada, stayed at numerous 3-4-5 stars AI resorts before (Palladium chain is our favorite, with RIU, Barcelo to follow, we do not stay at the high end resorts as we want to travel a lot). Our stay was for the New Years holidays from Dec.27 to Jan.3 2010. Our flight was with the WestJet (direct, good but expensive and for THAT money they only had food and movies for purchase during the flight), our transfer was with the entertainment-plus.net (excellent service, allow last minute booking, not expensive), resort booking was made trough the hotel.ca a day before we left (good price, allows really last minute booking, had discount trough visaperks.ca) We picked this resort because we wanted to stay at the famous Maroma beach and other two resorts that are there (Secretes Maroma - AI and Maroma - non AI resort) were VERY expensive. Overall the resort Catalonia Playa Maroma has exceeded our expectation being good quality no frills and reasonable priced resort located on a beautiful beach. I would rate the resort's facilities and rooms as 3*, the food as 4 * and the location and service as 5 *.
Our Room Type was Privilege-Standalone (as per hotel.ca booking receipt), I asked for a room on a higher floor and after some conversation with receptionist we were given a room #6324 in a Palenque building (partial ocean view). There are 6 accommodation buildings at the resort - 3 by the left side and 3 by the right side running perpendicular to the beach with the central path in between. Our building #6 was by the left side if facing the sea closest to the beach. Privilege-Standalone type of the room stands for the renovated rooms - they also have standard rooms (cheaper, not renovated) and honeymoon rooms (the same as Privilege rooms but with the jacuzzi on the balcony). If you book the regular room, you can upgrade to the renovated Privilege room or the Honeymoon room for about $20-25 pp a day with the added bonus of the stocked fridge (water, pop, beer), coffeemaker, free late checkout, some other perks - we only found useful the late checkout as we normally pay to get one anyways. The size of the rooms is the same so if looking for the accommodation with the kids the upgrading of the room will not get you an extra room space so decide for yourselves if the add payment is worth it for you - all rooms are clean and OK. Our Privilege room was very nice with the big shower, lots of storage space, free digital safe, free wireless internet, small stocked fridge, good balcony, good water pressure and nice medium softness bed.

PROS:
Location, location, location...
- located on one of the beast beaches in Riviera Maya -white sand and picturesque blue water, about 30 min taxi ride from the airport with about a half mile of the intact forest between the resort and a highway so you do not hear it at all and feel like being away from civilization with the 100 % fresh air - we have not seen or smell a single car for a week. Awesome air, sand and sea water quality - all clear. The beach is good for walking/running both ways for about a mile bare feet - to the left you get to the Iberostar Paraiso complex, to the right you get to the Eldorado Playa Maroma (the beach is not good there);
- No towel games in the mornings - there is enough shade for everyone and people do not reserve chairs at the dusk, I woke up first day in the early morning to reserve my chair in the shade and guess what - there were people on the beach at 6 am that actually came to watch a sunset not to reserve chairs!
- awesome crepes for a snack by the pool/beach bar instead of fries/hamburgers;
- free Wi-Fi internet in the rooms - just bring your laptop or netbook, the free digital safe in the room is big enough for 14";
- no towel cards - you can get as many towels as you want and leave them on the sunbed after you used them or return to the kiosk;
- no reservation and no limit for alacarte dinners at the 3 sit down restaurants - eat as often as you want where you want, just walk in;
- no strict rules re.long pants for the restaurants - dressy shorts with the collar shirt was OK;
- no swim up bar in the pool so the water there was very clean (you know what I mean), they check the quality of water every day - I have seen them taking the probes;
- brand name drinks at the beach bar but you have to ask (they run out of Baileys after a few days);
- drink service on the beach;
- free shuttle to Playa Del Carmen - first bus leaves in the morning returns at 5 pm, second leaves at 6 pm returns at 11 pm;
- free guided ride of the catamaran 1 hour every day (they provide you with the instructor on board that is riding the boat with you free of charge - less excitement but more sailing);
- Mexican buffet night on Saturdays, do not miss it;
- no mosquitoes in January (it might be different dep. on the season);
-low density of the people during the very high season;
--twice a day housekeeping, our cleaning lady was doing very good job being mostly invisible for us;
awesome service provided by all the employers of the resort, we felt welcome at all times regardless we tipped or not. We did.
-very nice mix of the quite a few Canadians, Italians, French, US, Polish, German etc. people - very polite, well dressed (or undressed) and well behaved people to be with with not a single drunk person or screaming kid for a whole week.

CONS

- really lime evening entertainment with some life music in the lobby - we didn't like the quality, and uncomfortable theater with the low quality shows that we didn't attend - peeked a few times and left, so we spent more time at the beach bar in the evenings;
- no privacy on the balconies (see through dividers);
- limited selection of the food at the buffet at the regular days comparing to the most of the resorts we stayed at before, but all of it was fresh and you could find what to eat, just OK, so we moved to the restaurants every night but families with the small kids that prefer to eat at the buffet might be disappointed;
- late start for the bar on the beach - 9 am, so you can not have the cappuccino on the beach earlier then that. There was a coffeemaker in the room with the coffee supplied but I do not drink filtered coffee only espressos;
- no ocean view from the beach restaurant as it is set a little bit inland only pool view;
- nothing to eat by the beach until 10 am when crepes place opens so we had a late breakfast, a tray with the fruits and pastries would be good enough to go with the morning coffee;
- beach bar was a little to busy when there were more people - not enough capacity for the beach and pool crowds;
- shade type on the beach is a gazebo type that runs over about 10 sun beds with the spaced out planks on the room instead of the usual palapas and it might be not protecting enough in the summer - it was fine in the winter;
- no book exchange place although you can ask on the reception and they give you a few that were left by the people before.

Overall, our stay was quieter and more relaxed than at any other place we stayed at with as less restrictions as possible, you do not really need to go to the lobby at all if you do not want to. We stayed all week at the beach bare feet - coffee at 9 am, crepes with the ham and cheese and a beer for my husband and with the fruits and cheese with the tea for me at 10 am, lunch at the beach restaurant, dinner at the one of the beach ala-cartes, casual stroll to the lobby in the evening - with unlimited sunbathing, swimming and beach walking in between! The weather was good for that time of the year meaning that it is a winter time in Mexico too. We hadn't had any rain in a week, with a few quiet days and a few very windy days that we spent on the beach anyways in our swimsuits just placed the second sunbed on its side close to the one we lay on to protect ourselves from the wind. For us being 100% beach people it was the right place to have a very relaxing vacation.
Tip - bring a netbook - it is a very small laptop - to read on the beach and to check the e-mails in the room to stay connected with the families back home.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Olga62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,874)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,298 - 2,304 of 7,874 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2010

This was our first trip so we didnt know exactly what to expect staying at an all inclusive resort. The drive into the hotel will throw you off because it is gravel roads and trees/bushes, I was scared at first until we saw the actual entrance to the resort. The resort is nice but if you do decide to stay at the resort your best bet would be to upgrade your room seeing as the standard rooms could use some renovations, but if you dont plan on spending much time in your room then a standard room will do. Over all the food from the snack bar and restaurant were ok, but the a la carte's (mexican, italtian and meditranean) were awesome, the food was great, service was great and the presentation of the food made it look even better! I found that the meat isnt cooked well enough, we ran into alot of raw pork and chicken but that could have just been our bad luck, if you like your steak medium rare, or even just medium .... ask for it well done and thats how you will get it. Moving on, the staff is so friendly, very hard working people, they made our stay very pleasent ... I would go back because the service was great. If you are an american or Canadian looking to meet friends this may not be the greatest resort, we are the miniority, this specific resort was mostly french, italian and spanish speaking, it made it difficult to interact with people. Although we did meet a few canadians that we made good friends with!!!

The beach is beautiful, soft sand, no rocks, beautiful angel fish (small and harmless, even though im scared of fish) ....

This resort is not a place to party, very quiet at night, the disco wasnt a big hit ... but you could also take a cab to playa del carmen and go out at night to a bar/club there. Coco Bongos and Blue Parrot was awesome, Senor Frogs has to be the best place to go for lunch, it was a great experience.

Overall we had a great time ... we would go back to the resort.

Bring bug spray, the mosiquitos are bad at night ....

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank slpachecks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2010

The main feature of this hotel is the beach. It's AWESOME. Maroma was voted mexico's best beach and this is well deserved. There isn't a rock on it, white sand as far as the eye can see, it's wide and the water is clear and gorgeous. It's like walking into a bath tub. Just lovely. There is a PADI Scuba company on site that will take you out on their boat for excursions, and we also did a snorkle trip with them by van to snorkle in a water cave as well as at to snorkel on a beach with loads of turtles. We saw a ton of turtles as well as a barracuda and some sort of ray. Really excellent sights.

The down side was that the scuba staff was all Italian with little English, so for us, being native English speakers, that was a challenge. We got by but we didn't get to hear a lot of the information he was giving the other people on the excursion.

The hotel itself is pretty attractive with lots of greenery and palm trees. The buffet dinning areas are outside under cover but exposed to all the mosquitos that gather in the evening so that was a tad annoying. The a la cartes are hard to get reservations in but we did get to the mexican restaurant which was pretty good and the wait staff was very nice and polite. Enjoyed a really neat after dinner alcoholic coffee drink that was set on fire. They do quite an interesting little routine with lighting it and pouring the fire from one cup to the next.

The hotel is pretty quiet at night. They have entertainment shows that are fairly silly but fun enough to watch. There was a DJ who played music in the lobby and some people got up to dance. There is a "disco" that is very small and had hardly anyone in it when we stuck our heads in. It's a quiet night scene for sure but if you don't mind that then it's perfectly pleasant to sit in the lobby area and have an after dinner drink.

The rooms are very average but I dont go to Mexico to sit in my room so I really can't say this matters much. The bathroom was clean and in working order. The Aircon worked. That was all I really needed!

It was difficult to get "extra" of anything. We needed more towels and a sewing kit at one point and they never did materialize.

The hotel has a shuttle service to Playa del carmen that goes twice a day and that is a nice feature, however more frequent departures and returns would be nice. I hear some other hotels in the area have shuttles leaving and arriving every hour.

In the lobby you can arrange to go on tours to local sights. We payed about $100 per person for a day long trip to the Mayan ruins and a couple of other small stops on the way. It was a good trip in an air con van with 3 other couples and two guides. Lunch was included and water for the day. The convenience of arranging it, paying for it all in the lobby and then being picked up at the front door was great.

Overall, this hotel was totally fine and fun and we had a good vacation but it is a 3.5 star so not super luxurious. The beach is amazing so if you really are just fine to have drinks a great beach and a relaxing stay with some snorkeling or scuba thrown in and some shopping in playa, this hotel is a pretty good price and will give you all you need. I would recommend this hotel to people who aren't too picky, LOVE THE BEACH and are looking to save a little money.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Laura_Alberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2010

We chose this resort for the great beach, which it was, wide and powdery white. It's in a beautiful setting with colourful hacienda-type buildings. The room was quite basic, the beds were horribly uncomfortable, grungy doors and mirors.
The staff were charming, It helped that we speak some Spanish. The food was really nice and plentiful. We are vegetarians who love fresh fruit and the huge choice of fruit juices available at the breakfast buffet. We ate salads galore each day and were never ill.
What really made our week unpleasant were a) the lack of comfortable seating ANYWHERE, at the beach bar (metal), in the lobby (metal), at the beach (old loungers) and in our room (hard mattresses), and b) the number of Italian guests, for whom this hotel seems to cater to exclusively. None seemed to be able to speak any English, French or Spanish, or they didn't care to, and they made it very clear anyone with a green bracelet was in a sub-category, in fact a nuisance. At least they left the palapas to us pale Canadians, as most of them preferred to fry, and smoke, in the sun all day.
One excellent feature of this hotel that no one seems to have mentioned is the fact that it is very accessible to people in wheelchairs. There are ramps everywhere, even down to the beach, with reserved palapas for easy access. There are also special wheelchairs with balloon-type wheels which can be taken into the sea. I believe that the pool also had a ramp. It was encouraging to see so many people being able to enjoy these amenities and the hotel should be congratulated.
As we were on a 2 week stay, I was thrilled when we were able to transfer at no cost, except the cab ride, to their beautiful sister resort south of Playa del Carmen, the Catalonia Royal Tulum, where we spent a wonderful, comfortable 2nd week. Fortunately, the Playa Maroma was overbooked, so they were probably glad to have our room.
Nevertheless, the Maroma would be a great resort for families with children, or for groups of friends, or for Italian speakers (as most of the "animacion" was in Italia). The weather was lovely (meanwhile it rained the whole week in Cancun) except for one wet day. The beach is wonderful for walking miles in both directions and many children were enjoying playing in the sand and at the water's edge. I have no recollection of the evg. entertainment, so it could't have been that good.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosey02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2010

We returned last night from our wonderful and peaceful trip. We left on Dec. 30 and returned on Jan. 7th (8 day trip).

Our hotel room was 5207 (block 5000 on second floor). The 5000 block is closest to the beach but furthest to the main restaurant. To ladies that will be bringing high heels - it is about 10 minute walk to the restaurant and the main entrance.

Our room was outdated with the hardest bed and pillows. I brought my own pillow so at least that was okay. The bed was so hard that it was painful when you first get up to walk. I had requested for a renovated room but it was going to cost additional 40.00 per night (US).

The food was wonderful. You will not go hungry. My husband had a tummy ache from something (maybe ice cube - he said that it tasted unusual).

We visited Playa del Carmen twice. Our hotel has made arrangements that a shuttle bus comes at 10:00 am and we return at 5:00 pm, another time is at 6:00 pm to 11:00 pm. We are dropped off around the 5th avenue (bring plenty of $ for shopping). You have to inform the front desk that you'll be going and they write your room number. The bus was full and for those people that did not inform the front desk did not go. If you don't want to stay that long the taxi fare is about 20.00 (you negotiate the price before you get in the taxi). The booze is cheaper there than the hotel.

For those of you who would like to take advantage of the spa at the hotel (it is extremely pricy). The massage package that I wanted was 175.00 for 50 minutes. If you'll be going to Playa del Carmen - there are plenty of signs for one hour massage at 33.00 US.

The beach is beautiful. I will return but will check out Grand Paradise or Paradise Lido first.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank InukOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2009

First Impression:
Dependable transportation from Cancun airport to the resort. The resort is located relatively close to the airport - roughly a 30 min drive. Many resorts have a grand entrance at the highway. This one does not. Gravel road from the highway to the resort - a little unnerving. Then another checkpoint - and you come onto the Catalonia property. Really nice entrance and open lobby area - especially nice with the lights at night.

Accomodations:
The basic rooms (green armband) are quite basic and the bathroom / vanity areas are old fashioned. The basic room also needs furnishing upgrade. Mexican colours and tile. Bed is too firm and pillows are rocks. Tolerable room if you're not expecting too much and don't get too worried about these sorts of details.
We upgraded to the honeymoon suite. It was a great decision. Lots of nice extras with this package - and the rooms are far superior. 4-poster bed - much better mattress and pillows - updated furnishings and shower head is awesome. If you're going to upgrade to the better rooms - just pay the extra $10 per day to go one step further for the honeymoon. Hot tub on the deck, access to the spa, and the beer in the fridge should be the capper!
We used the safe everyday - and had no issues with theft or security.

Nightly entertainment:
This was probably the biggest disappointment of the week. The stage and seating area are low-end. Wood bleacher seating in three sections. Open to the bugs and cooler evenings. Lighting and sound system were also poor. The spot light operators were probably sipping tequila while sleeping through the show. We were expecting more - but we also recognized that the unqualified staff can only do so much. They work 16-hour days for heaven's sake - and spend the majority of the day in the scorching sunshine - so having to deal with structured choreography (at the level of high school talent shows) at 10pm is difficult. And we also recognize that these sports / rec staff are not necessarily artistic performers. They do their best. And a couple of the shows are in fact entertaining. It's just that the resort could probably do better by hiring external dancers / performers to come in just for the nightly entertainment. Bring in better stage sets and costumes - and do it up right.

Food:
Really good. Both buffet locations had lots to offer - and we never went hungry. Food available throughout the day and night - with little nibblies in the main lobby in the evenings too. One day of the week they really kicked it up a notch and filled the main lobby buffet with awesome foods and desserts.
We were really happy with both the Italian and Mexican a-la-carte restaurants. Nice atmosphere - great service - and all for free. Eat - eat - eat. The Terrace restaurant is worth spending the money to access. Four course meal with unlimited booze and excellent service in a high-end atmosphere. And... all for nothing - if you upgrade to the honeymoon suite.

Sports and Recreation:
We were quite pleased with all that we could do through the week. Tennis courts / soccer field / archery field / beach volleyball / ping pong / darts / swimming / snorkelling / kayaking and catamaran / etc. All of the equipment is new and solid. Not crazy top of the line - but all quite usable and accessable.

Booze:
Another great part of the resort. Plentiful and terrific service. Accessible at both ends of the resort - no swim up bar - but within 20 steps - your getting your Cervasas. Did not seem watered down either. And the service does not change - whether or not you tip.

Excursions:
Go to XPlor - it's worth the $130 US. Great time zipping around the property and swimming in the caves. Make sure you take an extra set of clothes and a towel. Get there as early as you can in the morning. The day will go fast. The buffet lunch is also plentiful.
Take a cloudy day to walk the tourist trap that is Playa Del Carmen. It is 15 blocks of shopping bliss. Lots of cool places to eat and drink too. Don't EVER pay full price for any of the clothes or jewelry / trinkets. Pretend to pull out your last bit of money - and offer it up to the sales person. They'll probably take it. Jewelry is way over priced!
The transportation is very dependable, clean and newer vehicles. A nice bonus.

Overall:
A really great experience. A long (600 m) stone walkway from the main lobby to the shops and pool / beach. But beautiful both in the day and night. Lots of "jungle" surrounding the walk and the accomodations. Feel like there is nice privacy and seclusion. The property is very clean - and lots of friendly staff doing all kinds of jobs. They are all really appreciative. Ola!

Reasonable price - and better than expected perks. This place goes highly recommended. Give it a try and report back!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Jebster210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2009

Just back from a week at this resort – December 20 – 27th. Here’s my review:

Check in – quick and efficient.

Grounds & Common Areas: The resort is a nice size – not too big and not too small. Don’t let the unpaved, bumpy road concern you. The resort is quite spread out between the jungle (mangroves) and the beach. The front open air lobby and buffet restaurant are located at the beginning of the resort (in the jungle). The tennis/archery/soccer courts are located off to the side. There is a beautiful walkway from the front lobby to the beach – very tranquil, especially at night. The rooms are located in 5 units (each with there own courtyards) that branch off from the walkway (also in the jungle area). The pool, a la cartes and pool bar are located at the beach. That said, there is a lot of walking. Personally, I liked it – helped burn off the food and drinks! All the grounds are very lush and well kept – staff were constantly sweeping and cleaning. There are many birds and coatis (raccoon like animals) that run free throughout the resort.

Mosquitoes – because the resort is located in the jungle, there can be mosquitoes. We brought bug spray, but only needed it one night. The resort sprays each evening and this seemed to take care of the mosquitoes.

Food – Overall – Excellent.

Buffet – this has to be the best buffet food we have experienced. Very good omelet bar for breakfast. Dinner had very nice meats – roast beef, pork, leg of lamb, fish and turkey (for Xmas eve), pasta bar (very good lasagna), delicious soups, fresh salad mixings, fresh fruits and good desserts. All the water and ice are purified, so one can drink without worry. The wait service was outstanding at all times. There was always a non-smoking section. The Supper buffet did not open until 7 p.m. each night, so that might be kind of late for families with kids (have a late day snack in the snack bar).

A la Carte – only ate at the Mediterranean. It was just OK, but it was nice to have a sit down served meal. Service was excellent. There was also a Mexican and one that you had to pay for.

Snack bar – typical food – hot dogs, hamburgers, french fries, pizza, wings, fish, fresh salsa and chips, fruit, wine, beer, sodas.

Crêperie – lovely – our kids ate here almost every morning as they wouldn’t get out of bed. Open from 10 am – 6pm.

Lobby bar – nice drinks, not watered down. Excellent margaritas! Every night champagne and appetizers were served at 6:30.

Pool bar – again nice drinks. Beer only on tap – but was good. If you were on the beach, drinks orders were promptly filled. Also served good coffees and cappuccinos.

Beach – one word describes Maroma Beach - outstanding. Wide, powdery sand and turquoise water. You can walk along time in either direction. I preferred going south. We never had trouble finding a beach chair and beach towels were plentiful. The snorkeling is not great, but if the waves aren’t too big, there are these huge white angel fish that swim around you – bring a banana or some sausage from the buffet to feed them. Kayaks were available, as were hobbie cats (a guide would take two people out for ½ hour).

Entertainment staff – wonderful – always trying to get you to participate. Our kids played tennis and archery daily.

Clientele – mostly Italian, French or Spanish. Many games, etc. were spoken in French/Italian, so you may be at a disadvantage. This did not bother us.

There is a complementary bus service, twice a day, to and from Playa del Carmen. We took a taxi ($20US) into Playa and caught the 5:00 shuttle back. Be on time – the bus left at 5:01.

Rooms – this is the only failing grade for the resort. The rooms are separated into 5 units – we were in the Coba unit. Although the rooms are clean, the standard rooms are not nice. Beds are very hard and pillows the same. The bathrooms are in dire need of remodeling – tile is cracked and discolored (although there was no mold smell). The shower had strong pressure with plenty of hot water. In room safe. Mini fridge is stocked with complimentary bottled water and sodas. We could have updated for an extra $45 per night, but we were travelling with our kids (in their own room) and that made it uneconomical. Previous reviews stated the upgrade was $20-25 per night – so I guess the holiday season warranted the increase. We did not see the upgraded rooms, but spoke to a couple that said they were lovely – new mattresses, nice bathroom, canned beer in mini-fridge, etc.

This is a solid 3 star hotel. Not luxurious - but not a luxurious price either. If your only going for a week, this is a very good choice as it’s only 30 minutes from the airport and every minute that your not on the bus means your on the beach!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank CDMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Maroma
5.1 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#10 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4,270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
0.4 mi away
Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa
Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Playa Maroma
1,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
12,256 reviews
14.3 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#71 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
13,416 reviews
23 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
9,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Playa Maroma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Playa Maroma

Address: Carretera Federal 307 | Chetumal- Puerto Juarez Km. 306+250, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Maroma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Playa Maroma
#3 Family Hotel in Playa Maroma
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Maroma
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa Maroma
#4 Spa Hotel in Playa Maroma
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Maroma
Price Range: $190 - $521 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalonia Playa Maroma 3.5*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Playa Maroma is situated in the Mayan Riviera, at only 35 kilometers south of Cancun and 20 kilometers north of Playa del Carmen. Regarding to the Travel Channel, Playa Maroma is one of the most beautiful beaches of the world. The typical Mexican decoration with its vibrant colors and palapa roofs surrounded by the native jungle make this resort the perfect place to spend a wonderful vacation. The Mayan World has to offer a lot to its visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Catalonia Playa Maroma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Playa Maroma Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Catalonia Playa Maroma Del Carmen
Playa Maroma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing