We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nervous-Tried it- Loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Catalonia Playa Maroma
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Playa Maroma
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed June 6, 2014

After reading some reviews we were a little worried about overbooking, rude guests and the food, we took the chance and booked Privileged Superior. Emailed Pilar to make sure we had a room, it was confirmed. Arrived at 11 am room was not ready, but that was expected. Samantha in the Priv. check in was quite nice to deal with and assured us everything would be good. She was right. We loved the place, the beach is really the best we have been to in Mexico. Room was dated but clean. Top shelf liquors were hard to come by but they did have some. Food was quite good in the sit down restaurants, no carving station at the buffet would have been nice, not much of a selection for meat and potatoes lovers. Steak restaurant had the best filet we've had in nine trips to Mexico, Italian restaurant was also very good. Priviledge guest also have Terrace restaurant for sit down breakfast and lunch, which we utilized every day. If they didn't have what you liked all you had to do was asked and they tried to accommodate. We did not go hungry at CPM. The staff are very friendly and if you are polite to them, they will go out of their way to please. As for the rude Europeans, the American guests were far worse. We loved the place and are planning to return again in the fall, granted it's not a 5 star but it is clean, friendly and fun. A great bang for your buck. If you're worried about overbooking please contact the hotel in advance and confirm they have you on the list, we did and had none of the problems others have had. Again a huge thank you to Samantha, Juana, Javier, Quierino, Juan, and all the other staff for having us as their guests and providing us with a great, relaxing vacation.

Room Tip: We were in building 4, first floor and it was very convenient to the beach and restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank NK3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (8,127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,516 - 1,522 of 8,127 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2014

My husband and I stayed in April. Perfect weather. The hotel is lovely. The grounds are beautiful. There are flowers and tropical plants everywhere. We stayed in the privileged area which is close to the beach and pool and you have access to a few more restaurants. It was well worth it in our opinion. Our room was very nice. Simple, but big enough and very clean. The little balconies overlooking the fountain and grounds was very relaxing. The food is okay. Some places better than others. The beach was amazing. Simply gorgeous. Calm, clear blue water. The sand is always cool and soft to the touch. The staff is very friendly and very hardworking. Good value for the money.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank veronica3569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

I wanted a relaxing vacation so I traveled with my boyfriend to CPM from 5/18/14 - 5/24/14. It was a Jet Blue Package at an incredible price. It was a great trip and the hotel is just fine. We were Privilege and had Room 4217 and it was lovely. Even the coatis visited our section of the hotel and kinda looked for us in our goings and comings. Cheers to Patricia our housekeeper who kept things nice n orderly. The beach, although most days it was very windy, was fabulous: better than Holbox Island & Cancun. Oh! Better get a palapa early cause the sun is muy caliente! The bar had its ups n downs but mostly ups because Juan worked like a machine and kept things moving. We like to tip because everyone who served us worked hard and deserved it regardless of the all inclusive arrangement. It's just how we roll. The pool was strange with so many different depths but I'm really a beach person. The breakfast buffet was the best: rolls, sweets, fruits, juices, bacon, sausages etc and the omelette station was wonderful. Antonio managed our table area and he was so pleasant and chatty. Lunch and dinner was a challange but like someone else stated you certainly won't starve. My b/f wanted to share his lasagne receipt with the chief at the Italian restaurant because the lasagne was that bad!!! The food is the only negative I can say about CPM but I managed to gain 5 lbs. Go figure! Hope my review helps and we were so pleased we will return in 2015. Adios.

Room Tip: Seems to me if you cannot get the 6000 section 4000 section is just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Janis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Where do i begin. we went as a huge family. 25 of us, with 11 kids. overall, it was a great value. the beach was awesome, service was OK.

the beach:
one of the BEST beaches i have EVER been to. very clean water, clean white sand.. just perfect.
nothing bad to say here.

the pool:
a very nice pool design. great for kids, and adults. depth variation throughout the entire pool. bollards separate the depth areas. nice layout.
would like another pool area. with only 1 pool, i see it being packed in peak season.

the service:
what can i say? for budget vacation, i was satisfied. never an issue w/ not getting what we asked for. no complaints, really.

the food:
boooooo... i have to say, i was VERY disappointed with the food. we had days where we literally had NO meat selection. then they start grilling some chicken or something, and huge lines of people trying to get some meat! :O other days, it seemed ok.. but still, nothing what we're used to at all-inclusive resorts. had no SHRIMP!??!?! not a single day.. NONE! VERY upset w/ that.

the rooms:
no complaints here. we were privileged, so i think our rooms were 'updated' but far from modern. we didnt really care because they were pretty clean! the bathrooms are pretty old though (still clean though) and there are no tubs. just stand up showers.. not sure if thats the case for all rooms.
the housekeeping team was constantly slow. they speak ZERO english. so asking them to clean our room by 12-1p was always a challange. we had a 1.5 yr old, and wanted to come back from the beach into a clean room w/ fresh towels so we can wash and put kids down for nap. couple days, this didnt happen.
some other people in our party has the same issues. sometimes their room wasnt cleaned until 4-5pm.. thats ridiculous! so i'd say ASK ASK ASK, and tell them to clean your room ASAP, everytime you leave the room.

overall: pretty satisfied. again, the value was unbeatable. great beach, and clean. i would definitely do it again, even w/ the negatives that i pointed out!

to address some other reviews: YES.. lots of european people.. French population is majority. we didnt have a problem w/ them at all, though. yes, the staff speaks spanish and french mostly. so that could be an issue for some. we didnt care.. but during shows and presentations, english is at the end of their priority language.. so i guess, keep that in mind.

otherwise, go.. i recommend it..

Room Tip: if you can, upgrade to privileged.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ISEI3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I want to apologize now if I misspell any words during this review.

It was advertised by Bookit.com that if you booked the privileged comfort room you would get a free day at the spa wet areas. according to the Hotel that is not accurate and they did not allow any access at all unless you where paying for the services. Also we arrived at 2:00pm maybe a little earlier on May 26,2014 we did not receive a room until 5:00pm and we where the last to do so others who arrived after had received their rooms prior to us. I didn't argue with the staff but then we go to eat the next day and we are told that we do not have bracelets and that with out them we would not be able to get into the restaurants again. Now I was very upset. I went to the front desk and the guy that was giving out the rooms the night before brushed me off to one of his other co-workers and said that he did give us bracelets we must have lost them. I did not appreciate that at all. Also there is no privileged seating area for their gusts or special extras. besides a discount at the stores located at the resort. I can say however that the remaining staff was very pleasant and welcoming and apologized for the mistakes of the rest of the crew members. So thank you Javier and Jasmine for all of your help during our stay you both where a pleasure to meet.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrico R, Gerente at Catalonia Playa Maroma, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear Emily,

We thank you very much for your review as it helps us to improve and grow. We are really sorry if we did not meet your expectations during your vacation.

We would like to clarify that the only servive included when being a Privileged guest is one acces to our wet áreas in the Spa. If you wish to use some other services it will be charged to the room. We apologise if you were informed otherwise. Please note that all Privileged guests have a special discount when using Spa services, as well as special reductions in our shops or lobster dinner.

Concerning your room we would like to apologise if your room delayed more tan expected. Check-in time is at 3pm.

Regarding all the Privileged benefits we have to say that you have a special area at our main restaurant, you are allowed to have breakfast and lunch a la carte at our Terrace Restaurant (only Privileged guests), you can order room service and other special benefits that were given to you in the check-in envelope such as minibar refilled everyday and for free or slippers and bathrobe. We would like to make it clear for the rest of users that we do not practise "false advertising" as you mention in your review and we invite everyone to live the experience in order to realise that our main purpose is to please every guest in the property.

We thank you very much again and hope that you give us another chance in the future. Please do not hesitate to send us an e-mail if you have special requirements.

Kind regards,

Management Catalonia Playa Maroma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

My husband and I were looking forward to a bit of sun and relaxation and after a bit of research selected this resort. We purchased our Privledge package through Fun Jet travel and stayed May 20 - 24. We went with open minds and did not want to be swayed by some the negative remarks we had read. First off, upon arrival we were very pleasantly surprised, the property is quite lovely and we were well received by reception. We were assigned to building 6, room 6304 we both liked the room and were glad to have a king bed with a lovely courtyard view. The room was clean, comfortable and loved the mexican decor.

Beach: Fabulous, just as folks have mentioned, truly beautiful. Pool area was great, the animation team did a great job of reaching out to everyone and encouraging folks to participate in pool activities.

Food: The Italian restaurant was quite good, delicious Spaghetti Carbonara and Tiramisu. The buffet had a nice selection, great salad bar, fresh fruit, and pastries. The omlette station was great, eggs any style and yummy huevos rancheros. We also dined at the Steakhouse and that was also good

Drinks: Not great, they had an aspertame taste that left a terrible after taste. Beer was beer, cold and hit the spot on a hot day. On our last day I discovered that they make one really good Mango Margarita, so be sure and request that, no aftertaste at all.

We found all the staff very friendly and helpful. All in all, we would return, we came here to rest, relax and enjoy some sunshine not to indulge on alcohol, so mission accomplished!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MartiniGirlSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Almost don't even know where to start.... How this place has so many good reviews blows my mind.
Please take time to read this. We traveled here on our Honeymoon last week, we booked this place months in advance. When we arrive we are told our suite is not available because they overbooked the hotel. After about an hour of waiting in line we get told they are downgrading us to a 3 story room half a mile from the beach. Our compensation was a crap lobster dinner (who cares ) not adequate compensation the offer was insulting. Our room on the 3rd story had no elevator, 6 sets of stairs with luggage in the heat was fun. The AC didnt work at all, the fan made a loud screeching sound all night. The fridge wasnt stocked and was broken (thanks all inclusive). We had 2 twin beds pushed together that where tougher than wood. Great 1st honeymoon night, thanks for that. We almost took a blanket and went and slept down at the beach to have a breeze. There hotel managers could care less and speak virtually no English what so ever. We finally got the room we paid for at 4 o'clock the next day. After the horrid check in we decide to go the beach and get a Margarita...WRONG. Midday they are out of tequilla, out of vodka, what a joke. When we were finally about to get drinks they all tasted so nasty. They use gross mixes out of a spray gun and every drink has this nasty tang/metallic taste. It was either to tangy to drink or too sweet to stomach. The worst drinks ive ever had anywhere in my life. That's the whole point of staying all inclusive for drinks and food included both of which sucked. Our room had bugs in the sink and bathroom that im pretty sure where bitting us at night, we both would wake up with new bug bites on us, that or bed bugs in this place. If there was a ZERO star rating I would give this place that. Almost forgot about the pool, they blast rap music and latino dance club music so loud you will get a headache, god forbid anyone want to relax by the pool forget it. They have this annoying group of paid entertainers to dance around and act stupid, felt like a college spring break. So forget the pool area completely. Ice cream or dessert crepe? sound good right...WRONG forget it they were out of all that stuff all week too. Its hard to have this bad a time in paradise but HC will ruin it for you no doubt. And save your rebuttal HC I dont want to hear it. We brought up every issue to you during our stay and your staff actually told us, well what do you want us to do about it with an attitude, like hey sorry but who gives a crap not us. I hope this place closes down, STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE and save your vacation !!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enrico R, Gerente at Catalonia Playa Maroma, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

We would like to thank you for expressing for the second time your views on TripAdvisor.

We deeply regret not meeting your expectations during your stay at our hotel. We do value and encourage guest feedback as it allows us to make improvements and helps us to maintain consistent high standards of customer service.

First of all we are very sorry for the inconvenience you had at your arrival in our hotel, I would like to mention that this was an exceptional situation, we can assure you that we always do our very best to avoid overbooking situations, and in case they do occur we try to affect less we can to our clients. Due the inconvenience of downgrade the room, you were offered with a lobster dinner or a couple massage.

However, we are very concerned for your comments, as it seems that you did not receive the level of service you were expecting from us. Rest assured that all these information have been forwarded to the persons responsible of each department involved and that the appropriate measures have already been taken in order to ensure our purpose: your satisfaction.

Although we would like to say that we have looked into our files and we did not have any record or information with regards of any similar situation of what you said you experienced with us. Our Guest Service staff is always available for assisting our clients and we are sure that if you would have mentioned your discontentment, it would have been a pleasure for us to help you and this situation could be ended differently.

We appreciate your observations about the drinks we offer in our restaurants and bars. Rest assured that we take all opinions very seriously and moreover those that make us improve the quality of our service. I would like to clarify that we do not offer drink service on the beach, our staff is focused on cleaning the areas and occasionally they bring drinks to the guests, but it is not mandatory to provide that service.

In Catalonia Playa Maroma we truly care about the comfort and satisfaction for our clients. Our guests are all important and all receive the same kind, friendly, warm and welcoming environment that characterizes us, following the policy and philosophy of Catalonia Hotels: good hotels.

Kind regards,

Management Catalonia Playa Maroma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Maroma
5.1 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
4,478 reviews
0.2 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
2.6 mi away
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
12,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
#77 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
13,886 reviews
0.4 mi away
Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa
Belmond Maroma Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Playa Maroma
1,225 reviews
1.3 mi away
El Dorado Maroma, by Karisma
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalonia Playa Maroma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Playa Maroma

Address: Carretera Federal 307 | Chetumal- Puerto Juarez Km. 306+250, Playa Maroma, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen > Playa Maroma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Playa Maroma
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Maroma
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Maroma
#4 Spa Hotel in Playa Maroma
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa Maroma
Price Range: $199 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalonia Playa Maroma 3.5*
Number of rooms: 404
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Playa Maroma is situated in the Mayan Riviera, at only 35 kilometers south of Cancun and 20 kilometers north of Playa del Carmen. Regarding to the Travel Channel, Playa Maroma is one of the most beautiful beaches of the world. The typical Mexican decoration with its vibrant colors and palapa roofs surrounded by the native jungle make this resort the perfect place to spend a wonderful vacation. The Mayan World has to offer a lot to its visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Catalonia Playa Maroma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia Playa Maroma Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Catalonia Playa Maroma Del Carmen
Playa Maroma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing